Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,528, Level: 14
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    86
    Points
    2,528
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Hi

    Tonight is my first time seeing a purple colour on power up. No way to gracefully return it back to normal. i recall before this happens last time when I power down/standy, I see vertical/diagonal strips.

    It's not an coincidence. The end of the strips indicates the beginning of full purple screen. It really says that the chips in 9700 (the chips are very complicated these days) are programmed into unknown states. Hence, incomprehensible colour/pattern.

    To workaround my purple screen, I unplug 9700's power supply. Wait for 5 minutes and connect back power supply. Bingo! 9700 returns display back to normal. It works because unplug power truly resets chips to normal states. While standby, you still have electricity powering the chips.

    I would suggest Philips analyse 9700's firmware to iron out such bugs. Focus on chip initialization/standby routines of the firmware.
    Last edited by kvic; 05-22-2013 at 03:54 PM.

  2. #17
    Moderator
    Points: 9,011, Level: 28
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 339
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    883
    Points
    9,011
    Level
    28
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear users,

    We will have a firmware release in the near future to resolve the purple screen issue reported by Stormen here:

    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...I-DVI-BDP-9700

    We have however not noted the purple screen when power on/off the device while developing that firmware and for this we may need more time for investigation.

    Thanks for your patience whilst we are studying the issue.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Last edited by Philips - QK; 05-24-2013 at 05:17 AM.
    Forum Mod

  3. #18
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    wohooo, im dancing in circles :-) I'll bake you a cake if it works :-)
    I've read hundreads of forums and threads about this issue and this is what I learned:
    Issues with green or purple pictures, stripes etc is often related to the advanced hdcp protocolls and small small timeouts etc. some users just change cabel, connect HDMI through the amplifier, ( switches can make problems) set input to Ypbpr or RGB etc. It can be tricky to find out what the problem is beacuse it doesnt as you notice behave as a regular "broken cable". It comes after 5 minuts or directly or not at all. its often restarts, startups in the right order etc.
    My problem is that its always purple, Same symptom on other equipment can also be totally black or green. its the same diagnose for hdcp.

    Here you can find some good advices when your products doesnt shake hands as they should.
    both hdmi-hdmi and hdmi-DVI
    http://hometheater.about.com/od/home...n-Problems.htm
    Last edited by Stormen; 05-23-2013 at 08:39 PM.

  4. #19
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,528, Level: 14
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    86
    Points
    2,528
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Hi

    Philips, you need to work hard to fix issues in next/nextnext/nextnextnext firmware. Have one engineer fixing harder issues and one working on smaller issues/enhancement at least.

    You need to keep up with the competition, and your potential buyers patience. I've been telling people to withhold their purchase of other brands and wait for 9700 because I think most smaller issues requiring a simple firmware fix.

    Thanks

  5. #20
    Moderator
    Points: 9,011, Level: 28
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 339
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    883
    Points
    9,011
    Level
    28
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear all,

    We have the latest firmware live today.
    May I invite your feedback on the latest firmware? http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...d&goto=newpost

    With thanks & regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  6. #21
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,335, Level: 13
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 115
    Overall activity: 56.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    83
    Points
    2,335
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Hi,

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - QK View Post
    [...]
    We have the latest firmware live today.
    May I invite your feedback on the latest firmware? http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...d&goto=newpost[...]
    thanks guys for your efforts. I'll give it a try ASAP - most probably this weekend - highly depending on the weather

    - Gerhard

  7. #22
    Moderator
    Points: 9,011, Level: 28
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 339
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    883
    Points
    9,011
    Level
    28
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Gerhard,

    I have sent you a PM and I need your quick response on that. Would you please have a look of your inbox?

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  8. #23
    Moderator
    Points: 9,011, Level: 28
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 339
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    883
    Points
    9,011
    Level
    28
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear users,

    We would like to invite your feedback on the below few issues to see if the they are solved with the firmware 3.85.10 so as to close the loop.

    1. Dolby HD no sound
    'When using a single HDMI connection (HDMI main, set to bitsream) to the AV amplifier (here Pioneer SC-LX82) and playing a Blu Ray disc, the DTSHD bitstream is sent and detected correctly by the AV amplifier. After switching to DolbyHD, there's no more sound.

    2. Sound quality
    Analog centric to external HDMI TV set (for AVRís without HDMI input)
    Connections: HDMI AVR not connected, HDMI Main to digital TV, Analog 7.1 to AVR.
    Audio Settings BDP9700: HDMI AVR:Bitstream, HDMI Main: Off
    Result: 6 channel (or 5 since most SACDís are 5.0) analog sound available in moderate quality. Most likely a PCM derived signal.
    Video (for selection of tracks and progress of the player) available through TV

    3. Sound interruption/ Sound drop
    When Easwylink is off, switching the TV on does not stop the CD/SACD playback, but interrupts the sound several times

    4. Sound interruption/ Sound drop
    When Easwylink is off, switching the TV off during playback causes a short playback interrupt

    Your feedback is a lot appreciated!

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  9. #24
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,193, Level: 69
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 957
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,960
    Points
    50,193
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    regarding 3): In this case, the current SACD track starts from the beginning in my setup.

    Toengel@Alex

  10. #25
    Moderator
    Points: 9,011, Level: 28
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 339
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    883
    Points
    9,011
    Level
    28
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Thanks Toengel. Will report also this.
    Forum Mod

  11. #26
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,335, Level: 13
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 115
    Overall activity: 56.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    83
    Points
    2,335
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Dear QK,

    sorry for the late response, the weather currently is too good
    I've just cross checked the issues below. See my results "inline":
    The setup is a BDP9600 connected via 2 HDMI cables, one to the TV set and one to the AVR.

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - QK View Post
    [...]
    3. Sound interruption/ Sound drop
    When Easylink is off, switching the TV on does not stop the CD/SACD playback, but interrupts the sound several times
    Two different errors can be observed here, when switching the TV set on.
    Issue 1: TV input was set to BDP9600 (prior to switch it off). CD playback was started, then TV was switched on
    --> CD playback continues, but I got several sound drops.

    Issue 2: TV input was set to AVR (prior to switch it off). CD playback was started, then TV was switched on
    --> CD play continues, one sound drop for several seconds, AVR displays "HDCP error".

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - QK View Post
    4. Sound interruption/ Sound drop
    When Easylink is off, switching the TV off during playback causes a short playback interrupt
    This issue is still present.

    BTW: The display on the device is still not usable in the standalone configuration without TV switched on. There are several improvement proposals already made - it's a pity.

    Regards,
    Gerhard

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Topics

  1. BDP9700 Latest Firmware upgrade (3.80) has been released
    By Gerhard in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-30-2013, 07:01 AM
  2. BDP9700 Latest Firmware upgrade (3.71.01) has been released
    By Philips - Marcus in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-30-2013, 02:42 AM
  3. BDP9700 Latest Firmware upgrade (3.76) has been released
    By Gerhard in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 04-30-2013, 02:42 AM
  4. CSS5123 Latest Firmware upgrade (V25) has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Sound: Sound Bar (1.1 system)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-05-2012, 03:21 PM
  5. BDP9600 Latest Firmware Upgrade (1.61) has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-26-2011, 11:12 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •