Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 48
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Moderator
    Points: 1,479, Level: 10
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 71
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered1000 Experience Points
    Philips - Tereza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    184
    Points
    1,479
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    BDP9700 Latest Firmware upgrade (V3.85.10) has been released

    V3.85.10 is only released to BDP9700/12, /98 and /93.


    V3.85.10 includes the following changes:
    • Improves compatibility with receivers/amplifiers.
    • Improves picture quality (artifacts) during BD playback
    • Improves support of USB3.0 HDD that are USB2.0 backward compatible.
    • Purple screen/Green screen during wake-up of device when DVI is connected.
    • Allows selection of DSD Multichannel or DSD Stereo for SACD playback (via setup menu and only for HDMI2 output).

    The former firmware version includes the following changes:
    V3.80:
    Fixes the following issues:
    o Greenish picture observed at certain operations.(v3.80)
    o SACD DSD is outputted as 2CH PCM on HDMI2. (v3.80)
    o SACD hybrid disc hangs up intermittently. (v3.80)
    o Improved compatibility with AV receivers. (v3.80)
    o Red color menu overlaps Euronews page in SmartTV.(v3.80)

    V3.76:
    Fixes the following issues:
    o Hybrid 2D/3D Blu-ray discs are not recognized by the player. (v3.76)
    o SACD playback output as 2CH instead of Multichannel. (v3.76)
    o SACD playback stops after a few tracks and need to press NEXT to continue with succeeding tracks. (v3.76)
    o BDP will hang-up when stop is pressed during playback of Avengers 3D blu-ray disc (APAC version). (v3.76)
    o HDMI OUT (MAIN) has no audio output when BDP wakes up from standby with SACD inside disc tray. (v3.76)
    o HDMI video will become distorted when you press stop or go back to home menu during playback of 1080p 24Hz 3D content on 3D mode and dual HDMI connected. (v3.76)
    o HDMI video will become distorted when you press stop or go back to home menu during playback of 720p 60Hz 3D content on 3D mode and dual HDMI connected. (v3.76)
    o HDMI OUT (AV Receiver) becomes muted when HDMI OUT (MAIN) is disconnected during SACD playback. (v3.76)
    o Video hangs up or eventually freezes when toggling RC subtitle key for video with embedded subtitles. (v3.76)
    o MKV files with Dolby True HD 7.1 have no audio output. (v3.76)
    o MKV files with LPCM results in noise or distortion on certain audio channels. (v3.76)

    v3.71.01
    Fixes the following issues:
    o Transparent black bar seen on the bottom of the screen during 3D playback. (3.71.01)
    o Device hang-up when loading 3D discs while it is connected to HDMI TV and HDMI AV receiver.(3.71.01)

    Kindly download the software at www.philips.com/support .

    History
    • 2013-02-22 Upgrade SW to 3.71.01
    • 2013-03-29 Upgrade SW to 3.76
    • 2013-04-29 Upgrade SW to 3.80
    • 2013-06-13 Upgrade SW to 3.85.10
    Forum Mod

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Philips - Tereza For This Useful Post:

    Rin (06-13-2013),Toengel (06-14-2013)

  3. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 9,525, Level: 29
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 425
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    883
    Points
    9,525
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi all,

    This is live already in our support site. If you have some feedback already, kindly post this here.
    I will consolidate and feedback to the team.
    Forum Mod

  4. #3
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,532, Level: 70
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 1,018
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,037
    Points
    51,532
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Tereza View Post
    Improves support of USB3.0 HDD that are USB2.0 backward compatible.
    just to clarify. Does this fix mean: Support of GPT partitions = 3 TB HDDs?

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 9,525, Level: 29
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 425
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    883
    Points
    9,525
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Alex,

    Not really.

    The issue we solved with “USB3.0 HDD” is actually with devices partitioned in GPT instead of the traditional MBR format
    GPT is supported in Win XP 64 bit, Vista, Win7, Win8 and Linux. Regardless of GPT or MBR, the HDD can be formatted as FAT, FAT32, NTFS.

    This partition is not limited to USB3.0 HDD - USB2.0 HDD with GPT is also affected.

    Hope this clarifies. )
    Forum Mod

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Philips - QK For This Useful Post:

    Rin (06-14-2013)

  7. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,038, Level: 8
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 112
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    30
    Points
    1,038
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    hi,
    so,
    Allows selection of DSD Multichannel or DSD Stereo for SACD playback (via setup menu and only for HDMI2 output).

    mean that using analog output will alwais play multichannel part?

    thankyou

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to andrea_sacd For This Useful Post:

    Toengel (06-14-2013)

  9. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,532, Level: 70
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 1,018
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,037
    Points
    51,532
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    at the moment: yes. The selection does not have any influence on the analogue outputs, if you have NOT connected any AVR to HDMI 2.

    I'm not sure, how the BDP reacts, if you have both HDMI-2 and Analogue outputs connected to one AVR at the same time.

    Toengel@Alex

  10. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,416, Level: 10
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 134
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Utrecht/TheNetherlands
    Posts
    41
    Points
    1,416
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Still on V3.80 but will upgrade to V3.85.10 tonight, can hardly wait!

    On the purple/green/stripes image / crashing player issue:

    Up until two weeks ago I used a cheap 2 meter HDMI cable with ferrite rings to connect the BDP9700 to my Panasonic plasma TV. I was having regular "crashed" which somehow seemed related to start-up of the TV and/or the BDP9700. I suspected a HDCP handshake problem. Symptoms where exactly like many users here describe: image went colourful, sometimes with stripes, had to unplug the player to get it back to normal.

    About 2 weeks ago I exchanged that cheap HDMI cable with ferrite rings for an even cheaper 1.8 meter cable without any ferrite. I have not had a single crash since...

    Might be worth investigating the cables? Might also be a coincidence...

  11. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 167, Level: 2
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 83
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    14
    Points
    167
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi to all,

    (1) For SACD DSD stereo or multichannel playback, what happens to the analog 2-ch outputs? If my TV is connected to the composite TV output (ie. no HDMI connections), will they be inactive or will they output downmixed stereo sound?

    (2) Does this player recognize both PCM stereo layer and DSD stereo mix (if it exists) on the DSD layer? Please clarify that "DSD stereo" doesn't mean CD layer.

    KTL
    Last edited by ktl; 06-14-2013 at 05:13 PM.

  12. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,532, Level: 70
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 1,018
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,037
    Points
    51,532
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    2) you can chose between CDDA and SACD layer. Then you can chose between DSD Stereo and DSD Multichannel. However, the latter one only apply for HDMI 2 output.

    Toengel@Alex

  13. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    @Rin
    Great you got it sorted.out. Today its very sensitive for cables ,switches and other things in the signal chain. The small losses directly affects the hdcp and it kinda freaks out the protocoll. I find it though a bit hard to accept. I mean there is seldom cables that are broken. But on the other hand. My old theatcher in digital platform and distrobution said when it comes to digital its not a question about whatherver its right or wrong. Its about how much fault the digital signal gets and how it can be restored.

    So there is always drop outs and errors in a digital signal. You just wanna keep it over the threshold level and you wont notice a thing.
    For ex. Sattelite dish a rainy day and you get pixls in your picture. Then you are just under the threshold level. A sunny day you can be several signal db over. The picture wont get better than over the threshold but you are more on the safer side with better signal.

    Same thing with scrathed cd in your car stereo, the CIRC ( Cross Interleaved Reed Solomon Code) can only restore some scratched, if there is to many you finally get drop outs in the sound.
    Last edited by Stormen; 06-15-2013 at 10:01 AM.

  14. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 167, Level: 2
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 83
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    14
    Points
    167
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks Toengel.

    Instead of passing the DSD or PCM stream to the AV receiver and let it do the D/A conversion, can we configure the onboard D/As what to convert (PCM or DSD stereo)?

    KTL

  15. #12
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,532, Level: 70
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 1,018
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,037
    Points
    51,532
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    just setup the HDMI-AVR output to Bitstream (AVR will decode) or PCM (BDP will decode). Of course, you need to setup your BDP to SACD-Layer and DSD-Stereo.

    Toengel@Alex

  16. #13
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,232, Level: 9
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 118
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    57
    Points
    1,232
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    The purple screen seems to be fixed! Thank you!
    But, when the player is off, the vertical color bars are still there. Should there be video output when the player is turned off?..

    Some of us bying this player have 21:9 (2.35:1) screens with a projector. I would appreciate a 21:9 setting so that menues are displayed correctly. I hope this can be included in the next firmware update!
    The possibility for turning the display completely off would also be nice.

    Have a nice day!

    /Levinas

  17. #14
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    The purple picture on startup is fixed. But i still get purple picture after 5 sec. Like a clock :-) my thread is locked by the moment but I try to get it fixed. I'm also getting good support from philips regarding my sanyo z2 projector that worked great with my 9600

  18. #15
    Moderator
    Points: 9,525, Level: 29
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 425
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    883
    Points
    9,525
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Rin View Post
    Still on V3.80 but will upgrade to V3.85.10 tonight, can hardly wait!

    On the purple/green/stripes image / crashing player issue:

    Up until two weeks ago I used a cheap 2 meter HDMI cable with ferrite rings to connect the BDP9700 to my Panasonic plasma TV. I was having regular "crashed" which somehow seemed related to start-up of the TV and/or the BDP9700. I suspected a HDCP handshake problem. Symptoms where exactly like many users here describe: image went colourful, sometimes with stripes, had to unplug the player to get it back to normal.

    About 2 weeks ago I exchanged that cheap HDMI cable with ferrite rings for an even cheaper 1.8 meter cable without any ferrite. I have not had a single crash since...

    Might be worth investigating the cables? Might also be a coincidence...
    Dear Rin,

    This is a very interesting piece of finding.
    May I have more details about his original cable vs the new cable? Cables should have markings like for example CAT1, CAT2. It would be great if you can take a photo of the markings.

    Kind regards,
    Philips moderation team
    Forum Mod

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. BDP9700 Latest Firmware upgrade (3.80) has been released
    By Philips - QK in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 07-17-2013, 07:48 PM
  2. BDP9700 Latest Firmware upgrade (3.80) has been released
    By Gerhard in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-30-2013, 07:01 AM
  3. BDP9700 Latest Firmware upgrade (3.71.01) has been released
    By Philips - Marcus in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-30-2013, 02:42 AM
  4. BDP9700 Latest Firmware upgrade (3.76) has been released
    By Gerhard in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 04-30-2013, 02:42 AM
  5. MBD3000 Latest Firmware upgrade V1.07 has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Blu-ray: General and Others (MBD/PB Series)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-02-2012, 08:54 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •