Results 1 to 6 of 6
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,976, Level: 12
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 174
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience PointsTagger Second Class

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Eindhoven, the Netherlands
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,976
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    RWSS5510 stopped working with HTS 4562/12 SW 1.52

    I updated the firmware of my HTS4562?12 to SW version 1.52.00 (Subsystem SW: 36-00-05-09).
    Since then (I think) I lost functionality of my rear speakers through the RWSS5510 wireless remote.
    I checked if the RWSS and the HTS were paired (they were, the HTS shows 'paired'). The blue antenna symbol on the RWSS is lit.
    When running the sound test, the rear speakers do not make noise, but they did not do that with SW 1.47 either. When playing a Blue-Ray with 5.1 sound, the speakers worked (with 1.47, not with 1.52). IIRC sound test worked only with SW1.27, the on screen image there showed 7.1 speakers instead of 5.1.
    I plugged the speakers directly into the HTS, and took out the transmitter part of the RWSS. The speakers both were working. The things I can think about (but I am in no way an expert) is that no audio is transmitted by the HTS side of the RWSS (either because no audio is transferred to the transmitter, or because the transmitter does not send the audio). The other thing could be that the receiver does not receive the audio correct. As pairing works, one could suspect that transmitting/receiving is working, but that there is nothing to transmit (i.e. no input signal to the transmitter).
    I would like to cross-check by reverting back to 1.47.10 or 1.27, but I can't find these firmwares anymore (and don't know
    if the downgrade will work if the version number is lower than the current version on the HTS).

    Is there anyone who has (had) similar issues or someone who knows how to proceed?

    Best regards,

    Peter

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 10,193, Level: 30
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 357
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,193
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear P8r,

    Thanks for reporting this to us. We are now testing on this. We shall update you on this once we have more concrete info.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Philips - QK For This Useful Post:

    P8r (12-29-2013)

  4. #3
    Moderator
    Points: 10,193, Level: 30
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 357
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,193
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear P8r,

    We cannot reproduce your issue.
    Would you please:
    1) try upgrade your set again and see if that helps? After the upgrade, reboot the device by performing a factory reset.
    2) try to check the software version your RWSS5510? Steps as below:

    In Aux mode, press 3 ,2, 0 to show RX version , press 3,2,1 to show TX version.

    With thanks & regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Philips - QK For This Useful Post:

    P8r (12-29-2013)

  6. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,976, Level: 12
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 174
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience PointsTagger Second Class

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Eindhoven, the Netherlands
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,976
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear QK,

    I downloaded the firmware update from the Philips support page just to be sure. Followed the instructions to update the firmware. This went without problem. The system restarted. I switched of the BlueRay player and removed the transmitter. Then started up again and did a factory reset. After the reset (selecting languages), I switched of the set again and plugged in the rear transmitter. I disconnected speaker cables from the RWSS5510 as well as the power cord. Then switched on the HTS, and selected AUX1 as source. Plugged in the power cord from the RWSS and pressed the 'Navigate Right' button on the remote of the HTS. After 1 or 2 times PAIRING in the display, the HTS showed 'PAIRED'. Then connected the speakers again to the RWSS. Then switched to disc, and selected 'Configuration', 'Audio', 'Speaker Settings', 'Speakerlayout'. Test noise was audible at all speakers, except the surround speakers. Tested with a BlueRay Disc in DTS-HD 5.1 but still no sound on rear speakers. Changed the setting for all but rear speakers to -6dB, rear speakers to +6dB, but not even a hint of noise on the speakers is heard.
    Then went to aux1 source and pressed 320 and 321, but no version info appeared on the display. Also checked on aux2 and I-Link source, unfortunately no information appeared in the display.
    Thank you for the quick support so far, but how do I continue?

    Regards,

    Peter

  7. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 10,193, Level: 30
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 357
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,193
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Peter,

    Thanks a lot for coming back to us with all these detail info.
    For now I do not have many updates to share on this matter, but I have passed your case to our development team to have a further study. I will let you know as soon as I hear back from the team.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Philips - QK For This Useful Post:

    P8r (12-29-2013)

  9. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 10,193, Level: 30
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 357
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,193
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Peter,

    I am sorry for the checking the firmware version of your RWSS5510, would you please trypress 136 and 137? I was later noted this from our product specialist this should be the correct code.

    With thanks & regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Philips - QK For This Useful Post:

    P8r (12-29-2013)

Similar Topics

  1. WAS7500/05 Stopped Working
    By jsugrue in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-2013, 11:09 AM
  2. Remote stopped working
    By MaisyP in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-09-2012, 02:20 PM
  3. WAC7500: Bass Stopped Working
    By amikolajczyk in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-30-2012, 02:03 PM
  4. Sound has stopped working
    By cybertalis in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-04-2012, 03:40 PM
  5. BBC iPlayer has stopped working
    By rapidegg in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-31-2012, 07:53 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •