Results 1 to 12 of 12
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 602, Level: 6
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 148
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    13
    Points
    602
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy Does a simple VGA to HDMI cable works?

    My 40PFL5007 tv has recently been replaced by a 42PFL5008 because of a repeated vertical line problem.My older tv had a VGA in but the new one doesnt.I used to use my tv as a monitor and now I dont know what to do.I'm missing connectivity options of my 5007!
    My question is;
    does a simple inexpensive VGA to HDMI cable transmit visual data from my VGA only netbook to my tv or do I need something like a more expensive converter box?In the user manual the picture shows a simple cable connecting pc to tv but it is said in internet that such a simple cable cannot transmit analog data to a digital input so I need a definite answer before I invest money on a cable/converter.I plan to use my same sound cable as before for the sound.
    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 942, Level: 7
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 8
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Tagger Second Class500 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    42
    Points
    942
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    You will not have any problem with the Vga To HDMI adapter. It will work fine. But it will transmit only visual! For audio you will have to conect an extra cable like pin or rca or optical...whatever is available ffor audio....
    I have done it my self and it worked perfect.

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 602, Level: 6
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 148
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    13
    Points
    602
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Alexandros_Kall View Post
    You will not have any problem with the Vga To HDMI adapter. It will work fine. But it will transmit only visual! For audio you will have to conect an extra cable like pin or rca or optical...whatever is available ffor audio....
    I have done it my self and it worked perfect.
    Thank you Alexandros as Vga To HDMI adapter I understand a simple cable with one end VGA the other HDMI,no converter circuit box between am I right?like this one:Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cableindex.jpeg 
Views:	24 
Size:	5.5 KB 
ID:	2042

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 942, Level: 7
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 8
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Tagger Second Class500 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    42
    Points
    942
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes like this or just an adapter without the cable...its the same...no other electronics nedded (box) or convertor. just this cable and another one for sound.

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 602, Level: 6
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 148
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    13
    Points
    602
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Alexandros_Kall View Post
    Yes like this or just an adapter without the cable...its the same...no other electronics nedded (box) or convertor. just this cable and another one for sound.
    Thank you very much Alexandros,I'll try the cable!

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 602, Level: 6
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 148
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    13
    Points
    602
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HDMI-TO-VGA-Kablo-Cevirici-Converter-Altin-Uc__88520587_0.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	65.8 KB 
ID:	2063
    Quote Originally Posted by Alexandros_Kall View Post
    Yes like this or just an adapter without the cable...its the same...no other electronics nedded (box) or convertor. just this cable and another one for sound.
    I've been trying the cable below but to no effect.TV says "no signal" whatever I did to the settings.Any advice regarding the setkings on both tv and the netbook?

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 942, Level: 7
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 8
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Tagger Second Class500 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    42
    Points
    942
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    At first you must verify that the netbook sends signal to the port. is there an FN key to do tis or via the graphics card setup menu?

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 602, Level: 6
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 148
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    13
    Points
    602
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I adjusted the graphics card setup to send signal to an external monitor,this makes the netbook screen goes black but still no signal on the tv and unless I remove the vga from the netbook the screen image wouldn't come back,does this mean the netbook sends signal to the hdmi port?

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 942, Level: 7
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 8
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Tagger Second Class500 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    42
    Points
    942
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    So if you re sure for the settings maybe the cables electronic circuit doesnt work properly or is fake cable. I have seen fakes out there...also some cables like this doesnt work with pci express cards but only with on boards...have you checked the specs? Also some cables have to plug in a 5 volt power supply to send the signal throu the vga port.
    also maybe your hdmi cable is not suitable....have you tried another 1.3 combatible version to be sure?

    Look this adapter...
    http://www.gefone.com/articles/Gefon...-Audio_11.html

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 602, Level: 6
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 148
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    13
    Points
    602
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I'm afraid my new tv doesn't support VGA connection from a pc,
    http://download.p4c.philips.com/file...12_dfu_tur.pdf

    Can I have an official response from a Philips guy?

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Points: 72,930, Level: 83
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 220
    Overall activity: 69.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    841
    Points
    72,930
    Level
    83
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by tali View Post
    ...Can I have an official response from a Philips guy?
    Hi Tali,

    You will need (as Alexandros indicated) a special converter cable (with electronics, so not a 1:1 cable) like the picture you enclosed. If that does not work, it is probably related to the cable.. (fake?).

    See description of an example cable":HDMI Converter (VGA/YPbPr to HDMI): - Converts the old analogue signal to the new High Definition standard digital signal (HDMI) - Supports two input signals, YPbPr (YCbCr) and VGA (RGBHV) - Compatible with PS2, PS3, Original Xbox consoles, Wii, Xbox 360, PSP Slim and more - Compatible with any component (YPbPr) signal (i.e.: DVD Player, DVB, Cable box, Satellite receiver, etc) - Converts VGA signal and AUDIO signal to HDMI signal - Converts YPbPr signal and AUDIO signal to HDMI signal - etc...

    Let me emphasise that I have no experiences with these converters. Maybe one of the other readers?

    Other possibility: does your PC have a DVI output? Then you can use a 1:1 DVI-to-HDMI cable (and separate audio) as mentioned in the user manual.


    Regards,
    JuAn
    Forum Mod

  12. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 602, Level: 6
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 148
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    13
    Points
    602
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    Hi Tali,

    You will need (as Alexandros indicated) a special converter cable (with electronics, so not a 1:1 cable) like the picture you enclosed. If that does not work, it is probably related to the cable.. (fake?).

    See description of an example cable":HDMI Converter (VGA/YPbPr to HDMI): - Converts the old analogue signal to the new High Definition standard digital signal (HDMI) - Supports two input signals, YPbPr (YCbCr) and VGA (RGBHV) - Compatible with PS2, PS3, Original Xbox consoles, Wii, Xbox 360, PSP Slim and more - Compatible with any component (YPbPr) signal (i.e.: DVD Player, DVB, Cable box, Satellite receiver, etc) - Converts VGA signal and AUDIO signal to HDMI signal - Converts YPbPr signal and AUDIO signal to HDMI signal - etc...

    Let me emphasise that I have no experiences with these converters. Maybe one of the other readers?

    Other possibility: does your PC have a DVI output? Then you can use a 1:1 DVI-to-HDMI cable (and separate audio) as mentioned in the user manual.


    Regards,
    JuAn
    Thank you for your reply,My netboook doesn't have a DVI out otherwise there wouldn't be any problem.
    Not sure if the cable I tried had electronics inside.There are much more expensive converters with electronics inside probably they are my only choice.Like this one:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	88627322_tn50_0.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	36.1 KB 
ID:	2067 .
    Thank you.
    Last edited by tali; 07-10-2013 at 07:37 AM.

Similar Topics

  1. No sound through HDMI-cable
    By Makzord in forum Sound: Other Models
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-13-2013, 03:30 PM
  2. HDMI ARC no longer works on HTS5120/12
    By Niffy in forum Sound: Mini/Micro Audio System Product Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-14-2012, 10:07 PM
  3. No Sound with DVI/HDMI & RCA-Y Cable
    By lippmannd in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-10-2012, 03:15 PM
  4. HDMI cable
    By Houppertz in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-16-2012, 11:34 PM
  5. HDMI Cable
    By lsantacana in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-20-2012, 12:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •