Results 1 to 9 of 9
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 14, Level: 1
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    14
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Volume control

    Is there any way to get the soundbar to retain the previous volume setting when switching back on ferom standby mode?

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 730, Level: 6
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 55.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    131
    Points
    730
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Hi, whats the model number of your soundbar?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 15, Level: 1
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    15
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I would also like an answer to this question, My sound bar is an HTL2160/12.

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 485, Level: 5
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    69
    Points
    485
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    The sound should be the same after standby mode, after all it’s just like an extra speaker. In most cases the TV sound will decide how loud the sound will be through the sound bar.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 15, Level: 1
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    15
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I don't agree that the sound bar is just like an extra speaker as it has its own volume control which is independent of the television controls. I find that in order to give a sufficiently large range of volume control using the television control I have to increase the level on the sound bar. Once the sound bar has been in stand by mode and is switched on again it seems to revert to a lower level each time.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 39, Level: 1
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 11
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    39
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Same problem for me with my HTL2160/12.
    Other settings (bass, treble) are maintained after turn off / turn on of the unit. That's good.
    Volume is forced to a minimal level. That's bad.
    This is quite annoying. I mean, sound bar is a tool that onece installed should be forgotten. This way I need to use 2 remote controls; TV + soundbar each time a turn on my TV set.
    Very unconfortable.
    I would be glad if the issue would be fixed with a new firmware release.

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 9,818, Level: 29
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 132
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    9,818
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear all,

    The described behavior is that of our default setting- when start up the TV/sound bar, the sound level is at minimal. This is to prevent the volume being too high (esp at night/ in the morning). Imagine in the very morning, you try to switch the TV on and catch up some news, but once the TV is on, the volume is way too high at the normal level. This may scare you/ those who are still sleeping/ your neighbor.

    We would like to hear more from you on this. If there are sufficient voice of consumer which request for improvement, we can consider this in the future firmware release.

    Kindly let us know your thoughts.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 39, Level: 1
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 11
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    39
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thank you for your explanation but... I do not agree with your point of view.
    My TV set, my mp3 player, my PC, ... all of them maintain sound level and all audio settings when restarted.
    Sound bar shold do the same. This very annoing to be forced to use two remote controls every time I switch on the TV. It's up to the user increase/decrease sound level before the night to avoid to scare neighbor.
    Sound bar provide great sound. I'm very happy with it but please fix this issue.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    HI
    I have the same product and I have the same problems and opinion as pieppa.
    I would propose philips to implement this fix and let customers decide if activate it or not through a key combination in remote control or whatever other way.
    regrds
    john

Similar Topics

  1. Headphone volume control
    By Dainis in forum Smart TV: Software
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-18-2013, 09:46 AM
  2. Volume control request
    By AlunS in forum Sound: Fidelio Wireless Audio series (AW1000, AW2000, AW3000, AW5000, AW9000)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-19-2013, 01:52 PM
  3. Bad volume Control
    By Alave in forum Apps: MyRemote App (for iOS)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-13-2012, 04:09 AM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-19-2011, 02:11 PM
  5. loss of volume control via remote
    By mcsap in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-08-2011, 07:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •