Results 1 to 4 of 4
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 44, Level: 1
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 6
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Tagger Second Class7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    44
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Smile Muse Slooow startup - SA4MUS08KF/12

    Hi Forum
    Im running a Muse: SA4MUS08KF/12

    I have a 16GB SD card (Class 4) freshly formatted with 6.5GB of MP3 files, but every time I switch my Muse on it takes 35seconds to startup even if nothing changed since the last time I turned on my muse. Its normal for players like the Sansa's to take a while to re index if something has changed in the file system, but the Muse takes ages every time, god knows if it was filled with 40GB of mp3s.

    Whats more is that the Muse seems to have issues after startup to generate the list of Artists, this takes a further 7 seconds before the list can be scrolled through.

    Is this normal?
    Can it be fixed?

    Thanks K.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 92, Level: 1
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 58
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4
    Points
    92
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hey

    I thought this too when I first got my gogear, but it turns out it just takes longer to load up cos it is an SD card you are using for storage and the contents have to be read by the player which takes longer. When I tested it with just the internal memory it was much quicker.


  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 44, Level: 1
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 6
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Tagger Second Class7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    44
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Bobbletop,

    Thanks, interesting, wonder why its slower, I even tried a Class 6 and class 10 SD card and it did not make a difference. I dont think the Philips solution is particularly good here, a Cowon device I tried was always fast, my old Sansa Fuze takes a minute if data changes on the card by between changes the startup time is always quick.

    I had to to the Muse back to the shop in the end, I liked the Hardware and Sound quality but when ever I had to turn to the ui it annoyed me such a shame.

    Thanks Take it easy
    K_C

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 4,992, Level: 20
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 58
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registeredOverdrive1000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster
    Philips - Katerina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    2,347
    Points
    4,992
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Hello participants of the thread and forum members in general!

    Hopefully your issue was dealt with and you are no longer facing it. Since the thread has been silent for some time now, I will proceed by closing it. If you still have the same question about the same issue or any similar issues arise feel free to start a new thread or contact one of us moderators to open this thread again.

    Kind regards
    Philips Ė Katerina

Similar Topics

  1. problem with my SA3 Go Gear Muse
    By SPR in forum Sound: GoGear SA3-series (2011)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-27-2015, 12:56 PM
  2. SA4MUS08KF/12 "No files found"
    By Jaggi in forum Sound: GoGear SA4-series (2012)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-27-2015, 12:49 PM
  3. SA4MUS16KF/12 Muse freezes!!!
    By csark in forum Sound: GoGear SA4-series (2012)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-27-2015, 12:44 PM
  4. Muse freezes when transferring files
    By Radtech in forum Sound: GoGear SA3-series (2011)
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 01-24-2012, 08:07 PM
  5. GoGear Muse and songbird not working together
    By callum929 in forum Sound: GoGear SA3-series (2011)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-19-2011, 12:59 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •