Results 1 to 7 of 7
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 98, Level: 1
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    4
    Points
    98
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    46PFL8007 Looking for OTA update...

    Hey!

    Several times a week, when I turn on the TV to an HD channel, the screen is black.

    The reason is that the CAM is disabled when the TV look for OTA updates.

    What I have to do, is to put the TV on a SD channel, turn it off and on, wait until the message is gone, then switch the TV to the HD channel I want to watch.

    Is there anything that can be done to get the problem away?

    Philips 46PFL8007 (November 2012)
    Software version: 150.085

    Regards
    Thomas

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	46PFL8007.JPG 
Views:	69 
Size:	1.65 MB 
ID:	1880
    Last edited by Thomas74; 05-03-2013 at 10:10 AM.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 9,766, Level: 29
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Overdrive
    Philips - Benedickte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,015
    Points
    9,766
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas74 View Post
    Hey!

    Several times a week, when I turn on the TV to an HD channel, the screen is black.

    The reason is that the CAM is disabled when the TV look for OTA updates.

    What I have to do, is to put the TV on a SD channel, turn it off and on, wait until the message is gone, then switch the TV to the HD channel I want to watch.

    Is there anything that can be done to get the problem away?

    Philips 46PFL8007 (November 2012)
    Software version: 150.085

    Regards
    Thomas

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	46PFL8007.JPG 
Views:	69 
Size:	1.65 MB 
ID:	1880

    Hi Thomas.

    Could you please provide me with CAM details, what provider are you using and if you are still experiencing this after updating to latest software version (150.87).

    Have you tried the following:
    - Another CAM Module?
    - CAM card in another TV?
    - Another CAM card in the TV?
    - Reinstalled Channels?

    Please report back the result.

    Best regards,
    Benedickte
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 98, Level: 1
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    4
    Points
    98
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Benedicte!

    I'm running the latest software (150.87) and it has happend after latest update.

    Yesterday, I did a reinstall of all channels and turned off the "Auto update of channels" from my provider.

    I use TechniCrypt CX CAM module.

    Unfortunately, I'm not able to do a cross-test of the TV/CAM. I only have one TV at home. The CAM module are a little expensive too :-)

    Question: Are my TV able to look for software updates by it self and display a notification and let me choose to install it or not, or do I have to manually download it to an PC and use an USB-flash disk?

    Best regards,
    Thomas

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 9,766, Level: 29
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Overdrive
    Philips - Benedickte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,015
    Points
    9,766
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas74 View Post
    Hi Benedicte!

    I'm running the latest software (150.87) and it has happend after latest update.

    Yesterday, I did a reinstall of all channels and turned off the "Auto update of channels" from my provider.

    I use TechniCrypt CX CAM module.

    Unfortunately, I'm not able to do a cross-test of the TV/CAM. I only have one TV at home. The CAM module are a little expensive too :-)

    Question: Are my TV able to look for software updates by it self and display a notification and let me choose to install it or not, or do I have to manually download it to an PC and use an USB-flash disk?

    Best regards,
    Thomas

    Hi Thomas.

    Thanks for his information.

    What provider are you using? Canal Digital/ RiksTV?

    The TV can also search for new software. However we are not "pushing" all software so it can be updated via the TV.

    BR,
    Benedickte
    Last edited by Philips - Benedickte; 05-13-2013 at 09:16 AM.
    Forum Mod

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 98, Level: 1
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    4
    Points
    98
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    My provider is Romm.no.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 9,766, Level: 29
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Overdrive
    Philips - Benedickte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,015
    Points
    9,766
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas74 View Post
    My provider is Romm.no.
    Hi Thomas.

    Please see the PM's I've sent you.

    Benedickte
    Forum Mod

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 98, Level: 1
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    4
    Points
    98
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi!

    Thank's for the PM's.

    Best regards,
    Thomas

Similar Topics

  1. Audio problem between Philips 46PFL8007 and Xtremer Sidewinder 3
    By Ingmar1990 in forum Smart TV: Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-05-2012, 08:12 PM
  2. Clock Alarm for 46pfl8007
    By PetrAG in forum TV: Software 2012 models
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-29-2012, 05:18 PM
  3. Shadows red and green on 46pfl8007
    By tamasp in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-24-2012, 03:01 PM
  4. Screen to bright on 46PFL8007
    By tamasp in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-10-2012, 01:15 PM
  5. No sound on 46PFL8007 from bluray
    By tamasp in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-03-2012, 04:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •