Results 1 to 9 of 9
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,439, Level: 10
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 111
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,439
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unable to play .mkv files on BDP5100

    I use TVersity MediaServer to stream pictures, music and movies (.avi) via LAN from my server.
    For some reason, I seem to be unable to play .mkv and .m4v files both via DLNA and USB on my BDP5100.
    Any attempt to play .mkv will result in error message complaining about the file format.
    Upon purchase, my BDP5100 had firmware version 1.27 installed.
    I upgraded to 1.31, then 1.53 (latest one?), but still no luck with my matroska-videos.
    Found a tip in another thread suggesting renaming .mkv's to -avi would bypass this problem, but it did not provide any solution to me.
    Please advise.

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,948, Level: 71
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,102
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,079
    Points
    52,948
    Level
    71
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 181 Times in 162 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    is the BDP capable to play MKV files? What is written in the Product Spred Sheet or manual?

    Are the used codecs within the MKVs supported?

    Toengel@Alex
    Last edited by Toengel; 03-23-2011 at 07:21 PM.

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,528, Level: 10
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,528
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi both,

    BDP5100 does support MKV playback. I can play my files with my BDP5100 without problems. ..
    But yes, I think it may be a matter of the codec supported.

    @eyolf2006
    To my knowledge, MKV is somewhat like a container to file the video and audio codecs (correct me if I'm wrong). So, MKV is supported by the player, but this does not mean all the codecs inside that MKV are supported, for example some codec developed by apple is not supported even though it is in a MKV format.

    hmmmmmmmm, maybe you can use media info to analyse your file and send it to Philips moderator to check it for you?

    Hope this helps.

    Best regards, Carin

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 1,439, Level: 10
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 111
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,439
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Toengel,
    thx for feedback - please ref. Carin's reply.
    Do you know if Philips supply a list of supported codecs?

    Carin,
    thx for feedback.
    I have tried several mkv-files from different sources, with no luck. I therefore assumed it was a format issue.
    I use Norwegian menus on my player, but whenever my BDP5100 refuse to play video files, it will display an error message on screen, complaining about incorrect/wrong video format (translated).
    Could this be related to the codecs you refer to?
    I will look into the matter and analyze my mkv-files; which hopefully will give me some answers.
    Btw, it is my understanding that ALL of your mkv's are accepted by your player?
    Have you experienced random codec issues yourself?

    Rgds,
    Eyolf

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,948, Level: 71
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,102
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,079
    Points
    52,948
    Level
    71
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 181 Times in 162 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    see: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...ghlight=codecs

    Use mediainfo.sourceforge.net to analyze your MKV files.

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,528, Level: 10
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,528
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    hi eyolf2006,

    I did have experience that my mkv file cannot be played. but this doesnt happen often. (maybe i don't have many). hmmmmmm, it's like 1/20 of my files cannot be played properly and i understand it might be some sources issue. switched my source and found the file that can be played...
    the prob that i hv is i often cannot play the subtitle file. that's the disappointing part. but as far as that's english, i can do it without subtitle...
    so that's quite my story. and for your problem, i highly recommend you to analyse your file with mediainfo and cap some screen for Philips. they can check it for you. i hv sent a file over. and they told me my file is L5.1 and hence cannot be played. not helpful, but at least i know the reason why and i can make sure next time i have the L4.1

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 1,439, Level: 10
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 111
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,439
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Toengel,
    many thanks.

    Carin,
    again, thx for feedback.
    I performed a test analysis of a faulty mkv-file, but was unable to detect any divergencies between the log and the codec list.
    Codecs, frame rates and bit rates looked fine to me, the only item that differed, was resolution.
    I converted a DVD of mine, which resulted in a non-HD resolution, so to speak.
    I find it strange if this should cause any problems, though.
    Looks like I'll have to do a snapshot of the log/mediainfo window and send it of to Philips for review.
    Btw, did you send it via this forum?

    Rgds,
    Eyolf

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,528, Level: 10
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,528
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi there.
    I copy the text from mediainfo and send the moderator a private mail. and they manage to get back to me in like a few hours or say 1 day. I think you can give it a try.
    Regards, Carin

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 1,286, Level: 9
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 64
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,286
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by eyolf2006 View Post
    Toengel,
    many thanks.

    Carin,
    again, thx for feedback.
    I performed a test analysis of a faulty mkv-file, but was unable to detect any divergencies between the log and the codec list.
    Codecs, frame rates and bit rates looked fine to me, the only item that differed, was resolution.
    I converted a DVD of mine, which resulted in a non-HD resolution, so to speak.
    I find it strange if this should cause any problems, though.
    Looks like I'll have to do a snapshot of the log/mediainfo window and send it of to Philips for review.
    Btw, did you send it via this forum?

    Rgds,
    Eyolf
    Hello Eyolf,

    Please post the details of your converting method, that will help other users with the similar problem, and also Philips can try the same to see if in general your method will cause issues.

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •