Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 40
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,627, Level: 11
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 223
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wesepe/Netherlands
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,627
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Toengel,

    Yes sure but with a severe difference in output quality. All Multi channel SACD players on the market allow for also reading the two channel portion so why not the Philips BDP9700. Is the lack of 2 channel selection a feature implemented by design or just an omission you think?

    Willem,

  2. #17
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,546, Level: 10
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    27
    Points
    1,546
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Levinas View Post
    Thank you for the latest firmware which seems to have ironed out some issues. My player is working quite well now.
    Why is the 21:9 setting only available with a Philips 21:9 tv connected?
    I own a 2.35:1 screen with an Epson projector. Please make this feature available with the next firmware upgrade.

    Thank you!
    What??!!

    Where is the 21:9 aspect ratio selection??

    In my brand new BDP9700/12 there is only 16:9 and 4:3 selection and its connected to 58PFL9956T/12 21:9 TV via HDMI...

    The only 21:9 adjustment I find from BDP9700 is the subtitle positioning to picture area manually or automatically.

  3. #18
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,492, Level: 72
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 1,058
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,146
    Points
    54,492
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 198 Times in 177 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    there is no 21:9 selection in the video format setting.

    Toengel@Alex

  4. #19
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,546, Level: 10
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    27
    Points
    1,546
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerhard View Post
    Thanks for this, but one question:
    Have changed the settings of the BDP wrt CEC/Easylink. From what I know is, that
    you can switch off specific commands sent to the TV. Standby can be surpressed for
    example.
    True - I started to evaluate BDP9700 Easylink behaviour and found out that disabling the "One Touch Play" is the key not to start TV when listening audio disks. The only disadvantage is that when both TV and BDP9700 are in standby, the TV doesn't switch BDP on when it's already on BDPs HDMI-input. However by pressing just Source -> Ok in remote does the power on to BDP.

    So the logic is there after all - just have to find it out.

    Me happy

  5. #20
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,546, Level: 10
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    27
    Points
    1,546
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Levinas View Post
    Yes, there is a 21:9 setting, but it is only visible when a Philips 21:9 tv is connected...
    This is why I want a future firmware to include this option for us with projectors!
    ^ So why I don't see it in my BDP9700 connected to my Philips 58PFL9956T/12 21:9 TV? Because there is no such setting.

    There was 21:9 selection in some older models like BDP9500 I had before, but not in this BDP9700.

    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    there is no 21:9 selection in the video format setting.

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #21
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,492, Level: 72
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 1,058
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,146
    Points
    54,492
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 198 Times in 177 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    I also have 21:9 - no setting regarding this...

    But this is logic... The HDMI Standard has no resolution for 21:9 - what should the BDP output?

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #22
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,546, Level: 10
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    27
    Points
    1,546
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    I also have 21:9 - no setting regarding this...

    But this is logic... The HDMI Standard has no resolution for 21:9 - what should the BDP output?

    Toengel@Alex
    Most certainly the BDP would scale 2:35 moviematerial to 16:9 ie. the active picture area.

    The scaling would be usefull when playing 2:35:1 Cinemascope movies on BDP connected to 16:9 HD projector. The BDP would then extract the 2.35:1 picture area to 16:9 procector cells 1080 pixel height so there would be no black bars. The distorted picture (too high) would then be projected through anamophic lens to 2.35:1 screen with corrcted aspect ratio. The advantage is to get projectors all 1080 lines vertical resolution to screen.

    The idea is well described on Prismasonic web-page
    Last edited by hardsoft; 04-09-2013 at 09:36 AM.

  8. #23
    New Member
    Points: 19, Level: 1
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    19
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Angry BDP9700 new user disappointed

    First the control, its the worst ever i had, thank good a have Logitech one, using a keyboard and mouse works bad. The smartTV function, the screen freeze using HDMI and trying close a app will not work, start another will show the same app used before, using the webb function is wery slow. All this is NOT what `i call smartTV , Really I what to send it back it not deserve stand on top of my Yamaha rx a3200!

  9. #24
    Moderator
    Points: 1,808, Level: 11
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 42
    Overall activity: 83.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered1000 Experience Points
    Philips - Marcus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    45
    Points
    1,808
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    For the BDP9700, there is not 21:9 settings as such. 21:9 only applies to TV sets that have 21:9 aspect ratio. You will unfortunately not get 21:9 signal from Blu-ray if you are not using a 21:9 TV. And the 21:9 selection will not appear in the setup menu, even if you are connected to a 21:9 TV. The TV itself will receive the signal and auto fit and make the necessary adjustments automatically.

    I hope this will answer your questions!

    Kind Regards,

    Marcus
    Forum Mod

  10. #25
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,335, Level: 13
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 115
    Overall activity: 56.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    83
    Points
    2,335
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi,

    Quote Originally Posted by larswik View Post
    First the control, its the worst ever i had, thank good a have Logitech one, using a keyboard and mouse works bad. The smartTV function, the screen freeze using HDMI and trying close a app will not work, start another will show the same app used before, using the webb function is wery slow. All this is NOT what `i call smartTV , Really I what to send it back it not deserve stand on top of my Yamaha rx a3200!
    welcome to the show. Could you please be more specific about what does not work
    the way it should? Some more information about how to reproduce the problems would
    be nice, so Philips could also reproduce it. Not sure if they will...

    - Gerhard

  11. #26
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,334, Level: 9
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    111
    Points
    1,334
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    so basically wt i understand is if you are using a 21:9 TV, the aspect will be auto fit to 21:9/
    if not then you do not have the 21:9 function.

    for projectors, if your projector supports 21:9, you just have to use the auto fit settings to get to u the most suitable aspects. if that does not gives you 21:9, it cud be an indicator your projector is not for 21:9 aspect also

    ya for larswik, i agree with gerhard, let us know wt is not working maybe taht will be fixed :P

  12. #27
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,492, Level: 72
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 1,058
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,146
    Points
    54,492
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 198 Times in 177 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    new firmware 3.80 is available via the integrated update function. It is two-parted - you need to search for updates twice...

    Toengel@Alex

  13. #28
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,643, Level: 11
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 207
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Utrecht/TheNetherlands
    Posts
    44
    Points
    1,643
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Player found v3.80 over network, first part went fine but player did not find any second part. Now at V3.80 with mcu0x19. I heard it should be mcu0x20, correct? Did everything by the book...

    I want to do the USB update , seems to work better for me anyway. Visited the German part of the Philips website, they seem to get the updates for download earliest, but it 's not there yet...

    Been searching all-over. Anyone know where to find v3.80 for download on the Philips website?

  14. #29
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,335, Level: 13
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 115
    Overall activity: 56.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    83
    Points
    2,335
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi Rin,

    Quote Originally Posted by Rin View Post
    Player found v3.80 over network, first part went fine but player did not find any second part. Now at V3.80 with mcu0x19. I heard it should be mcu0x20, correct? Did everything by the book...
    I also did the update via network - only once. v3.80 loaded and from what I saw MCU remains 0x19.
    On the "usual" update sites, nothing found.

    - Gerhard

  15. #30
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,492, Level: 72
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 1,058
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,146
    Points
    54,492
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 198 Times in 177 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    well - it seems, that only me get 2 updates: 3.80 + MCU0x19

    Toengel@ALex

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. BDP9700 Latest Firmware upgrade (3.71.01) has been released
    By Philips - Marcus in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-30-2013, 03:42 AM
  2. BDP3385 Latest Firmware upgrade ( V2.54) has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-04-2012, 11:12 AM
  3. BDP2982 Latest Firmware upgrade (V 2.42) has been released
    By Philips - QK in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-21-2012, 10:10 AM
  4. BDP2900 Latest Firmware Upgrade (V 2.42) has been released
    By Philips - QK in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-21-2012, 05:04 AM
  5. BDP3200 Latest Firmware upgrade (V1.72) has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-13-2012, 09:03 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •