Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 37
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,073, Level: 8
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    France
    Posts
    61
    Points
    1,073
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by markvanoirschot View Post
    It would be great if Philips added the DTS support. I dont like converting al my files to AAC/AC3 DD, it degrades the quality, and takes time...

    Will DTS ever be supported on my new 46pfl8008??

    Mark
    yes please... +1
    PFL8007

  2. #17
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,073, Level: 8
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    France
    Posts
    61
    Points
    1,073
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    2

    Question

    @Philips
    Once and for all could it be possible to clarify audio questions with detailed answers ?
    (Sorry if some cases have already been explained)

    Why DTS audio bitstream is not actually played/decoded by [TV set] or at least forwarded through optical output :
    - Is it a hardware/technical limitation of [TV set] ?
    - or just a licencing question ?

    1st case :
    [external player]<---hdmi--->[TV set]<---optical--->[5.1 amp]

    "passthrough" behaviour of the [TV set] :
    Audio bitstream coming from [external player] (i.e. BR or DVD or PS3...) via HDMI should be forwarded by [TV set] to optical output without any modification (nore decoding because it has already been done by external player) in order to be decoded/played by a [5.1 amp]
    It works well for 2.0, 5.1DD, but not for DTS.
    - Does it mean that [TV set] is not passthrough ?
    - Could you explain [TV set] behaviour regarding audio and optical output please.

    2nd case:
    [external video file]<---usb--->[TV set]<---optical--->[5.1 amp] or
    [external video file]<---Wifi/ethernet--->[TV set]<---optical--->[5.1 amp]

    - Could it be possible to forward audio bitstream to optical output without any modification (nore decoding) in order to be decoded/played by a [5.1 amp] ?

    3rd case :
    [DVB/Sat]<---tuner--->[TV set]<---optical--->[5.1 amp]

    - Same question : what about "passthrough" behaviour of the [TV set] ?

  3. #18
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,558, Level: 69
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 592
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,982
    Points
    50,558
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 171 Times in 153 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    Philips TVs only support DD - no DTS. So, only DD passthrough from external HDMI to SPDIF (or from any internal source such as USB or DVB or SmartTV) is working. DTS from HDMI is always sampled down by the external device (since the HDMI handshake via EDID tells the external device, that only DD is supported). DTS from internal source (USB) is not supported (Audio format not supported).

    DD via DLNA is another thing... I'm not sure.

    Toengel@Alex

  4. #19
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,073, Level: 8
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    France
    Posts
    61
    Points
    1,073
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    Philips TVs only support DD - no DTS. So, only DD passthrough from external HDMI to SPDIF (or from any internal source such as USB or DVB or SmartTV) is working. DTS from HDMI is always sampled down by the external device (since the HDMI handshake via EDID tells the external device, that only DD is supported). DTS from internal source (USB) is not supported (Audio format not supported).

    DD via DLNA is another thing... I'm not sure.

    Toengel@Alex
    Hi,

    A common use for the S/PDIF interface (Sony/Philips Digital Interconnect Format !) is to carry compressed digital audio and to connect the output of a device (BR/DVD/CD player, computer, TV set, ...) via optical to a 5.1 amp that supports DD (Dolby Digital) or DTS surround sound.

    If you're right, it's a nonsense that TV set blocks DTS bitstream (for HDMI handshake via EDID reason or whatever) regarding SPDIF presence !
    i don't understand it, it should be really passthrough, it looks like a stupid limitation, doesn't it ?

  5. #20
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,558, Level: 69
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 592
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,982
    Points
    50,558
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 171 Times in 153 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    one can see it from one side but also from a different one... Let me explain...

    Due to the image processing, the audio needs to be delayed for some MS. To delay it, one need to "touch" the audiostream => means that you need a "processing unit" for the audio...

    Despite that the external device is not sending DTS due to the EDID handshake (or if you send DTS via bitstream) the TV has no "processing unit" for DTS onboard to make this delay...

    At least this is my understanding.

    But I'd like to have DTS support, too ;-)

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #21
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,073, Level: 8
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    France
    Posts
    61
    Points
    1,073
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    one can see it from one side but also from a different one... Let me explain...

    Due to the image processing, the audio needs to be delayed for some MS. To delay it, one need to "touch" the audiostream => means that you need a "processing unit" for the audio...

    Despite that the external device is not sending DTS due to the EDID handshake (or if you send DTS via bitstream) the TV has no "processing unit" for DTS onboard to make this delay...

    At least this is my understanding.

    But I'd like to have DTS support, too ;-)

    Toengel@Alex

    Hum you're going to an other hot topic... audio delay.
    I don't know the TV set design and don't wan't to do hypothesis on that subject.
    (there is probably already some kind of "audio processing unit" because we can actually manage audio delay in the TV set menu)
    Anyway...

  7. #22
    Silver Member
    Points: 440, Level: 4
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!31 days registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    58
    Points
    440
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I'm not an expert but have hard times falling for the 'processing unit' explanation. My computer (mac or win pc) with a running media server has no issues with processing DTS or any other format. The software does need some codecs which wil be natively installed or third party, but all formats can be played.

    There is no special 'processing unit' for DTS in my computer :s, there is a sound processing unit in the computer, as is in the TV which has to be driven by the right software/codecs.

    So Philips.....DTS??? =D

  8. #23
    Administrator
    Points: 3,811, Level: 17
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 39
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Awards:
    Calendar Award
    Philips admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    32
    Points
    3,811
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by markvanoirschot View Post
    It would be great if Philips added the DTS support. I dont like converting al my files to AAC/AC3 DD, it degrades the quality, and takes time...

    Will DTS ever be supported on my new 46pfl8008??
    Mark
    Yes!
    We are happy to announce a great new feature on our 2013 High-End devices (more specific 7xxx series and upwards). As requested by a lot of consumers, we will add DTS support with the coming FW release (v171.xx). Exact intro date is not known yet.

    Regards,
    JuAn

    In addition some Q&A:

    • Q: Will DTS 5.1/7.1 be supported or only 2.0?
      A: Only DTS 2.0 is supported by the TV (as it only has stereo speakers).
    • Q: Does this also support DTS via DLNA or USB?
      A: Yes, DTS will be supported on USB and DLNA.
    • Q: And what about back porting to Fusion 2k12? Any plans for that?
      A: No, will not be not back ported to FusionR2, only for 2k13 7000 series and higher with the coming new SW (v171.xx).
    • Q: What happens if a DTS 5.1/7.1 signal will reach the TV? Will the TV downmix?
      A: Yes, both formats will be downmixed to stereo.
    • Q: Will the TV pass through the 2.0/5.1/7.1 signal?
      A: Yes, all formats will be passed through 1:1 via the Digital Out (S/PDIF) connector.

    Last edited by Philips; 06-07-2013 at 10:19 AM. Reason: Added some more add. info.

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Philips admin For This Useful Post:

    markvanoirschot (06-04-2013),Toengel (06-04-2013)

  10. #24
    Silver Member
    Points: 440, Level: 4
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!31 days registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    58
    Points
    440
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yay! This is great news, very happy to hear! It is good to see Philips does listen to their customers, thnx!

  11. #25
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,073, Level: 8
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    France
    Posts
    61
    Points
    1,073
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    2

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by LR92F View Post
    @Philips : Correct me if i'm wrong but it seems that 2013 TV models (PFL8008 at least) will be compliant with DTS.

    I can observe that PFL8008 seems to be very close to PFL8007 regarding hardware spécifications; So there should not have big problem to implement DTS codec, should it ?

    We all hope that our 2012 TV models will rapidly include DTS: as you said this need has been discussed many times in the forum.
    @Philips : Great news !


    And what about PFL8007 ? ...

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to LR92F For This Useful Post:

    DadGommit (06-04-2013)

  13. #26
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,073, Level: 8
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    France
    Posts
    61
    Points
    1,073
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    it seems, they know more than Philips :-D

    Toengel@Alex

    They do

  14. #27
    Bronze Member
    Points: 916, Level: 7
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Tagger Second Class500 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    34
    Points
    916
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by LR92F View Post
    @Philips : Great news !


    And what about PFL8007 ? ...

    No worries, I don't expect Philips to be so discourteous to owners of 7**7 and upwards 2012-series to not include this upgrade for those models! Right Philips?!?

  15. #28
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,671, Level: 14
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 79
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points
    westpaket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    32
    Points
    2,671
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    i bet that this feature will never found a way in a 2012 series tv ...

  16. #29
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,558, Level: 69
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 592
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,982
    Points
    50,558
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 171 Times in 153 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    I second that.

    Toengel@Alex

  17. #30
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,073, Level: 8
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    France
    Posts
    61
    Points
    1,073
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    2

    Thumbs down

    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    I second that.

    Toengel@Alex
    Very optimistic ! Same kind of predication as the one concerning 2013 TV devices ...

    Can you share some concrete/positive information with us ?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Audio format not supported message when play mkv
    By alon in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-04-2013, 10:36 PM
  2. DLNA - Supported Formats?
    By manno in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-23-2012, 07:06 PM
  3. NP 3300 supported playlist formats
    By Kumabjorn in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-23-2011, 12:56 PM
  4. Portable hard disk and supported file formats
    By vaidoshius in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 09:50 AM
  5. 40PFL8605H/12 Supported formats and codecs in detail please
    By Dworgian in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-08-2011, 08:16 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •