Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    Purple picture HDMI / DVI BDP 9700

    Hi
    Connected the BDP 9700 (lastest firmware) to my old Zanyo Z2 (1080i) with DVI and now I have purple picture. Sharp and flawless but all purple. composit works great.
    I before used a BDP9600 (hdmi) without any problems. And also tried with an old samsung DVD player (hdmi) with perfect picture. ( and a bdp8000)

    Inputs on the Z2 is:
    input2 DVI and I can only choose RGB
    input1: YpPbPr with 3 RCA connectors.


    The purple picture problem is what I understand a HDCP handshaking problem. YpPbPr vs RGB
    I do wonder why there was no problem with the 9600 or the 8000 series ?

    Is there any other settings in the BDP9700 that makes it send the same signal as BDP9600 ?
    Last edited by Stormen; 05-05-2013 at 02:03 PM. Reason: added another player that works

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,590, Level: 70
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 960
    Overall activity: 57.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,039
    Points
    51,590
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    what is you current firmware version?

    What is your version of the MCU (remove disc, press home, press 8520)?

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi Toengel ( your alwas fast ) :-)

    Model BDP9700/12
    Stroke /12
    Player SW HQ 00009334
    Loader SW: 6J0826 8550 0826
    MCU SW 0x15-0
    Weakup [0x00]
    Region B 2
    Module time 2013-04-17 18:40:15
    Binary Time Localbuild Wed 17 APRIL 2013 20:18:25
    Net Tw 3.08
    Smartphone 4.5

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,590, Level: 70
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 960
    Overall activity: 57.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,039
    Points
    51,590
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    your MCU is 0x15 - actual is 0x19 (I think, this is your problem).

    Download the update again from the support website and install again:
    - format usb stick
    - extract the downloaded ZIP to the usb stick
    - should look like:

    usb-stick:\UPG_ALL\BDP9700.bin

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi. Ive uppgraded through usb stick and now got the 0x19-0 installed.
    But it's the same problem.
    I connected the bdp 9600 again just to make sure it wasnt the cable or projektor. And the picture had all colors in place.

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,590, Level: 70
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 960
    Overall activity: 57.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,039
    Points
    51,590
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    please now make a factory reset and pull power cord for 2-3 minutes...

    After that, please check again, if you have firmware 3.80 and MCU 0x19.

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi Toengel
    I'm very glad for your respons and kindness to help me solve this issue.
    I made a factory reset and pulled the powercord for 5 minutes, then stared up, selected country etc. and tried with the projector again. Nope,, didnt solve the issue with hdcp.
    And have the 3.8 and the MCU 0x19
    You seem very sure that this bug is already fixed ? ;-)
    I can try to reset, reinstall the FW and reset again. but nahh dont think that will help.

    this is how it look for you guys who havent seen this before.



    Last edited by Stormen; 05-05-2013 at 08:09 PM.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Stormen,

    I also have this problem around 2 mths ago, the condition was the same as yours, using DVI to connect TV, no solution to solve it from the support team of Philips in Hong Kong.

    At last, Philips agreed to refund, but anyway I hope they can solve this problem else I'll consider to buy it again.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 1,808, Level: 11
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 42
    Overall activity: 83.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered1000 Experience Points
    Philips - Marcus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    45
    Points
    1,808
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear All,

    I have escalated this issue to product development. I will let you know when I have any information in regards to matter.

    Kind Regards,

    Marcus
    Forum Mod

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    some intresting reading about handshaking hdcp

    On the other hand, you can also run into a situation on older-DVI equipped TVs that even if they are HDCP compliant, they may not have the proper firmware to recognize the identity of the HDMI source component you are trying to connect. If you run into this situation a call to tech support for your TV or source component is a good idea before proceeding further.
    official articel at about.com
    http://hometheater.about.com/od/home...n-Problems.htm

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Points: 9,525, Level: 29
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 425
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    883
    Points
    9,525
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Stormen,

    You interested in this: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...EGISTER-HERE!?

    I still remember your speaker so so so well :P

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	speakerwall.jpg 
Views:	57 
Size:	24.6 KB 
ID:	1892
    Forum Mod

  12. #12
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    LOL
    Yep they where really massive, no center available though :-)

    But now I got it rebuild and its got WAF factor ( wife acceptans factor)






    6 months later




    Here is the thread in swedish, use google translate:
    http://sweetspotforum.forum24.se/swe...about1892.html
    Sorry OT:
    Back to Topic !
    The purple problem accours on different older models ov DVI screens and projector. something got changed between the 9600 and the 9700
    Last edited by Stormen; 05-23-2013 at 08:21 PM.

  13. #13
    Moderator
    Points: 9,525, Level: 29
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 425
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    883
    Points
    9,525
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    wow, projector, it s even greater now :P

    Yep, back to your topic, I have passed the issue to our development team. Will let you know if we have more investigation results. Thanks!
    Forum Mod

  14. #14
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Have read som more threads about the old Sanyo plv Z2 with DVI connectors.
    The DVI (DHCP) input on this projector does not always "play nice" with other DVI and HDMI source devices. Some players work some don't.


    Some people claim that if the signal is changed to 60 Hz it solves the problem.
    Sanyo claims hdcp comp with PAL standard. ( when launched 2003 )
    Anyhow, something is changed between the 9600 and the 9700,, could be the keychain for hdcp ?
    What signal is the BDP 9700 sending ?
    Last edited by Stormen; 05-16-2013 at 08:58 PM.

  15. #15
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Firmware 3.85.1 didnt solve the issue, But now I have perfect picture for 5 sec at startup, then HDCP kicks in and i get purple screen.
    Investigations is still going on at Philips.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. HMP3000/12 - big problem - purple screen
    By mini21 in forum Blu-ray: General and Others (MBD/PB Series)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-14-2013, 03:55 AM
  2. 26PFL4007T PS/3 HDMI no picture
    By jankro in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-21-2013, 06:16 PM
  3. 9700 and DSD super audio out through HDMI
    By DSD SACD MARI in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-20-2013, 11:12 AM
  4. No picture from my laptop via HDMI
    By Paradiddle in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-28-2012, 09:41 AM
  5. Purple Ambilight on a white screen
    By mduran in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-02-2011, 09:52 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •