Results 1 to 13 of 13
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Moderator
    Points: 16,127, Level: 38
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 323
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,935
    Points
    16,127
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 98 Times in 82 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Thumbs up Experience thread - FW 0.99.0.0 (v0.99) - for 4xx7 and 5xx7 series - 2012

    Hi all,

    INFO:
    The new FW is live. For technical feedback (pos. and neg. points) please post here: http://bit.ly/1252j3B
    This thread is more for details and discussions.
    This FW is applicable to EU models only.

    IMPORTANT:
    1. After upgrading your TV, it is necessary to perform a "cold start". This means that, after the TV is running again (after the update), shut down the TV, wait 1 minute (till all components are shut down), and unplug the TV from the mains (pull power cord) for 2 minutes before starting again.

    2. If your TV menu language is selected as Portuguese, follow the instructions below:
    • After you have inserted the USB flash drive to the TV, please wait for 30 seconds. The software upgrade starts automatically.
    • If the software upgrade does not start automatically, disconnect the power cable from the power outlet. Do not remove your USB flash drive. Wait for one minute then reconnect the power cable, the software upgrade starts automatically.

    3. You are highly recommended to update your TV with the Standby software version 99.0.0.0. You may download the Standby software from the FAQ “What should I do when my TV turns on and off by itself and/or does not respond to the remote control?” (go to support page http://www.support.philips.com/suppo...g_selector.jsp, select country/language, search for your model number, go to FAQ's and search for this FAQ).

    CHANGELOG:
    Each release contains all solutions identified in the earlier version. The latest software solves the issues below:

    Q554E/Q554M_0.99.0.0 (Date published: 2013-07-02)

    • Improvement on Ukrainian string in Smart TV.
    • Changed symbol in the Home screen for SimplyShare.
    • Improved behavior for Videoluc in Spain.
    • Improved behavior during preset change ( Unwanted change to smart TV).
    • Improved behavior for Microsoft HTTP Live Streaming HLS playlist.
    • Future improvement ECD signon.


    Q554E_0.97.0.0
    (Date published: 2013-04-08)
    • Updated predefined channel list of Sky in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. Black screen when switching from analog channel to SCART.
    • Intermittently losing picture and sound.
    • Audio, picture and/or signal dropouts when watching TV via a Freebox set-top box connected via HDMI.
    • Video and audio loss via HDMI connection with UPC Horizon set-top box.
    • TV turns off and on by itself.
    • TV does not response to remote control.


    Q554E_0.96.0.0 (Date published: 2012-12-18)
    • TV tunes to the wrong channel when you select the channel in EPG.
    • TV keeps turn off and on by itself after you perform the first time installation.
    • TV hangs after wake up from standby.
    • Unable to play video using BBC iPlayer.
    • Unable to play MP4 files.
    • TV turns off and on by itself when EasyLink is enabled.
    • Clock displays the wrong time. (Only applicable to country, Slovakia)
    • Channel Ned1 is not stored during analog channel installation. (Only applicable to country, Netherlands)


    Q554E_0.93.0.0
    (Date published: 2012-10-16)
    • HbbTV application is not working. (Only applicable to country, Czech Republic)
    • HTTP Live Streaming is not working.
    • Wrong characters shown in EPG for Slovak language.
    • Improved BBC iPlayer’s functionality and performance.


    Q554E_0.92.0.0 (Date published: 2012-09-25)
    • Picture is distorted when you switch from HDMI 3D content to analog channels.
    • Subtitle is shown in strange colours.
    • Analog services are not available in channel grid.


    Q554E_0.91.0.0 (Date published: 2012-08-16)
    • E-Sticker update for 26PFL4007 models.
    • Unable to play rented movies from online video store.
    • Half of the picture is cut-off when you switch from 3D content to analogue channel.
    • TV has slow response to play the files from USB or PC through SimplyShare.


    Q554E_0.90.0.0 (Date published: 2012-07-30)
    • TV keeps rebooting by itself.
    • TV keeps restarting itself when streaming from Videociety. (Only applicable to country, Germany)
    • Subtitle menu cannot be opened anymore and P+/P- do not work anymore after you switch between channels with HbbTV application switched on.
    • Missing satellite channels. (Only applicable to country, Germany)
    • TV reboots by itself when you switch it on from standby when Portuguese is selected as menu language.
    • Unable to perform software upgrade when Portuguese is selected as menu language.


    Q554E_0.89.0.0 (Date published: 2012-07-09)
    • White dots appear onscreen while watching 3D movie from USB. (Only applicable to 3D models)
    • Picture is corrupted when you watch a video in [2D to 3D conversion] mode. (Only applicable to 3D models)


    Q554E_0.88.0.0 (Date published: 2012-07-02)
    • Unable to view all your favourite channels in the favourite list.
    • No DVB-C channel is being installed on ZIGGO network. (Only applicable to country, Netherlands)
    • Missing satellite channels. (Only applicable to country, Germany)
    • Added an option to disable the deletion of channels in background install. (Only applicable to Kmodels)


    Q554E_0.87.0.0 (Date published: 2012-06-21)
    • TV switches to standby by itself after power on for few minutes.
    • TV turns off and on by itself while watching satellite channels. (Only applicable to K-models)
    • “The video format is not supported” message appears onscreen via HDMI connection.
    • TV has no sound when you play a video from Smart TV applications.
    • Intermittent picture freeze and sound loss during TV programme recording playback.
    • Picture is stretched and distorted when you watch a video in [Auto zoom] picture format.
    • Subtitle is not synchronized with the video.
    • Subtitle menu cannot be opened anymore and P+/P- do not work anymore after you switch between channels with HbbTV application switched on.
    • Flickering lines appear after you select [2D to 3D conversion]. (Only applicable to 5000 series)
    • Picture remains in 2D mode although [2D to 3D conversion] is selected. (Only applicable to 5000 series)


    Q554E_0.79.4.0 (Date published: 2012-06-13)
    • Improved sound performance for HDMI connection.
    • E-sticker update for 37PFL4017K/12 and 42PFL4317K/12.
    • “No access” message appears when you watch a pay channel.
    • TV hang-up during DVB-C channel installation.


    Q554E_0.79.2.0 (Date published: 2012-04-04)
    • Onscreen [Help] content update.
    • Improvement on German OSD translation.
    • Black screen with no sound from scrambled digital TV channels with CAM inserted. (Only applicable to country, Norway)
    • TV turns off and on by itself when you play web radio in HbbTV application.


    Q554E_0.79.1.0 (Date published: 2012-03-14)
    • Unable to switch channel with CAM inserted. (Only applicable to country, France)
    • No picture but sound is available while watching a HD channel. (Only applicable to country, Norway)
    • Improvement on the subtitle performance. (Only applicable to country, Norway)
    • Not possible to perform automatic sorting of satellite channels. (Only applicable to K-models)
    • Incorrect channel list display in the favourite list. (Only applicable to country, Netherlands)


    Q554E_0.74.1.0 (Date published: 2012-02-28)
    • Initial production software.



    Kind regards,
    Ina
    Last edited by Philips - Ina; 07-08-2013 at 12:20 PM. Reason: Added Changelog

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 16,127, Level: 38
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 323
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,935
    Points
    16,127
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 98 Times in 82 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Changelog added above.

    Best regards,
    Ina

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Angry

    Hello,

    can you please consider enabling option "software language" (in OPTIONS menu) in the next firmware update on 5K series? I just bought 40PFL5007/12 and the main reason was awesome picture quality with Divx/MKV support and SRT subtitles availability. And now, when I want to play some movie with Czech subtitles, I'm screwed - because charset Windows-1250 is not supported. Well it is, but you can select it through OPTIONS button only from 6XXX series and above! I think that Philips is misleading the customers and this behavior is punishable by law.

    P.S: I'm not a flamer, please just search phrase "subtitle encoding" here on Philips forum and you will see that there are many others (from Poland or Greece) with the same problem like me. Thank you.
    Last edited by Ankroth; 07-22-2013 at 08:31 PM. Reason: Some typos.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 902, Level: 7
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 48
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!500 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    12
    Points
    902
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    One more time the same REASONABLE request !!!!!

    Enable option "software language" and character set Windows-1250 for subtitles in Greek, Polish etc.

    So easy for you !
    So simple !
    So reasonable !
    Enabled from the beginning by most of your competitors !

    and you still insist not to satisfy all those customers from so many countries asking for the same (reasonable and easy) option ?????????

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 16,127, Level: 38
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 323
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,935
    Points
    16,127
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 98 Times in 82 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Smbd,

    Thank you for your feedback!

    - sometimes commands are not executed or are very slow and you have to press the same button n-times before the command is accepted by the television (I have already installed the software version 99.0.0.0 Standby on my TV)
    Have you tried resetting and re-pairing your remote? Take out the batteries and press the front of the remote down onto a tabletop for 4-5 seconds. Reinsert batteries and re-pair the remote to the TV.

    - mistranslation of "AROUND" in Italian EPG guide: instead of "INTORNO" should be translated with "ATTUALE" or "IN ONDA"
    This has now been forwarded on to development.

    - in the EPG guide (entering with the INFO key) you can not change the channel by highlighting the program and pressing OK
    It is not possible to change channels or access the EPG via the Info interface. This feature only displays the program information. To change channels please use the EPG: Home > Programme Guide.
    See page 16 on the user manual:
    http://download.p4c.philips.com/file...08_dfu_eng.pdf

    - the SCREENDREAM application in SmartTV doesn't work
    ScreenDream are aware of this and are working to resolve it.

    - Smart TV : impossible to register online on the TV itself. The process ask to follow the instructions in the email received and to finish the registration online on the TV itself but it does not work : SmartTV systematicaly says something is missing in the process and proposes to do it later. (for completeness, I add that I've registered the product from PC, but if I go into Smart TV it tells me that the product still requires registration)
    When you receive the email and click on the link, please try to select the option "Register anyway" instead of "OK" on teh first page for registration.

    Best regards,
    Ina

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 320, Level: 3
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2
    Points
    320
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello

    TV Model: 42PFL4007H
    Previous Firmware: 00.97

    Positive:
    +
    +
    +


    Negative:
    - On my previous LG's TV, I coul synchronize subtitles
    Is it possible to add an option to do this ?

    - And on the same TV, I could also have informations on the channel I was watching :
    I mean 480, 720, 1080i ...
    Is it possible to have same kind of informations on philips TV please ?

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,184, Level: 9
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 166
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered
    smdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    26
    Points
    1,184
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    thanks for the answers, I just want some clarification of those under:

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    Have you tried resetting and re-pairing your remote? Take out the batteries and press the front of the remote down onto a tabletop for 4-5 seconds. Reinsert batteries and re-pair the remote to the TV.
    Pairing? are you sure? In my TV (5507) the remote control isn't RF (radio frequency) communication, but it's IR (infrared)

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    When you receive the email and click on the link, please try to select the option "Register anyway" instead of "OK" on teh first page for registration.
    Yes, I tried it and now the product appears registered (accessing by PC via web) but if I go into Smart TV the message on the screen invite me to register the product. This misunderstanding preclude me something in the use of internet TV? I may not have access to specific applications or anything else?

    sorry for my post in this thread move it in another place if you want

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 1,363, Level: 10
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 187
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points
    lucio.mignone@tin.it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    5
    Points
    1,363
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Also with this version of firmware do not use wifi, it connects and disconnects constantly,
    the video quality seems much worse ...
    the sound is much worse

    more and more disappointed by philips ...

    I would love to be able to downgrade to the original firmware(factory firmware)... with that the wifi was decent, good quality video and sound acceptable ...
    unfortunately I do not know how to do dowgrade!

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 16,127, Level: 38
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 323
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,935
    Points
    16,127
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 98 Times in 82 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by smdb View Post
    thanks for the answers, I just want some clarification of those under:

    Pairing? are you sure? In my TV (5507) the remote control isn't RF (radio frequency) communication, but it's IR (infrared)
    No, you are perfectly right, that was a mistake on my side. My apologies!
    You can still try to reset the remote however.

    Yes, I tried it and now the product appears registered (accessing by PC via web) but if I go into Smart TV the message on the screen invite me to register the product. This misunderstanding preclude me something in the use of internet TV? I may not have access to specific applications or anything else?
    Registering for Club Philips does not give additional access or reduced experience in Smart TV. It is completely up to each individual to decide if they wish to register their product. If you chose not to register, you will not be penalised.

    sorry for my post in this thread move it in another place if you want
    I have moved the posts to the Experience thread

    Best regards,
    Ina

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,184, Level: 9
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 166
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered
    smdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    26
    Points
    1,184
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    No, you are perfectly right, that was a mistake on my side. My apologies!
    You can still try to reset the remote however.

    Could you tell me how to reset my remote control (it's original remote, not an universal) because I'm not able to find this procedure in the user manual.
    thanks in advance

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Points: 16,127, Level: 38
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 323
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,935
    Points
    16,127
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 98 Times in 82 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by smdb View Post
    Could you tell me how to reset my remote control (it's original remote, not an universal) because I'm not able to find this procedure in the user manual.
    thanks in advance

    Hi Smdb,

    You would reset it just the same way:

    Take out the batteries and press the front of the remote down onto a tabletop for 4-5 seconds. Reinsert batteries.

    Best regards,
    Ina

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Philips - Ina For This Useful Post:

    smdb (08-13-2013)

  13. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,184, Level: 9
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 166
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered
    smdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    26
    Points
    1,184
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I'm trying your procedure to reset the remote and it seems that at now it works.
    many thaks Ina!

    Now the TV responds quickly to commands from remote control.
    But I observe the same behavior (such as before the reset) by turning-on the TV, it is slow to pick up the remote control signals (this phase takes about 10-15 seconds) .... then everything works ok.

  14. #13
    Moderator
    Points: 16,127, Level: 38
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 323
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,935
    Points
    16,127
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 98 Times in 82 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Lightbulb The new FW is now live

    This thread is now closed.
    For feedback on the new FW please use the following threads:

    Experience thread:
    http://philips.to/1ew8qoZ

    Technical Feedback thread:
    http://philips.to/1ew8mFM

Similar Topics

  1. Technical feedback - FW 0.97.0.0 (v0.97) - for 4xx7 and 5xx7 series - 2012
    By Philips in forum TV: Software 2012 models (feedback template)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-04-2013, 12:21 PM
  2. Replies: 35
    Last Post: 07-04-2013, 12:19 PM
  3. Experience thread - FW v96.0 - for 4xx7 and 5xx7 series - 2012
    By Philips - Benedickte in forum TV: Software 2012 models
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 04-12-2013, 10:14 AM
  4. Your experiences with FW v0.92.0 for 4xx7 and 5xx7 series (2012 models)
    By Philips - Rafe in forum TV: Software 2012 models
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 10-16-2012, 05:45 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-04-2012, 10:56 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •