Results 1 to 2 of 2
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 14, Level: 1
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    14
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    WAC3500 New Hardrive Setup

    My system recently died and I finally tracked the problem down to the hard drive becoming faulty. I can replace the drive easily enough, but how do I get the system recognise it? I connected the old drive to my Linux box (Fedora) and saw 4 partitions. the first two (140Mb) were of type Unknown, the second (74Mb) was the swap and the fourth was Ext3.

    I partitioned a new drive the same way (but had to use Ext4 - not sure if there is a difference but Fedora won't let me use a different type), backed up the original partitions and restored them to the new drive. The first two partitions reverted to Unknown when I did this.

    The drive still won't pick up, the unit just stays on "Starting Up" and doesn't progress and further.

    I then tried changing the first two drive types to Ext4, but this didn't work either.

    Does anyone know how I need to prep the drive before placing it in the unit, or if there is anything else I need to do?

    I really don't want to scrap the unit, so if anyone can help I would be grateful beyond belief.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Points: 11,409, Level: 32
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 541
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive3 months registered10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Katerina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4,487
    Points
    11,409
    Level
    32
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 49 Times in 49 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello participants of the thread and forum members in general!

    Hopefully your issue was dealt with and you are no longer facing it. Since the thread has been silent for some time now, I will proceed by closing it. If you still have the same question about the same issue or any similar issues arise feel free to start a new thread or contact one of us moderators to open this thread again.

    Kind regards
    Philips – Katerina

Similar Topics

  1. WAC3500 Won't turn on.
    By HugoFlex in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-21-2015, 10:01 AM
  2. more woes with wac3500
    By lassiedog in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-28-2012, 10:14 AM
  3. WAC3500 can't connect to PC window 7?
    By sherylsmith in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-20-2012, 04:04 PM
  4. WAC3500, need information about a component
    By wingman1200 in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-19-2012, 01:09 PM
  5. WAC3500 flashing red LED
    By jarekk in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-26-2011, 05:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •