Results 1 to 15 of 15
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 245, Level: 2
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registeredTagger Second Class100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    245
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question 42PFL6007/12 Picture Style Setting bug

    TV: 42PFL6007/12
    Software: QF1EU-0.150.82.0

    The TV's standard setting for picture with "HD Natural Motion" looks absolutely terrible with lots of artifacts and ugly "soap opera" / "cheap home video cam" -effect and digital skin color. I've found several topics on this listed on the forum, so I'm sure you are aware of this.

    I do love the picture style setting called "movie" though - it disables all the ugly color-gradings, and it softens the picture in a good natural way and best of all it disables HD Natural Motion.

    But at least once a day when the TV has been on standby or if there has been a change of source, the setting gets "corrupted"... The color-grading gets a greyish filter and the HD Natural Motion is back (even though movie picture style is selected and HD natural Motion is off (well, the interface says it's off... but it isn't). The solution os often simple - I have to go to the settings and select picture style and then switch to another picture style and then back to movie mode... most of the time this works and the beautiful colors are back and the HD Natural Motion is off.

    But it is quite an annoying bug... I shouldn't have to go to the settings menu every day and toggle between presets to get the setting I already selected.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 9,766, Level: 29
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Overdrive
    Philips - Benedickte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,015
    Points
    9,766
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi jHawk.


    Please update your TV to the latest software. At this moment it's 150.85 and can be found on the supportpage for your tv.


    Best regards,
    Benedickte

    Quote Originally Posted by jHawk View Post
    TV: 42PFL6007/12

    Software: QF1EU-0.150.82.0

    The TV's standard setting for picture with "HD Natural Motion" looks absolutely terrible with lots of artifacts and ugly "soap opera" / "cheap home video cam" -effect and digital skin color. I've found several topics on this listed on the forum, so I'm sure you are aware of this.

    I do love the picture style setting called "movie" though - it disables all the ugly color-gradings, and it softens the picture in a good natural way and best of all it disables HD Natural Motion.

    But at least once a day when the TV has been on standby or if there has been a change of source, the setting gets "corrupted"... The color-grading gets a greyish filter and the HD Natural Motion is back (even though movie picture style is selected and HD natural Motion is off (well, the interface says it's off... but it isn't). The solution os often simple - I have to go to the settings and select picture style and then switch to another picture style and then back to movie mode... most of the time this works and the beautiful colors are back and the HD Natural Motion is off.

    But it is quite an annoying bug... I shouldn't have to go to the settings menu every day and toggle between presets to get the setting I already selected.
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 245, Level: 2
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registeredTagger Second Class100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    245
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for your reply. I updated to 150.85 but the problem persist. The HD Natural Motion is defiantly better, but I'm still not interested in using it

    The picture setting still gets "corrupted"... HD Natural Motion returns now and then after standby or change of sources (even though movie picture style is selected and HD natural Motion is off (well, the interface says it's off... but it isn't). The old solution still works - I have to go to the settings and select picture style and then switch to another picture style and then back to movie mode... most of the time this works and the beautiful colors are back and the HD Natural Motion is off.

    Hope my problem description is clear and you'll add it it to philips's internal bug list report. It's obviously a software problem, and should be fixable with an update.

    PS. I don't understand why every TV manufacture has HD natural motion enabled by default. It looks terrible.

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Benedickte View Post
    Hi jHawk.


    Please update your TV to the latest software. At this moment it's 150.85 and can be found on the supportpage for your tv.


    Best regards,
    Benedickte

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    I have the exact same issue on a 47PFL6907T. I too, really don't understand why the natural motion is enabled by default either - i was scared for a full evening on the day i got my TV, that this was how everything was going to look like forever!

    Benedickte; any comforting words for us?

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,064, Level: 8
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,064
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Clear LCD "ON" and HDNM/PNM "OFF". This way it doesn't force it "ON".

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to aise For This Useful Post:

    Barrowboy63 (07-05-2013)

  7. #6
    New Member
    Points: 245, Level: 2
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registeredTagger Second Class100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    245
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Did you report the bug, Benedickte?

  8. #7
    New Member
    Points: 245, Level: 2
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 5
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registeredTagger Second Class100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    245
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Please let me know if the issue needs any other information for you to take care of it.

  9. #8
    Administrator
    Points: 3,811, Level: 17
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 39
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Awards:
    Calendar Award
    Philips admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    32
    Points
    3,811
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Got the same problem with my TV. It started some time ago for no reason on soft 150.083, now it continuoes on soft 150.087. Quite annoying. Any idea how to fix it?

  10. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,924, Level: 12
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 226
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    England
    Posts
    32
    Points
    1,924
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by aise View Post
    Clear LCD "ON" and HDNM/PNM "OFF". This way it doesn't force it "ON".
    Thanks for this aise. This has been 'bugging' me for weeks. I'd been turning off all the picture enhancements including Clear LCD and PNM, and always after a restart, the PNM was back. Ive done as you suggest, and it looks like PNM is staying off now. Much better thanks. A useful work around until / if Philips ever fix it.

  11. #10
    New Member
    Points: 683, Level: 6
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 67
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7
    Points
    683
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by aise View Post
    Clear LCD "ON" and HDNM/PNM "OFF". This way it doesn't force it "ON".
    This does not work. The point is, that HDNM is OFF in the menu, but the soap opera effect is on, each time tv goes on from standby.

  12. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,064, Level: 8
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,064
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by negate View Post
    This does not work. The point is, that HDNM is OFF in the menu, but the soap opera effect is on, each time tv goes on from standby.
    i have 8007 model with PNM. maybe this workaround doesn't work with 6007 which has HDNM. it works with 8007. maybe it has also something to do with picture mode selected (i use ISF).
    Last edited by aise; 07-08-2013 at 01:07 PM.

  13. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,924, Level: 12
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 226
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    England
    Posts
    32
    Points
    1,924
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by aise View Post
    i have 8007 model with PNM. maybe this workaround doesn't work with 6007 which has HDNM. it works with 8007. maybe it has also something to do with picture mode selected (i use ISF).
    Just to second what aise says, I have the 7007. This workaround certainly seems to work for me. HDNM off ? Clear LCD on and I've not noticed HDNM coming back on at all. (Although saying that, Ive probably jinxed it and it'll be back now)

  14. #13
    New Member
    Points: 683, Level: 6
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 67
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7
    Points
    683
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Barrowboy63 View Post
    Just to second what aise says, I have the 7007. This workaround certainly seems to work for me. HDNM off ? Clear LCD on and I've not noticed HDNM coming back on at all. (Although saying that, Ive probably jinxed it and it'll be back now)
    I tried several different settings, tried to "format" the tv (reinstall), last but not least I upgraded the fw. No effect.
    This started for no exact reason. One day I just noticed that the soap opera mode is on, although it was off :/

    Hey Philips crew, can you react please?

  15. #14
    Bronze Member
    Points: 568, Level: 6
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points
    d87z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    17
    Points
    568
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have the same problem with a 8007 TV. PNM comes on when it feels like it and for no reason.

    I tried everything, reinstall, and turning PNM off in ALL PICTURE STYLES even ones I don't use and I havent seen it for a while.

    But I'm sure it will come back on!!!

    I phoned Philips support and they said it shouldn't do that on the latest firmware and suggested I take the TV back for a refund.

    That's not what I want - they just don't care about loyal customers.

  16. #15
    New Member
    Points: 683, Level: 6
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 67
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7
    Points
    683
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by d87z View Post
    I have the same problem with a 8007 TV. PNM comes on when it feels like it and for no reason.

    I tried everything, reinstall, and turning PNM off in ALL PICTURE STYLES even ones I don't use and I havent seen it for a while.

    But I'm sure it will come back on!!!

    I phoned Philips support and they said it shouldn't do that on the latest firmware and suggested I take the TV back for a refund.

    That's not what I want - they just don't care about loyal customers.
    New software 000.150.088.000. No change. Still eatch time the tv goes on from standby mode, I can see hdnm effect (though it is off in the menu).

Similar Topics

  1. 42pfl6007 -- hdmi --- pc
    By slonik666 in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-24-2013, 04:46 PM
  2. 42pfl6007 h12 dse
    By Michelvw in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-18-2013, 10:12 AM
  3. [REVIEW] 55PFL6007T: Philips goes large in style.
    By Philips in forum TV: Share Your Reviews
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-14-2013, 07:53 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2012, 12:39 PM
  5. YouTube not working on 42PFL6007/T12
    By swe_user in forum Smart TV: YouTube
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-05-2012, 11:09 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •