Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,544, Level: 10
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 6
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    32
    Points
    1,544
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question 0-10 how you rate your DLNA / streaming experience?

    Read quite a lot of streaming issues within the blue ray forum. If u have to rate the DLNA experience, how you gonna rate that?

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,160, Level: 70
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 1,390
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,031
    Points
    51,160
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    when you rate, please state your DLNA server software which you are using. DLNA experience depends often on the used DLNA server software.

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Is 0 good or bad?

    In general, DLNA is working on my side. But there are some items which could be better. Showing cover images and tags.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,414, Level: 10
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    12
    Points
    1,414
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok I will rate it a 6. It works however not all the files are shown when using DLNA.

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,919, Level: 15
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 131
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    49
    Points
    2,919
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    For MKVs and most other formats it works OK with my BDP8000. I cannot change chapter or jumt to time but ff/rw works (albeit only up to 4x).
    For .avi it plays but freezes every now and then. That does not happen with my older Netgear media player.

    I have no complaints about music, photos and film format support, only the DLNA implentation of .avi, that could be a lot better. The unit plays .avi perfectly when I use a USB HDD, so it is not a matter of encoder/file problems.

    My NAS runs TwonkyMedia Server, but I do not remember what version. It is DLNA 1.5 certified, but that really says nothing as such a certificate does not state for exactly what formats it can handle (same goes for the BDP/NetTV range).

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,273, Level: 16
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 177
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Hilvarenbeek / Netherlands
    Posts
    61
    Points
    3,273
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    BDP 5180

    I would rate it 5 out of 10

    I'm trying to get rid of hard drives lying around. So working with a lacie networkspace2 NAS with twonky server.
    + image quality
    + FF and sometimes RW
    - No resume / jump time
    - FF too slow, need it a lot because of the lack of resume
    - sometimes a video hangs every minute for +/- 5 seconds (when using the player from my tv it doesn''t happen)

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,343, Level: 9
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    28
    Points
    1,343
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    BDP5180/12

    Streaming from a IOMEGA Home Media Network Drive Cloud Edition with Twonky v5: rate 2 ot of 10
    -due to too slow FF/RW (only 4x)
    -no chapters in MKV supported
    -no time-search supported
    -no Vobsubs in MKVs supported, only SRT
    -bad support for SRT-formatting (italic/bold)
    -constant freezes when streaming MKVs and AVIs (XVID/DIVX)
    -supports interlaced MKVs - ok

    Streaming from my PC via TVERSITY: rate 5 out of 10
    -due to constant freezes when streaming MKVs and AVIs (XVID/DIVX)
    -no Vobsubs in MKVs supported, only SRT
    -bad support for SRT-formatting (italic/bold)
    - FF/RW with 32x - ok
    -chapters support - ok
    -time-search - ok
    -supports interlaced MKVs - ok

    The freezes are no network-issue since I've no freezes when I stream to my Philips TV. Sadly the TV does not support SRT-subtitles or FF/RW in any way.

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,148, Level: 8
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    33
    Points
    1,148
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs down MKV's not found

    Streaming goes well, besides ... files.mkv don't show in the video nor in the folder list.
    Using Windows Mediastreamer for Windows7 and BDP5180.

    Until it is fixed with an update I rate the streaming capabillities with a 6.

  9. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    Hi again Zwartij,

    So basically you mean the mkv files cannot be streamed?

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,148, Level: 8
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    33
    Points
    1,148
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kwinnie View Post
    Hi again Zwartij,

    So basically you mean the mkv files cannot be streamed?
    Yepp. They are invisible on my home network (so I can't stream ). From USB they work perfectly. SW v1.50 and (my hope!) upgraded to v1.54 gave the same result. Friend of my with a Synology NAS tried to stream my example .mkv at his home with the same bdp5180/12 SWv1.50. There it showed progress on the bdp display, but the screen stayed tuned on blue screen, showing nothing.

  11. #11
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,273, Level: 16
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 177
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Hilvarenbeek / Netherlands
    Posts
    61
    Points
    3,273
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    @zwartij: last week I tried to stream MKV from my notebook with WMP11. On my bdp8150 I got empty folders. My TV (pfl8605) showed files with crosses.

    When I stream the same from my NAS (twonkyserver 4 (or 5... can't remember which one..)) it works on both my br player and TV.

    So I googled, and found the following:
    http://www.networkedmediatank.com/sh...d.php?tid=2473

    it seems WMP doesn't stream MKV, indepedent of the codecs you have installed on your machine.

  12. #12
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    Dear zwartij & rollufje,

    Just a bit of re-cap, if i remember correctly zwartji you are using bdp3200 and then your friend has a bdp5180, and rollufje, you have a bdp8150 (which in Philips website I cannot quite find this product.)

    So what I think is similar to that of rollufje, it is the MKV cannot be decoded using WMP/ Windows mediastreamer in your PC. And through streaming, the player won't process the files, unlike using USB. That's why it cannot be played... Guess we'll have to find some suitable streamer...

  13. #13
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    With regard to my previous post, hence I don't think it's because the Philips devices are faulty, it's more on the software we used.

    This is what I have googled: http://www.ehow.com/how_6727626_stream-mkv-files.html

    Shall we try?

  14. #14
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,273, Level: 16
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 177
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Hilvarenbeek / Netherlands
    Posts
    61
    Points
    3,273
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Sorry, that was a type-o. I meant the 5180...

  15. #15
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,273, Level: 16
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 177
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Hilvarenbeek / Netherlands
    Posts
    61
    Points
    3,273
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by kwinnie View Post
    With regard to my previous post, hence I don't think it's because the Philips devices are faulty, it's more on the software we used.

    This is what I have googled: http://www.ehow.com/how_6727626_stream-mkv-files.html

    Shall we try?
    I read the how-to, it looks to me this doesn't cover streaming through DLNA. only opening a file (locally or through network).

    The following is quite clear:
    http://homehdmediaplayer.com/?p=332

    So the options are (feel free to join in...):
    1. use another DLNA source
    2. recode everything to an DLNA accepted format

    My laCie networkspace2 does the job by the way
    On my BDP5180 with slow forwarding, no RW and no skipping in time and freezes of 30 seconds...
    On my TV pfl8605 no freezes, but also no FF / RW and no skipping in time...

    So when you got MKV working I'm not sure you'll be satisfied with the result....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •