Results 1 to 9 of 9
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 113, Level: 1
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    113
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question How do I disable the need for the app?

    I'm not an apple user, but others who use the speaker dock are. I use a bluetooth dock adapter for my devices on a few other speaker docks. Makes traveling easy as I don't need a 3.5mm cable and are not tethered to the speakers. So I picked up one of the docks to use in the operating room, but apparently it's useless without an ios device that has the app. I'm beyond my return window now and seem to be stuck with a device that seems to be obsolete for me already, and will be soon for others when they update to the iphone 5 or upcoming 5s. I didn't see any way to disable the need for the app anywhere within the app. Can this be added? I don't see the point of spending decent money on a product that has a plan to be obsolete, especially something as simple as a speaker dock. These bluetooth dock adapter breath new life into your speaker docks and make them much more functional, especially for us android users. I might have to cut my losses and go back to the logitech at this point. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,246, Level: 9
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 104
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    198
    Points
    1,246
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    what exact model are you talking about?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 113, Level: 1
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    113
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Vaga View Post
    what exact model are you talking about?
    Have the 7550. Wouldn't work with an iphone until they loaded the app. I got my mom the 3600, and it was the same way. She couldn't use her ipod touch until she loaded the app. I was under the impression the app was to augment the use of the dock, not be a requirement.

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,246, Level: 9
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 104
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    198
    Points
    1,246
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    what about to download the DockStudio App to your Android and try if it works with the bluetooth adaptor? the app is now available for Android as well.....http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...&slg=en&scy=GB

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 845, Level: 7
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 105
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    100
    Points
    845
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    as far as i understand the app is optional.
    any error message that you see that you think the app is a must?

    you just have to turn on the bluetooth of ur docking device then turn on the bluetooth on your phone, your phone should be able to search for it.

    tab on the device searched e.g. ds3600.

    then open any music player like the built in apple one. there shud be an option to let you choose where to output (phone or ds3600).

    then you just have to tab on ds3600 to playback music

    lemme know if i understand wrongly for your questions

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,246, Level: 9
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 104
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    198
    Points
    1,246
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    hi crogs, any luck with kylie's suggestion to connect directly through bluetooth? thanks

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 113, Level: 1
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    113
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Vaga View Post
    hi crogs, any luck with kylie's suggestion to connect directly through bluetooth? thanks
    Nope. Doesn't see the android phone. I also have a couple Cowon players as well. So I'm going to take a hit selling this and stick with the logitech S715i. Tired of companies making things proprietary. Don't really see the need for an app whether it's android or iPhone. Always liked their products before this experience.

    They should update the app to disable the need for it.

    Edit: sold for a whopping $20 and change. Someone will put it to good use.
    Last edited by crogs; 05-15-2013 at 06:47 PM.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Points: 8,646, Level: 27
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 104
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    882
    Points
    8,646
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Wish him all the best and Kylie's above comment work for him as that is the normal way of work.
    Forum Mod

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 113, Level: 1
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    113
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Not sure you're getting it. My model, mentioned above, is an ipod docking unit.It does not have built in bluetooth. I use a bluetooth adapter with afemale dock connector. Plug it into the dock and it powers up in pairing mode. Pair a device with it and no sound comes out. I've used no less than five other ipod docks, and it works just fine. The dock powers the adapter and sends the audio through. It's not rocket science. My friend plugs in here iphone and plays pandora, and no sound comes out. She installs the Philips app, and now she gets sound. I see if the android app will get my note 2 seen by it as suggested above, and it didn't work. Though I didn't expect it to.

    so between my adapter not working and my friend's iphone not working without the app, I came to the conclusion the app is required. Unless I got a lemon.

    So again, I had a 7550. We are in the ipod/iphone "docking" section, and this is a model without bluetooth. And if you don't know what the bluetooth dock adapter is, look here:
    http://www.amazon.com/CoolStream-Blu...Phone-Dock/dp/

    Great to make your speaker dock useful after upgrading to something with a lightning connector. Well, almost.


    Quote Originally Posted by kylie View Post
    as far as i understand the app is optional.
    any error message that you see that you think the app is a must?

    you just have to turn on the bluetooth of ur docking device then turn on the bluetooth on your phone, your phone should be able to search for it.

    tab on the device searched e.g. ds3600.

    then open any music player like the built in apple one. there shud be an option to let you choose where to output (phone or ds3600).

    then you just have to tab on ds3600 to playback music

    lemme know if i understand wrongly for your questions

Similar Topics

  1. How to disable the speaker?
    By moosic in forum Sound: GoGear SA4-series (2012)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-17-2013, 12:39 PM
  2. how to disable popup in Wi-Fi Mediaconnect?
    By lw12 in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-16-2012, 02:17 PM
  3. how to disable popup in Wi-Fi Mediaconnect?
    By lw12 in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-23-2012, 02:48 PM
  4. disable overscan but keep everything else?
    By sep332 in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-09-2012, 02:09 PM
  5. disable permanent timeshift
    By kaczy in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-27-2012, 06:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •