Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 643, Level: 6
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Landes/France
    Posts
    33
    Points
    643
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    MediaManager + Server ???

    I recently acquired a 55PFL8007K/12tv
    On the ClubPhilips with the software updates, they talk about:

    + MediaManager + Server

    There is no explanation of what this software does.... neither did I find something on this forum.

    Can anybody help.

    Is this something I have to install on my PC ? I already have the Windows Media Player installed.....
    Where can I find more information ?
    Many thanks
    Last edited by Lafaurie80; 08-01-2012 at 08:17 AM. Reason: spelling

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 796, Level: 7
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    120
    Points
    796
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Good question. I'm curious about instructions aswell.
    The HELP file of the TV has only a very few explanation about Mediaserver.

    Assume the difference makes some special features related to the TV. I'm quite new to all this stuff
    Installed it some time ago but didn't care any longer.

    From what I found the mentioned Mediamanager (Twonky) puts a nice new feature to your PC.
    Within the standard Explorer you can send a media file direct to the TV. Mouse context menue *send to TV*.
    http://my.twonky.com/product/beam/setup
    Started movie or picture show immediately on TV, without any action on the remote.
    Unfortunately it doesn't work at mine any more.
    Program said the evaluation time has expired. I should register at Twonky.com and probably pay for using ?

    Anyone ?

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 352, Level: 4
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 98
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    25
    Points
    352
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I am also confused about these features and don't know where to have it to function and how it actually works. If there's anyone who could shed light, that would be great.

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 796, Level: 7
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    120
    Points
    796
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    OK, I think I have it now after some evaluation
    The problem of confusion is for sure the license key. I found it as follows.

    First of all you must register your specific TV at the support site.
    - Register an account with email address
    - Register your Philips TV device.
    - Log in and click on link to your *my registered products*.

    - See the advice below the produkt regarding media manager and license link and key on link + MediaManager + Server
    - Popup window appears with download link and link to the very long licnse key.
    - copy license key to text file and save to your HD.
    Then download the mediamanager and start installation.
    After a while you get asked for that long key.
    - paste key figures at once to the form and confirm.

    Result will be a Media Manager with several windows and features to organize video, pictures and music files on your PC or other linked devices HD.
    Beam the files to your TV direct from the Menager or when you are in your PC explorer you can beam any file to the TV with mouse context menue.
    Everything else to be learned by yourself.
    I'm a beginner in this also.

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 643, Level: 6
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Landes/France
    Posts
    33
    Points
    643
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by user0815 View Post
    OK, I think I have it now after some evaluation
    Tx,

    Yes, got that.

    Do I really need to install it ?
    What is it going to do for me ?
    Where can I find a user Manual ?

    Doesn't it interfere with the Windows Media Manager ?
    Or is it doing the same thing ?

    Isn't there anything on the Philips site ? I didn't find it.

    Bob

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 643, Level: 6
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Landes/France
    Posts
    33
    Points
    643
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I found:

    http://philips-media-manager.software.informer.com/

    little comments, but, of what is said, yes, could be an interesting piece of software. Is it ?
    How does it interfere with the Windows Media Manager. Do we really need to install ?
    Also this is referring to a more recent version; Is it ?
    If I install, do I have to install this version (which seems to have no Licence Key needed) or do I have to install the version found under Club Philips and update that one ?

    Really, some extra information could be very helpful to decide what to do. Any help ? Thanks
    Last edited by Lafaurie80; 08-06-2012 at 07:32 AM. Reason: spelling

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 796, Level: 7
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    120
    Points
    796
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Hi,

    I think you don't need it if you are not used to use or familiar with the windows media manager and it's options. Or Itunes if you own a Mac.
    Would recommend self studies about network, servers, NAS, etc.

    Anyway, to give an answer to your question.

    No, it doesn't hurt. No problem or bad effects on the Windows Media Manger.
    I've explained the installation process above, including license key.

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 643, Level: 6
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Landes/France
    Posts
    33
    Points
    643
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Twonky ?

    Thanks User815

    and then I found:

    http://my.twonky.com/product/beam/setup

    is that doing the same thing ?

    are there any added advantages of using this, versus the Philips MediaManager ?

    It is hard to evaluate....as long as I do not have a good description of the Philips MM.

    Anybody has more information ?

    I still can not evaluate if I have to install the Philips Media Manager.

    Bob

  9. #9
    Silver Member
    Points: 796, Level: 7
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    120
    Points
    796
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    I give in.

    Anybody else ?

  10. #10
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,988, Level: 72
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 562
    Overall activity: 83.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,171
    Points
    54,988
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    Philips MediaManager+Server = http://twonky.com/products/twonkywindows/

    => you can share (via DLNA) your music, video and images on your PC with devices in your private network (e.g. your TV).

    Toengel@Alex

  11. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 643, Level: 6
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Landes/France
    Posts
    33
    Points
    643
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    What I am looking for is "User Manual" or even a "getting Started GUIDE".
    Just to have a good idea why I should install the Philips MediaManager.

    Can the Philps Moderator guide me please.

    To Toengel: do you mean that that Twonky thing is equal to the PMM or just doing the same thing ?

  12. #12
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,988, Level: 72
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 562
    Overall activity: 83.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,171
    Points
    54,988
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    the Philips "thing" is based on the Twonky (it uses the Twonky software)...

    Toengel@Alex

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 643, Level: 6
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Landes/France
    Posts
    33
    Points
    643
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Can anybody help to find some documentation please ?
    Last edited by Lafaurie80; 08-14-2012 at 03:43 PM. Reason: spelling

  14. #14
    Bronze Member
    Points: 643, Level: 6
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Landes/France
    Posts
    33
    Points
    643
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Disappointed !
    Looks like bad software management - no documentation and user support- & lack of overall configuration management - no real connection between tv-hardware and software, no help to the user.

    Yes, something to improve, Philips.

  15. #15
    Moderator
    Points: 9,766, Level: 29
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Overdrive
    Philips - Benedickte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,015
    Points
    9,766
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Lafaurie80 View Post
    Can anybody help to find some documentation please ?
    Hi Bob

    You can find information about Twonky ( Media manager) on www.twonky.com . You find more information about the program itself, what requirements is needed for your PC and network and other FAQ's.

    Best Regards
    Benedickte
    Forum Mod

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Media Server
    By momijigari in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 08-26-2013, 09:59 AM
  2. media server
    By luigit in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-30-2012, 03:20 PM
  3. Server is not available
    By chingy in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-12-2012, 10:11 AM
  4. Ps3 Media Server as Media Server
    By theleroy in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-25-2011, 07:38 AM
  5. Ps3 Media Server as Media Server for The HTS
    By theleroy in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-11-2011, 10:33 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •