Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Moderator
    Points: 10,484, Level: 30
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,484
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    BDP9700 Latest Firmware upgrade (3.80) has been released

    3.80 is only released to BDP9700/12, /98 and /93.

    v3.80 offers the following benefits:

    Fixes the following issues:

    • Greenish picture observed at certain operations.
    • SACD DSD is outputted as 2CH PCM on HDMI2.
    • SACD hybrid disc hangs up intermittently.
    • Improved compatibility with AV receivers.
    • Red color menu overlaps Euronews page in SmartTV.


    Kindly download the software at www.philips.com/support. This will reflect 1-2 days on the support website.

    History

    22-Feb 2013 Upgrade SW to 3.71.01
    29-Mar 2013 Upgrade SW to 3.76
    29-Apr 2013 Upgrade SW to 3.80
    Forum Mod

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,398, Level: 72
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 152
    Overall activity: 37.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,186
    Points
    55,398
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    I'm wondering: The USB file for 3.80 firmware contains only a UPG folder - in the past there was a UPG_ALL folder. I know, one need the UPG_ALL for updating also the MCU part of the firmware. So what's happening if I update a BDP with e.g. firmware 3.65.10 with MCU0x15 directly to 3.80 via USB? Then it seems, that the MCU isn't updated...

    However, if I update via ECD (online update) directly to 3.80, the MCU is updated (on can see three parts: Software BE, Software FE and MCU).

    Can someone clarify this?

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Points: 10,484, Level: 30
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,484
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Toengel,

    We aware of your question and we are now checking with the platform team. Will come back to you on this.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 10,484, Level: 30
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,484
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Alex,

    I have sent you a PM. Kindly check your inbox for more details.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Last edited by Philips - QK; 05-16-2013 at 04:30 PM.
    Forum Mod

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 10,484, Level: 30
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,484
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi BDP9700 users,

    I would like to see anyone has this stripe subtitle problem when playing DVDs:
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...s&goto=newpost

    Kindly let us know

    Thanks & regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,335, Level: 13
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 115
    Overall activity: 56.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    83
    Points
    2,335
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi QK,

    do you have any information about a planned update? The most annoying thing to me is the issue with the SACD playback, which at a certain point starts to produce sound drops. Other issues are mentioned in my list.

    TIA,
    Gerhard

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 10,484, Level: 30
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,484
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Gerhard,

    For the SACD playback issue, we can reproduce your issue and is now working on this. At the moment I do not have the timeline when it can be fixed yet. But I will indeed let you know if we have more concrete info from the team.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Points: 10,484, Level: 30
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,484
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Gerhard,

    Sorry that I may have misled you.
    The SACD playback issue I mentioned above is the multichannel and stereo switching issue. As for the dropout issue, we cannot reproduce it at the moment. If you have more info to share with us, that will be a lot appreciated.

    Thanks for your understanding in advance!

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,546, Level: 10
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    27
    Points
    1,546
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    AT least in my BDP9700 seems to reset automatic subtitle positioning to picture area (PFL-9956T 21:9 TV). I switch it on, check it and it's on, watch movie, shut down device - next day - start device and the property is swiched off...

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,335, Level: 13
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 115
    Overall activity: 56.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    83
    Points
    2,335
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi QK,

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - QK View Post
    [...]
    The SACD playback issue I mentioned above is the multichannel and stereo switching issue. As for the dropout issue, we cannot reproduce it at the moment. If you have more info to share with us, that will be a lot appreciated. [...]
    in fact I have two reports:

    The first from myself. I heard the SACD "Every Breath You Take" from The Police and everything seems to work as expected and at the last track, I got sound drops. First I thought that this is a disc problem, but it was not. I inserted "Brothers In Arms" and the first track there began to produce dropouts. After power cycling the Dire Straits disc works.

    Another report shows the same problem with another disc (Depeche Mode - 101). The user says that right after track 3 he got dropouts and the player seems to hang after a while.

    Hope this helps.
    Gerhard

  11. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,643, Level: 11
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 207
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Utrecht/TheNetherlands
    Posts
    44
    Points
    1,643
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yep, had similar here. Also: sometimes when I just turned off the player and after I heard the solenoids click off and the on/off button on the front is shining red, then the player still sends a full green image to the TV, or sometimes vertical or diagonal stripe patterns. While the player is off, no kidding! Have to unplug it to get back to normal... I don't worry about it too much, it'll get fixed one day, right?

  12. #12
    Moderator
    Points: 10,484, Level: 30
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,484
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Gerhard,

    Yes, I have reported this issue before based on your previous report:
    'While hearing a Police SACD, at the last track, the playback suddenly started to interrupt infrequently. Replacing the disc with a Dire Straits SACD does not help. Here already the trouble began with the first track: Sound drops! Power cycling helped to solve this issue!'

    However, we cannot reproduce this issues. Will try to see if we can reproduce this from another BDP9700 device.

    With thanks & regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  13. #13
    Moderator
    Points: 10,484, Level: 30
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,484
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Levinas,

    Kindly advise if you have already the 3.80 firmware.
    We have another user reported with 3.80 firmware, he still has his screen is in purple colour when connected to the TV via DVI adapter. Would you please advise if you are connecting the same way?

    Dear Rin,

    For your issue reported - green screen/ sometimes vertical or diagonal stripe pattern, may I know if this is still seen in 3.80 firmware? You able to give me more info on pre-condition/ wire connection/ possible steps to reproduce etc?

    With thanks and regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  14. #14
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,528, Level: 14
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    86
    Points
    2,528
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi

    Tonight is my first time seeing a purple colour on power up. No way to gracefully return it back to normal. i recall before this happens last time when I power down/standy, I see vertical/diagonal strips.

    It's not an coincidence. The end of the strips indicates the beginning of full purple screen. It really says that the chips in 9700 (the chips are very complicated these days) are programmed into unknown states. Hence, incomprehensible colour/pattern.

    To workaround my purple screen, I unplug 9700's power supply. Wait for 5 minutes and connect back power supply. Bingo! 9700 returns display back to normal. It works because unplug power truly resets chips to normal states. While standby, you still have electricity powering the chips.

    I would suggest Philips analyse 9700's firmware to iron out such bugs. Focus on chip initialization/standby routines of the firmware.
    Last edited by kvic; 05-22-2013 at 04:54 PM.

  15. #15
    Moderator
    Points: 10,484, Level: 30
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,484
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear users,

    We will have a firmware release in the near future to resolve the purple screen issue reported by Stormen here:

    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...I-DVI-BDP-9700

    We have however not noted the purple screen when power on/off the device while developing that firmware and for this we may need more time for investigation.

    Thanks for your patience whilst we are studying the issue.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Last edited by Philips - QK; 05-24-2013 at 06:17 AM.
    Forum Mod

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. BDP9700 Latest Firmware upgrade (3.80) has been released
    By Gerhard in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-30-2013, 08:01 AM
  2. BDP9700 Latest Firmware upgrade (3.71.01) has been released
    By Philips - Marcus in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-30-2013, 03:42 AM
  3. BDP9700 Latest Firmware upgrade (3.76) has been released
    By Gerhard in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 04-30-2013, 03:42 AM
  4. CSS5123 Latest Firmware upgrade (V25) has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Sound: Sound Bar (1.1 system)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-05-2012, 04:21 PM
  5. BDP9600 Latest Firmware Upgrade (1.61) has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-26-2011, 12:12 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •