Results 1 to 3 of 3
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 151, Level: 2
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 99
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    6
    Points
    151
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question Possible to use remote keyboard with HTPC?

    Hello:

    I'd like to know if it's possible to use the remote on my 47PFL7108 as a remote mouse/keyboard for my HTPC (it's actually a laptop, but it has BLuetooth, WiFi and spare USB ports to connect an IR or some other sort of receiver). I've seen other very similar generic remotes using bluetooth that can be used as keyboards and even as a mouse pointer, in a manner of use not unlike a Wiimote. If not, that'd be a great addition for a software update!

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 10,748, Level: 31
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 502
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive3 months registered10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,386
    Points
    10,748
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 65 Times in 52 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by CarlosBricio View Post
    Hello:

    I'd like to know if it's possible to use the remote on my 47PFL7108 as a remote mouse/keyboard for my HTPC (it's actually a laptop, but it has BLuetooth, WiFi and spare USB ports to connect an IR or some other sort of receiver). I've seen other very similar generic remotes using bluetooth that can be used as keyboards and even as a mouse pointer, in a manner of use not unlike a Wiimote. If not, that'd be a great addition for a software update!

    Hi CarlosBricio,

    The remote control for your TV operates on radio frequences, unlike the Wiimote which works with Bluetooth technology.

    Your TV remote will not be directly compatible with your HTPC (with or without additional hardware) for this reason. This is also not possible to enable with a software update.

    However, is your HTPC connected to the TV via HDMI and does it support HDMI-CEC?
    If yes, then you should be able to use basic remote control functions with the EasyLink function on the TV:
    Home > [Setup] > [TV settings] > EasyLink

    Best regards,
    Ina

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 151, Level: 2
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 99
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    6
    Points
    151
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thank you for your exhaustive answer, Ina, great support!

Similar Topics

  1. What keyboard do you use?
    By Philips - Mark in forum Smart TV: User Interface
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-08-2012, 07:28 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-29-2011, 08:44 AM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-21-2011, 10:30 AM
  4. 42PFL7666K/02 IR-Remote Code InputSat not working (Harmony remote)
    By Peter Walker in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-20-2011, 04:47 PM
  5. My Remote App shuts down when trying to use the "keyboard" feature
    By ch_harald in forum Apps: MyRemote App for Apple
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-09-2011, 09:08 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •