Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 34
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    Moderator
    Points: 1,479, Level: 10
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 71
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered1000 Experience Points
    Philips - Tereza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    184
    Points
    1,479
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Sean,

    we are currently in the process of sending Private Messages to affected users, including you, with a request and instructions on how to try to reset the internet radio connection as there were patches issued for this problem.

    Please kindly check your inbox shortly and get back to us with a feedback.

    Thank you very much.

    Kind Regards,

    Philips Moderator Team
    Forum Mod

  2. #17
    Bronze Member
    Points: 299, Level: 3
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    19
    Points
    299
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Fantastic worked for me.

  3. #18
    Moderator
    Points: 1,479, Level: 10
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 71
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered1000 Experience Points
    Philips - Tereza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    184
    Points
    1,479
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Excellent news!
    Forum Mod

  4. #19
    New Member
    Points: 68, Level: 1
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3
    Points
    68
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Tereza View Post
    Dear Sean,

    we are currently in the process of sending Private Messages to affected users, including you, with a request and instructions on how to try to reset the internet radio connection as there were patches issued for this problem.

    Please kindly check your inbox shortly and get back to us with a feedback.

    Thank you very much.

    Kind Regards,

    Philips Moderator Team

    Dear Tereza
    Is it possible to be supplied with these instructions as well?

    Many thanks
    Tony

  5. #20
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Tereza,

    I am having the same problem with all of my Philips devices (including WACS7500s, WAS7500s and WAS6050s). I would be grateful if you could advise me how to solve these issues. Thank you.

  6. #21
    New Member
    Points: 663, Level: 6
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 87
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second ClassNew Achievement!500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    4
    Points
    663
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear Tereza,

    I also have the "incorrect password' problem with my WAS6050. Can you please help me too?


    Kind regards, Niek

  7. #22
    New Member
    Points: 804, Level: 7
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 146
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    804
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi everybody,
    I have the same problem, I've bought 2 second hands devices WAS7500 + WAS6050 and I'm not able to connect them for internet radios : always " incorrect password " I tried 20 times and changed the password 3 times ! I thought that I must to registrate the devices but it is not possible by Philips web site, that can be only realized by the device, I'm walking round and round ?

  8. #23
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello, I have just purchased a second hand WAS7500 and am suffering from the same 'incorrect password' problems as everyone else. Please send me a fix for this problem as soon as possible otherwise the machine goes out the window! I have lost a lot of faith with Philips already

  9. #24
    New Member
    Points: 183, Level: 2
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 67
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    6
    Points
    183
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Please follow these instructions from philips on this matter below.

    Dear All,

    there were new patches issued for your devices with an internet radio connection problem.

    Please follow the steps below and let me know if that worked for you.

    1. Initiate registration on device
    2. Enter Email ID on the device
    3. Click on the link in the email which has been send to the user
    4. Complete the registration on MyPhilips website
    5. Then enter the password on the device

    Please be aware that Step (5) shouldn’t be done after Step (2). Deviation of the sequence will result in error messages.

    Looking forward to hearing back from you with a feedback.

    Kind Regards,

    Philips Moderator Team

  10. #25
    New Member
    Points: 663, Level: 6
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 87
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second ClassNew Achievement!500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    4
    Points
    663
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Red face

    Quote Originally Posted by radioguyana View Post
    Please follow these instructions from philips on this matter below.

    Dear All,

    there were new patches issued for your devices with an internet radio connection problem.

    Please follow the steps below and let me know if that worked for you.

    1. Initiate registration on device
    2. Enter Email ID on the device
    3. Click on the link in the email which has been send to the user
    4. Complete the registration on MyPhilips website
    5. Then enter the password on the device

    Please be aware that Step (5) shouldn’t be done after Step (2). Deviation of the sequence will result in error messages.

    Looking forward to hearing back from you with a feedback.

    Kind Regards,

    Philips Moderator Team
    THIS WORKED PERFECTLY. Thanks very much!!!!

  11. #26
    New Member
    Points: 68, Level: 1
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3
    Points
    68
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The only problem being the MyPhilips website refusing to let me register my WAS6050.
    "Please register via your device.
    Unfortunately, for this specific product, registration via My Philips is not possible."
    Internet Management tells me "Max 5 users reached" even though I have only registered 1.
    If I try to remove a user I just get a blank screen.
    WADM tells me there is only me as a registered user.
    If I could just get to the stage of entering an email address..........................................

  12. #27
    New Member
    Points: 27, Level: 1
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 23
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    27
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I too have the same issue with my WAS6050.

    No matter how many times I have reset the device and tried to re-register I still get the incorrect password error.

    Anyone got this sorted?

  13. #28
    Silver Member
    Points: 822, Level: 7
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points
    William Wallace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    160
    Points
    822
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Hi Gaasen,

    Can you check whether you are connected to the Internet while you're completing the registration? And have you followed the steps described above by @niekv.?

    Cheers,
    WW

  14. #29
    New Member
    Points: 798, Level: 7
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 152
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    liverpool
    Posts
    1
    Points
    798
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    hello moderators i have the same issue with my wacs7500 could you please help !!!!!!! thanx

  15. #30
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have the same problem with my MCi300 - I have changed my password on My
    philips but still cannot log on to internet radio

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. WAS7500 Station - real factory reset
    By tez in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 12-30-2013, 08:42 AM
  2. Factory Reset
    By Tim123 in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-18-2013, 05:59 PM
  3. Is there a hardware reset to factory settings?
    By jemr in forum Sound: Fidelio Wireless Audio series (AW1000, AW2000, AW3000, AW5000, AW9000)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-29-2012, 03:59 PM
  4. How to do a factory reset for BDP3200/98?
    By yuppy989 in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-07-2012, 12:53 PM
  5. Reset vs Restore Factory settings
    By Cristiano in forum Sound: GoGear SA3-series (2011)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 08:44 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •