Results 1 to 12 of 12
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 57, Level: 1
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6
    Points
    57
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Optical Input Issue

    Dear Philips Team,

    I have bought a set of AW9000. They sound great. Wireless streaming works fine.

    I have connected them to my TV through an optical digital cable.

    When I turn on the loud speakers, they sound fine - tv sound is good.

    Situation 1
    When I turn off the tv and turn it back on. The sound dissapears. I then need to turn the AW9000 off and back on for the sound to return (I can leave the tv on, which suggests that the tv is providing the digital signal all the time).

    Situation 2
    If I am watching tv, but switch to streaming music (either from ipad, mac, or iphone) I cant go back to the sound from the tv. To get the tv sound back on I need to turn off the speakers and turn them back on. Again In this situation I have not touched the TV at any point, it has been providing the signal at all times.

    This suggests that there is something going wrong at the speakers as if there is any kind of switching away from optical input it cannot switch back.

    The firmware was updated as of yesterday and the TV is a samsung plasma screen.

    Please let me know what to do.

    Kind regards,

    Sjontoft

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,334, Level: 9
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    111
    Points
    1,334
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    hi there,

    For situation 1, it is normal if the AW9000 is in standby mode (green LED). afterall, it s not a soundbar :P.
    For situation 2, you have to switch back to mp3 link or AUX in mode in airstudio. i suppose you do not have to turn it off and then back on.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 57, Level: 1
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6
    Points
    57
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear Kylie,

    Thanks for your answer. On Situation 1, the sound AW9000 does not enter standby mode. The LED does not go green. Any interruption to the signal from the optical input simply means that the speakers will not accept more input on the digital line. There is no way I can switch back with the AirStudio. I can play music from my phone byt it WILL NOT switch back to optical inout before I restart the speakers.

    The same is the case in Situation 2. I cannot switch back. AirStudio does allow me to select the optical input, but the speakers never actually switch.

    If you look carefully I think a couple of other users have reported similar problems earlier in different threads without it actually getting solved.

    If it is helpful, I can possibly do a video demonstration and send it to you. Would that help?

    Kind regards,

    Peter

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 57, Level: 1
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6
    Points
    57
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Here is one thread with a similar problem
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...aw9000+optical

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 19, Level: 1
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    19
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    I have the same problem with the digital coax connected from my Phillips tv (32PFL9705).

    If I switch the AW9000 on from standby and use airstudio to switch to digital coax input --> no sound.
    If I switch the AW9000 on from standby and use the buttons --> no sound
    If I switch from spotify or other source by airstudio --> no sound
    If I switch from spotify or other source with the buttons --> no sound

    I have to reboot the AW9000 by removing power cord and switch to digital coax input by airstudio to get sound from my tv. If I switch to another source by airstudio I have sound from that other source. If I switch back to digital coax --> no sound untill reboot by removing power.

    Kind regards,

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,927, Level: 15
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 123
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    129
    Points
    2,927
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi Peter, have you upgraded the device to the latest firmware version ? Don't know if it can help.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 19, Level: 1
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    19
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Volume View Post
    Hi Peter, have you upgraded the device to the latest firmware version ? Don't know if it can help.
    Hi,

    Yes, latest version is installed.
    (If I search for a firmware update it is up to date)

    Regards,
    Peter

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 57, Level: 1
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6
    Points
    57
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I also have fully updated firmware. Philips: can you kindly reply?

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 9,818, Level: 29
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 132
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    9,818
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Sjontoft,

    Yes, we are now looking into this and will update you when we have more information on this subject.
    Thanks for your patience whilst we are looking into your problem.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 57, Level: 1
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6
    Points
    57
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the reply. Good to know. I look forward to hearing how it can be solved.

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Points: 9,818, Level: 29
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 132
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    9,818
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Sjontoft,

    Would you please advise what sound settings you use for your TV e.g. PCM?

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 57, Level: 1
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6
    Points
    57
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    It is PCM.
    I have just done an experiment today and connected the speakers to my Apple TV. The same thing happens. When I turn off the Apple TV I can't get the sound back to optical input without rebooting the speakers.
    Occasionally if I switch to aux input I can then switch back to optical input, but only some times and only if the speakers have not been in standby mode.
    Last edited by Sjontoft; 04-29-2013 at 10:23 PM. Reason: Further information.

Similar Topics

  1. Optical digital input
    By MartinMeijer in forum Sound: Fidelio Wireless Audio series (AW1000, AW2000, AW3000, AW5000, AW9000)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-06-2013, 11:17 AM
  2. HTS-3583/12 digital input issue
    By Rusher in forum Sound: Immersive Sound (5.1 system)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-04-2013, 10:08 AM
  3. Problem with optical output
    By bestbas in forum Sound: Fidelio Wireless Audio series (AW1000, AW2000, AW3000, AW5000, AW9000)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-25-2013, 09:52 AM
  4. HDMI ARC vs Optical
    By Byteserver in forum Sound: Immersive Sound (5.1 system)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-04-2012, 11:23 AM
  5. TV Optical Output -> HTS Cinch Audio Input ???
    By Thomas A÷ in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-15-2012, 10:03 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •