Results 1 to 8 of 8
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 81, Level: 1
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 69
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    81
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Angry SPDIF out active active at "Automatic update"

    According to the manual, "Automatic update - To set the TV to update digital TV channels automatically, leave the TV in standby mode. Once a day, the TV updates earlier found channels and stores new channels. Empty channels are removed from the channel list. If a channel update is performed, a message appears at startup."

    The "Once a day", actually occurs at 6.00 AM.
    During the update, the SPDIF output become active.
    The period of the update is about 10 seconds.
    The current TV channel sound is output at the SPDIF connect but not trough other outputs.
    Setting the Automatic update to "off" does not affect this.
    Setting the Channel updatemessage to "off" does not affect this.

    The TV is locatedto the bed room. It is connected to our digital sound system. The sound system is always active.
    In practical terms this means that the TV is acting as an alarm clock which is set to 6.00AM and cannot be shut off.
    This is very annoying. If not fixed we have to replace the TV sooner or later!

    TV model: Philips 32PFL7605H
    Software version: Q5551-0.140.47.0
    Softwre release: TV550R1
    Purchase: 2011

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 19,523, Level: 42
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 327
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,177
    Points
    19,523
    Level
    42
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 105 Times in 89 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by LarsR View Post
    According to the manual, "Automatic update - To set the TV to update digital TV channels automatically, leave the TV in standby mode. Once a day, the TV updates earlier found channels and stores new channels. Empty channels are removed from the channel list. If a channel update is performed, a message appears at startup."

    The "Once a day", actually occurs at 6.00 AM.
    During the update, the SPDIF output become active.
    The period of the update is about 10 seconds.
    The current TV channel sound is output at the SPDIF connect but not trough other outputs.
    Setting the Automatic update to "off" does not affect this.
    Setting the Channel updatemessage to "off" does not affect this.

    The TV is locatedto the bed room. It is connected to our digital sound system. The sound system is always active.
    In practical terms this means that the TV is acting as an alarm clock which is set to 6.00AM and cannot be shut off.
    This is very annoying. If not fixed we have to replace the TV sooner or later!

    TV model: Philips 32PFL7605H
    Software version: Q5551-0.140.47.0
    Softwre release: TV550R1
    Purchase: 2011
    Hi LarsR,

    Welcome to the TV forum. My apologies for the late reply.

    Could you please tell me which country you are in and who your channel provider it?

    Try to kickstart your tuner. You do this by removing the antenna cable and then reinstalling the channels (not channel update). Wait for the TV to finish the search.

    The TV obviously won't find any channels, so therefore reinsert the antenna cable and then again reinstall the channels.

    Let me know if this doesn't solve your issue.

    Best regards,
    Ina

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 81, Level: 1
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 69
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    81
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    Hi LarsR,

    Welcome to the TV forum. My apologies for the late reply.

    Could you please tell me which country you are in and who your channel provider it?

    Try to kickstart your tuner. You do this by removing the antenna cable and then reinstalling the channels (not channel update). Wait for the TV to finish the search.

    The TV obviously won't find any channels, so therefore reinsert the antenna cable and then again reinstall the channels.

    Let me know if this doesn't solve your issue.

    Best regards,
    Ina

    Hi,

    Thanks for your attention and reply!
    After carefully applying your suggestion and a new test, the issue still remains.

    My country is Sweden. I have been in contact with the customer care a year ago (reference no 50-1035995304). The TV set was tested in their lab, however without finding the issue. But the issue is easy to repeat and very annoying to us and probably other customers, I was suggesting Philips customer care to put forward a request to next level of support. The customer care basicly ignored it while suggesting a workaround.

    Now, I urge you to influence your pipe for a new firmware version update which utimately fix the issue!


    Best regards,
    Lars

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 19,523, Level: 42
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 327
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,177
    Points
    19,523
    Level
    42
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 105 Times in 89 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by LarsR View Post
    Hi,

    Thanks for your attention and reply!
    After carefully applying your suggestion and a new test, the issue still remains.

    My country is Sweden. I have been in contact with the customer care a year ago (reference no 50-1035995304). The TV set was tested in their lab, however without finding the issue. But the issue is easy to repeat and very annoying to us and probably other customers, I was suggesting Philips customer care to put forward a request to next level of support. The customer care basicly ignored it while suggesting a workaround.

    Now, I urge you to influence your pipe for a new firmware version update which utimately fix the issue!


    Best regards,
    Lars

    Hi Lars,

    I have spoken to our Tier 2 Product Support for the Nordic market regarding this issue.

    Please see the PM I have sent you.

    Best regards,
    Ina

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 81, Level: 1
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 69
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    81
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    Hi Lars,

    I have spoken to our Tier 2 Product Support for the Nordic market regarding this issue.

    Please see the PM I have sent you.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Hi,

    I did not yet recieve the PM you have sent.

    Best regards
    Lars

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 19,523, Level: 42
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 327
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,177
    Points
    19,523
    Level
    42
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 105 Times in 89 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by LarsR View Post
    Hi,

    I did not yet recieve the PM you have sent.

    Best regards
    Lars
    Hi LarsR,

    I have re-rent the PM for you. If you still don't recieved it, please let me know.

    Best regards,
    Ina

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 81, Level: 1
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 69
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    81
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    Hi LarsR,

    I have re-rent the PM for you. If you still don't recieved it, please let me know.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Hi,

    Please sent it to my email address:
    *edited to remove personal information*
    I am awaiting!

    Best regards
    Lars
    Last edited by Philips - Ina; 06-26-2013 at 03:11 PM. Reason: Removing personal information

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Points: 19,523, Level: 42
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 327
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,177
    Points
    19,523
    Level
    42
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 105 Times in 89 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by LarsR View Post
    Hi,

    Please sent it to my email address:
    *edited to remove personal information*
    I am awaiting!

    Best regards
    Lars
    Hi Lars,

    I have sent you an email with the information.

    Best regards,
    Ina

    NB! I have removed your email address from the post above to protect your personal information.

Similar Topics

  1. "Update firmware released" message
    By geensj in forum Smart TV: Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-18-2013, 06:54 PM
  2. New "software update" this morning
    By Pharbio in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-13-2012, 06:59 AM
  3. "Favourites" list of channels resetting back to "All"
    By mikensen in forum TV: Software 2012 models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-29-2012, 09:59 AM
  4. Best Active 3D Glasses to use??
    By driss_himdi in forum TV: 3D
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 06-02-2012, 06:39 PM
  5. active control
    By ali54 in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-02-2012, 06:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •