Results 1 to 4 of 4
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,528, Level: 14
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    86
    Points
    2,528
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    9700: To reproduce standby HDMI issue

    Hi

    Different people on this forum reported HDMI video output is not turned off when 9700 goes to standby. The issue demonstrates itself as HDMI to TV still showing vertical strips or diagonal strips even though 9700 is already in standby mode.

    I found a way to 100% reproduce this issue. Here are the steps:

    1. Turn on 9700 and go to Smart TV
    2. Go to YouTube and start playing an video.
    3. Fast forward the video and wait for a few seconds until the video pauses for unknown reason
    4. Fast forward again if you don't see the video resumes playing and stalls.

    Repeat Step 4 once or twice. I can guarantee you video playback will stall for unknown reason.
    Once 9700 goes into this state. Weird things could happen. You can try to play a media file from HDD. Or play a BD disc.
    Does not matter. video playing will become weird in a way that video/audio will be out of sync. The detail of weirdness does not matter here.

    The key is that now if you turn off 9700 by going into Standby. HDMI Main will still output video signal. The signal shows up on TV as vertical strips and diagonal strips.

    In the extreme case, when you power on 9700 again. You'll see full pink screen that can only be resolved by unplug the power cord. But the pink screen so far only happens to me once. Most of the cases when 9700 powers on, video display is normal. But if you go Standby again, HDMI main video signal is not turned off. Same horizontal and diagontal strips.

    Only way to resolve the strips is to unplug the power cord.

    Please check.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 1,479, Level: 10
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 71
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered1000 Experience Points
    Philips - Tereza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    184
    Points
    1,479
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear kvic,

    thank you very much for your above input. We would like to investigate this issue further, however, we will need few more information on your setup.

    I have sent you a private message. Once you have a moment, please reply to that and we will have a look into this for you.

    Kind Regards,

    Philips Moderator Team
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Points: 9,554, Level: 29
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 396
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    9,554
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear kvic,

    As mentioned before, the case cannot be reproduced by us.
    Would you please let us know if the firware help you on this?

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,528, Level: 14
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    86
    Points
    2,528
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    I swear I tried very hard to reproduce on 3.85.10. Glad to report that it's no longer reproducible by me on this new firmware.

    Great Philips!

Similar Topics

  1. Purple picture HDMI / DVI BDP 9700
    By Stormen in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-02-2013, 01:02 PM
  2. tv doesn't go to standby when `no video signal` on HDMI
    By MartiniB in forum TV: Software 2012 models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-11-2013, 09:21 AM
  3. 9700 and DSD super audio out through HDMI
    By DSD SACD MARI in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-20-2013, 11:12 AM
  4. Standby/wake up on HDMI?
    By salga in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-04-2013, 07:32 PM
  5. Standby issue BDP5500
    By Brendan mc in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-26-2012, 11:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •