Results 1 to 6 of 6
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 55, Level: 1
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 95
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    55
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    WACS700 CD player failure

    Error message 'can't read CD'.

    Is there a way of sorting this myself or can anyone tell me where i can get it fixed and how much it might cost.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 822, Level: 7
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points
    William Wallace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    160
    Points
    822
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Hi Rosieloumid,

    Try unplugging the power cable for 20 seconds and then plugging it again.

    If this doesn't work, do you have the latest firmware version? To check which version you have:
    Turn on your WAC700 Center
    Press MENU
    Press to select 'Information'. Press OK
    The display shows the FW (firmware) version number
    Upgrading is necessary if the FW version is an earlier one than 1.2.10.

    Try playing the CD again and let me know if anything changed!

    Cheers,
    WW

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 55, Level: 1
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 95
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    55
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Tried the power cable trick but didn't work.

    Also tried upgrading firmware but I am mac based and that didn't work.

    Borrowed a pc laptop to do firmware bu when loaded CD to do upgrade got he same message that couldn't read CD so firmware didn't get upgraded.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 55, Level: 1
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 95
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    55
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Have now managed to upgrade firmware via ethernet direct to centre and then automatically to stations.
    Still won't read CDs.
    Also now notice that when try to check firmware under menu/information get a message that this option is unavailable.

    Does this mean the CD drive needs replacing?

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 10,193, Level: 30
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 357
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,193
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear rosieloumid,

    Please contact your local service centre for help on this issue.
    We think it's hardware issue.

    Sorry cannot help you further.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  6. #6
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,840, Level: 17
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    317
    Points
    3,840
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi !

    You can also rip CD's on your PC and upload the tracks to your WAC, thus no need for the built-in CD.
    Either use the WADM software (the second link called "Device/Firmware Manager) from Philips or my WACHandler (built-in CD-ripping) to do this.

    Cheers !

Similar Topics

  1. dynamic backlight failure
    By kysy in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-09-2013, 06:37 PM
  2. wacs700 and mac osx itunes
    By thewall in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-20-2012, 11:55 AM
  3. 32PFL5606S/98 twice black out/ power failure!
    By scaniaman901 in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-12-2012, 09:27 AM
  4. HTS3541/05 update failure
    By ben36 in forum Sound: Immersive Sound (5.1 system)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-27-2012, 12:42 PM
  5. network connection failure
    By marvs in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-19-2012, 03:31 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •