Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 27 of 27
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    New Member
    Points: 14, Level: 1
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    14
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Internet radio on MCI 500

    Same problem as a lot of people!
    When connecting internet radio, always asking me my email adress.

    Please help needed !
    Think you

  2. #17
    Moderator
    Points: 1,479, Level: 10
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 71
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered1000 Experience Points
    Philips - Tereza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    184
    Points
    1,479
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear solmer1,

    Welcome to the forum!

    I have sent you a private message. Kindly check your inbox messages.

    Thank you very much.

    Kind Regards,

    Philips Moderator Team
    Forum Mod

  3. #18
    New Member
    Points: 30, Level: 1
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    30
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi

    Not sure how I post a new thread however as the topic is the same I am posting here.

    Hi,

    I have an MCI500H/05, a WAS6050 and a WAS7500... My MCI500H has recently died (Power Supply Issue) and although I am hoping to get it repaired in due course I have been given a second MCI500H... I am currently attempting to register it in order to access my internet radio. On the device I enter my email address and the password that I am sure I used when I registered my original device for internet radio however I am being told it is the wrong password.

    Can you assist?

    The product id (as on back of the unit is) NW00082700580
    FW Version 1.17.5130

  4. #19
    New Member
    Points: 30, Level: 1
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    30
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hmmm... I received a couple of registration emails.. not sure if its because I initially tried to register product online anyway now when I try to enter my email in on the unit it tells me user is already registered.

    Any suggestions?

  5. #20
    New Member
    Points: 30, Level: 1
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    30
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Okidoki... after digging around further I found the following steps posted elsewhere in the forum by Radioguyana

    Please follow the steps below and let me know if that worked for you.

    1. Initiate registration on device
    2. Enter Email ID on the device (press OK but do not enter password yet - follow steps 3 and 4 first)
    3. Click on the link in the email which has been send to the user
    4. Complete the registration on MyPhilips website
    5. Then enter the password on the device

    Please be aware that Step (5) shouldn’t be done after Step (2). Deviation of the sequence will result in error messages.

    If you follow those steps precisely it does work - at least on my MCI500H and from what I believe other devices also.

  6. #21
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,306, Level: 9
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 44
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    110
    Points
    1,306
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    hi there, i sent you a PM. kindly check

  7. #22
    New Member
    Points: 30, Level: 1
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    30
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Kylie,

    Thanks for that although I had actually resolved the issue having found the same solution and posted it prior to your reply.

  8. #23
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear Philips Moderator Team,

    I have the same problem with my MCI500.
    It was working very fine until now but for 2 weeks or so it does not accept my password anymore.
    I changed the password but it is still the same.
    Could you help me with that please?
    Many thank in advance,
    Renan

  9. #24
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have the same problem, but I note that Tereza has not been active since August. Is there anyone else from Philips that can resolve the issue? Thank you.

  10. #25
    Moderator
    Points: 7,107, Level: 25
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 443
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registeredOverdrive5000 Experience Points
    Philips - Rafal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,184
    Points
    7,107
    Level
    25
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 44 Times in 41 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    Please try the following troubleshooting steps:

    1. Check the internet access (visiting some websites) of the network by using other devices such as smartphone, PC etc. Contact your ISP if other devices have also no internet access.
    2. Reboot the device (pull AC-cord and re-connect).
    3. Run factory reset to check if it can work again.
    4. If it still doesn’t work, please send me a PM with wired LAN MAC-ID and the product registration ID. Also, please provide the ISP-provider details (e.g. KPN, or UPC, or Telekom A1 etc.)

    I hope this helps to resolve your issue.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team

  11. #26
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by d_special View Post
    Hello,

    After a powerdip, I don have used the internetradio function on the MCi500. I tried to start it up but I came in a loop.
    Requers a email ID -> type in and then thhe radio display : already existing account.
    Thats wright because it's mine.
    I can't go any further with this............

    Normally I use the wire connection and it works fine.
    Help needed

    Sorry, tried the factory reset but no results. And Baladin68 has precies the same problem, so there must be a real problem with the accounts.
    Philips moderators???>>>
    Hello! Have you received any help to resolv the problem? How? I have the same problem as you describe. When starting my MCi500H and the Internet radio, the message ”Internet radio requires user registration, please enter your email ID to start”, my email and ”press OK to confirm” appears. When pressing OK, it is displayed "This user already existed". But it's mine!! I have made a factory reset, but the problem remains. Please help me.

  12. #27
    Moderator
    Points: 7,107, Level: 25
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 443
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registeredOverdrive5000 Experience Points
    Philips - Rafal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,184
    Points
    7,107
    Level
    25
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 44 Times in 41 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello anka6610,

    Please pm me with your device's wired MAC address and registration email so we can reset your internet radio access.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Topics

  1. No internet radio SLA5520
    By PhilW in forum Sound: Other Models
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 01-05-2013, 07:34 AM
  2. streamium internet radio KO
    By maison in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-01-2013, 04:13 PM
  3. Connection to internet radio
    By analytchem in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-29-2012, 05:59 PM
  4. Internet radio Data
    By Rollouk63 in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-01-2012, 06:40 PM
  5. LastFM and Spotify Radio (the two best things about internet radio)
    By expuddle in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-04-2012, 04:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •