Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 30, Level: 1
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    30
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Audio Issue with Bluray and other HD movies on Philips 39PFL4208

    Hey,

    I got a new Philips 39PFL4208 and I tried watching movies on it from USB and local area network but it doesn't play sound with lots of Bluray movies. All these movies when I play on my Laptop, works pretty fine. Is there any limited support for audio in Philips smart TV ? My software is upgraded to the latest one.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 30, Level: 1
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    30
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Additional note: Not just bluray but the issues exist with some other HD movies as well.

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,194, Level: 9
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 156
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    France
    Posts
    66
    Points
    1,194
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Hi,

    The most likely explanation is the lack of DTS audio support on your TV (BR disc and many HD movies use DTS for audio Stream).
    You can have a look here for more details :
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...8613#post58613

    Regards.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 30, Level: 1
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    30
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for your reply. I researched this issue a bit and it seems the reason. Now I also saw that Philips is not planning to support DTS in below 7x series. Disappointed with it.

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,194, Level: 9
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 156
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    France
    Posts
    66
    Points
    1,194
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    You're welcome.

    Quit a lot of disapointment according to me.
    I would have hope a better support from Philips, but i don't give up...

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,484, Level: 70
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 41.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,061
    Points
    52,484
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    just buy a Blu-ray player with USB and LAN (DLNA) - then you won't have this problem anymore, cause the BDP (if connected via HDMI to TV) recognise the lack of DTS and will downsample to 2.0. Or you buy a home media player (such as HMP7100), which is doing the same.

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 30, Level: 1
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    30
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    If I need so many extra devices then there is no point of investing so much in a smart TV. Samsung easily provide support for DTS and other audio/video formats. I tried a couple of HD movies on my TV and in most cases, either audio or video is not supported. Its flash in webbrower doesn't work. I thought Philips would come up with something good but as usual not impressed.

    The plus point is that my TV is in trail period so I can return it because I'm not at all happy with the current status of this smart TV.

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,194, Level: 9
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 156
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    France
    Posts
    66
    Points
    1,194
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    just buy a Blu-ray player with USB and LAN (DLNA) - then you won't have this problem anymore, cause the BDP (if connected via HDMI to TV) recognise the lack of DTS and will downsample to 2.0. Or you buy a home media player (such as HMP7100), which is doing the same.

    Toengel@Alex
    Hi Toengel,

    I could not help asking you : are you acting as Philips employee or just fervent admirer of Philips brand ?

  9. #9
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,194, Level: 9
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 156
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    France
    Posts
    66
    Points
    1,194
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Shoaib View Post
    If I need so many extra devices then there is no point of investing so much in a smart TV. Samsung easily provide support for DTS and other audio/video formats...
    +1 ...

  10. #10
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,484, Level: 70
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 41.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,061
    Points
    52,484
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    from an objective point of view: a TV don't need to support DTS, cause there isn't ANY broadcaster which uses DTS as audio format.

    However, I also like to have DTS support. But, the 4208 series is entry level... so you won't have all features of the higher series.

    And Adobe has stopped to develop Flash for TVs.

    Toengel@Alex

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 30, Level: 1
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    30
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    When you call a TV smart, then it should contain these basic features.

    Regarding your comment about Adobe has stopped to develop Flash for TV ? Can you share the source of this news ?

  12. #12
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,484, Level: 70
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 41.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,061
    Points
    52,484
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

  13. #13
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,664, Level: 14
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    57
    Points
    2,664
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    also higher end models do not support DTS.
    using mediaplayer is then easiest solution, for example AC Ryan but there are also other brands.

    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    from an objective point of view: a TV don't need to support DTS, cause there isn't ANY broadcaster which uses DTS as audio format.

    However, I also like to have DTS support. But, the 4208 series is entry level... so you won't have all features of the higher series.

    And Adobe has stopped to develop Flash for TVs.

    Toengel@Alex

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 71, Level: 1
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 79
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    6
    Points
    71
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    +1 for DTS support. Please Philips

  15. #15
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,484, Level: 70
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 41.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,061
    Points
    52,484
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    Quote Originally Posted by hansje View Post
    also higher end models do not support DTS.
    High-End of 2013 will support DTS...

    Toengel@Alex

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Issue during mkv or avi movies from USB on 32PFL3017H/12
    By gio in forum TV: Software 2012 models
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-18-2012, 05:10 PM
  2. BDP2800 HDMI audio issue
    By reesje in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-28-2012, 08:50 PM
  3. SACD on BluRay philips
    By Manuel in forum Blu-ray: General and Others (MBD/PB Series)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-02-2012, 08:59 AM
  4. 32pfl4606 channel default audio setting issue
    By panamea in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-09-2012, 11:40 AM
  5. Philips engineers, please reply!!! Audio issue
    By max.sensi in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-09-2011, 04:11 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •