Results 1 to 5 of 5
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 31, Level: 1
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    31
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Exclamation WAC700 Booting up problem

    Dears,
    I found many threads on this forum about WAC700 "booting up" problem and looks like there are many experienced specialists here.
    I have the same issue with my unit too. When I turn the unit on - it just keeps saying Booting up forever.
    I have lots of experience in soldering and repairing electronics but I don't know where to start with this one. I don't even have the schematics. There's no point in bringing it to the repair center because the service would cost more than the unit itself is worth now. Therefore, it's the project for myself. Could you please guide me to the right direction on fixing it?
    I have disassebled the unit - all the ribbon cables seem to be fine. I've checked the HDD - S.M.A.R.T test passes, so it should be fine. I've also copied all the content to another drive. Is there something in particular that I should look for?
    In WAC700, the HDD is spinning, and the heads are ticking normally for a second or two after it starts. But after that, head ticking stops and only disk spinning is heard.
    Could you please provide any kind of support on this problem? Thank you

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 822, Level: 7
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points
    William Wallace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    160
    Points
    822
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Hi remigijus01,

    Try doing the following: Turn off the Centre's power for about 20 seconds. Hold both "SOURCE" & "STOP" keys, reboot Centre. After power up the corrupted firmwarewill sould be recovered.

    Lt us know if this helped.
    Cheers,
    WW

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 31, Level: 1
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    31
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear William,
    Already tried that. And I get the message that FW is corrupt and restoring from backup. But at that stage, HDD activity stops (no hdd head ticking) and the process never ends.
    IS there a way to get a detailed log on the reason what causes the freeze?

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 822, Level: 7
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points
    William Wallace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    160
    Points
    822
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Not to my knowledge I'm afraid... I'd take it to the service either way.

    Good luck,
    WW

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,193, Level: 13
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 257
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Guetersloh/Germany
    Posts
    13
    Points
    2,193
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi remigijus01,
    there is a possibility to get into service mode and to reset the EEPROM. Follow these instructions:
    Entering the service mode.

    Unplug the power cable
    Push and hold the "OK" and "VOLUME+" button
    Plug in the power cable and hold the buttons
    Push the "left" button on the ring 4 times until you see EEPROM in the display. If you can't see EEPROM push the "left"-button until EEPROM appears in the display.
    Now push the "OK"-button for two times and the EEPROM starts resetting.

    Do not change any settings in the service mode, because you can get a corrupted system.

    HTH.
    Bernd

Similar Topics

  1. Wac700/05
    By mrslmurphy in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-29-2012, 03:14 PM
  2. WAC 7500/05 Not Starting/Booting up
    By Geometra in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-10-2012, 12:47 PM
  3. WAC 7500/05 Not Starting/Booting up
    By Geometra in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-30-2012, 08:52 AM
  4. wac700/05
    By olly17 in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 03-04-2012, 04:48 PM
  5. Not booting up
    By Mullenger in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-03-2012, 09:25 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •