Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 69
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Moderator
    Points: 19,523, Level: 42
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 327
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,177
    Points
    19,523
    Level
    42
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 105 Times in 89 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Thumbs up Experience thread - FW v000.171.051.000 (171.51) - for 8xx8 Series - 2013

    Hi,

    The new FW is live. For technical feedback (pos. and neg. points) please post here:
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...x8-series-2013

    This thread is more for details and discussions.
    This FW is applicable to EU models only.

    IMPORTANT: After upgrading your TV, it is necessary to perform a "cold start". This means that, after the TV is running again (after the update), shut down the TV, wait 1 minute (till all components are shut down), and unplug the TV from the mains (pull power cord) for 2 minutes before starting again.

    Important:
    It will not be possible to downgrade to a previous software version (64.xx) after updating to version 171.51.


    Changelog:

    QF2EU_0.171.51.0 (Date published: 2013-07-11)

    • Solution to use Netflix.
    • Solution regarding installation issue in Switzerland.
    • Solution regarding MHP application.


    QF2EU_0.171.49.0 (Date published: 2013-07-05)

    • Enabling DTS for 7000/8000/9000
    • Wifi smart screen for Android devices (requires Philips MyRemote app)
    • New application: Multi Room TV watching .
    • New version of YouTubeLeanBack.
    • Improvement to the MyRemote App TV-guide and controls on Smart Phones.
    • Improvement regarding Czech UPC cable installation.
    • Improvement regarding BBC i-player movies not working.
    • Improvement to have the favorite channels on top via IP-EPG.
    • Improvement to the Social TV app.
    • Improvement regarding the crackling/loud plopping noise when switching on HDMI equipment.
    • Improvement to the remote control pairing in virgin mode.
    • Improvement to avoid having only vertical lines but having picture at startup.
    • Improvement to avoid reboots when playing 3D via Blu-ray or Astra 3D.
    • Improvement to get positive DVB-S Unicable installation with Technisat equipment.
    • Improved mouse pointer (arrow).



    QF2EU_0.68.18.0 (Date published: 2013-04-12)

    • Solution about consistent behavior of the EXIT key.
    • Homescreen adaptation for Germany. (Kabel/Antennen Fernsehen)
    • Hebrew text disabled in Now en Next + 8 days EPG. (Mainly solved for Israel market)
    • Improvement stability behavior when starting up from HDMI source.
    • Live TXT subtitles from broadcast no longer shown during playback of a recording without
    • BBC iPlayer, video and radio program is functioning again.
    • Solution about sometimes no connection to Philips Smart TV portal during virgin installation.



    Best regards,
    Ina
    Last edited by Philips - Ina; 07-15-2013 at 02:34 PM. Reason: Changelog added

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 922, Level: 7
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    13
    Points
    922
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok, just updated from 171.49 to .51
    I've noticed a ticking sound from the hdmi - just like it was in the 64.18...

    On the good side seems likes the menus runs much faster
    Also in the app center

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Points: 19,523, Level: 42
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 327
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,177
    Points
    19,523
    Level
    42
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 105 Times in 89 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by n3z3k View Post
    Ok, just updated from 171.49 to .51
    I've noticed a ticking sound from the hdmi - just like it was in the 64.18...

    On the good side seems likes the menus runs much faster
    Also in the app center
    Hi N3z3k,

    Is this ticking sound coming from the HDMI port itself, the HDMI device or the cable? Have you tried using a different cable?

    What kind of device to you have connected and is this device also up to date with the latest software?

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Last edited by Philips - Ina; 07-25-2013 at 04:26 PM. Reason: Additional info

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 922, Level: 7
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    13
    Points
    922
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Is there a way to load external subtitles - I tried .srt .sub with the same name of the file...

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,209, Level: 9
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 141
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    53
    Points
    1,209
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Had a quick look at this new version.

    Didn't find any differences yet, but I can already tell you that the ambilight flashing with 24p material is still not fixed. Come on Philips, let us enjoy our blu-rays the way it's intended on this TV!

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 922, Level: 7
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    13
    Points
    922
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    TV Model: 55PFL8008
    Previous Firmware: 171.49

    Seems if the tv is off over night (or for long time) I turn it on and I get no input from the hdmi except sound, all menus are working but I have to turn off the tv wait about a minute and turn it on... Then it works...

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,209, Level: 9
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 141
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    53
    Points
    1,209
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    FYI, the Dutch support/download link for the 40PFL8008K/12 is broken:

    http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...&slg=nl&scy=NL

    Luckily I could download the firmware by choosing Belgium as my country.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Points: 19,523, Level: 42
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 327
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,177
    Points
    19,523
    Level
    42
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 105 Times in 89 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by MauriceW View Post
    FYI, the Dutch support/download link for the 40PFL8008K/12 is broken:

    http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...&slg=nl&scy=NL

    Luckily I could download the firmware by choosing Belgium as my country.

    Hi Maurice,

    Thank you for pointing this out to us. I have forwarded this on to the website developers.

    In the meantime (for yourself and other 8008K customers in The Nederlands) the following link is working:

    http://www.philips.nl/c/televisie/80...drp1?t=support

    Best regards,
    Ina

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 422, Level: 4
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    15
    Points
    422
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    From ALL SW Releases the 171.049 AND 171.51 are the worst releases!

    -Even the .51 release when boot from standby it take up to 20 sec before the tv give some screen.
    -No Philips logo anymore when startup.
    -Tv act very slow,
    -Youtube App Keyboard form remote still not work.
    -Light Sensor still not work, Like the spec say, "When sensor is on it reduce the screen how light/Dark the room is".

    So developers, back to draw table because this 2 releases are bad.
    The only SW Release that work good and fine was the 64.018.
    For the mean time release a SW with base 64.18 so that we have some good and stable SW.

    Stefano
    55PFL8008
    Last edited by Stefan2602; 07-14-2013 at 03:53 PM.

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Points: 19,523, Level: 42
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 327
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,177
    Points
    19,523
    Level
    42
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 105 Times in 89 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Stefan2602 View Post
    From ALL SW Releases the 171.049 AND 171.51 are the worst releases!

    -Even the .51 release when boot from standby it take up to 20 sec before the tv give some screen.
    -No Philips logo anymore when startup.
    -Youtube App Keyboard form remote still not work.
    -Light Sensor still not work, Like the spec say, "When sensor is on it reduce the screen how light/Dark the room is".


    Stefano
    55PFL8008

    Hi Stefano,

    20 seconds for start up from standby is normal behaviour unless Quick Start is enabled. From your next point this appears to be the case, so if Quick Start is disabled on your TV, please try to reinstall the TV to solve the missing Philips logo issue.

    We are aware of the issue regarding the remote control keyboard not working with the new YouTube app. We have fed this information on to Google who are addressing this.

    Please see this post regarding the Light Sensor algorithms:
    http://bit.ly/18iIDy3

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Last edited by Philips - Ina; 07-16-2013 at 01:38 PM. Reason: Typo

  11. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 422, Level: 4
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    15
    Points
    422
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello Ina,

    - 20 seconds for startup isnt normal, when i read out nand, there you see that there is a problem.
    - Quikstart is enabled.
    - about the "Lightsensor issue" its complete a another story that you telling, maybe you can have a look at the product specs, there its write: Lightsensor reduce the backlight to a dark or lightroom.
    So then i think it is time to change the complete specs for the tv .
    Like i already have post, tv is already put back in factory mode but no differents.
    The fact stay that this 2 releases are not good, buggy, not complete and need to be re-writed.

    stefano






    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    Hi Stefano,

    20 seconds for start up from standby is normal behaviour unless Quick Start is enabled. From your next point this appears to be the case, so if Quick Start is disabled on your TV, please try to reinstall the TV to solve the missing Philips logo issue.

    We are aware of the issue regarding the remote control keyboard not working with the new YouTube app. We have fed this information on to Google who are addressing this.

    Please see this post regarding the Light Sensor algorithms:
    http://bit.ly/18iIDy3

    Best regards,
    Ina

  12. #12
    Moderator
    Points: 19,523, Level: 42
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 327
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,177
    Points
    19,523
    Level
    42
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 105 Times in 89 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Stefan2602 View Post
    Hello Ina,

    - 20 seconds for startup isnt normal, when i read out nand, there you see that there is a problem.
    - Quikstart is enabled.
    - about the "Lightsensor issue" its complete a another story that you telling, maybe you can have a look at the product specs, there its write: Lightsensor reduce the backlight to a dark or lightroom.
    So then i think it is time to change the complete specs for the tv .
    Like i already have post, tv is already put back in factory mode but no differents.
    The fact stay that this 2 releases are not good, buggy, not complete and need to be re-writed.

    stefano

    Hi Stefano,

    When Quick Start is enabled the Philips logo will not show. Very basically speaking the Quick Start allows the TV to remain tuned in, but with the sound and video turned off. So when you return the TV from standby in Quick Start mode, the TV does not boot up the same way as when Quick Start is disabled.
    Do you have any external devices connected to the TV? Do you experience the same start up time when these are not connected?

    The light sensor does reduce the backlight, however when coupled together with other picture settings the light sensor behaviour does change accordingly. This is what the light sensor matrix in the linked post helps to clarify.

    For example in vivid mode there is no coupling between lightsensor and backlight contrast. In the other modes there is a coupling e.g. for bright scenes you will see a reduction when the lightsensor detects a dark environment. If the scene is alreay dimmed by the dimming algorithm you will not see a big effect.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Last edited by Philips - Ina; 07-18-2013 at 03:24 PM. Reason: Correcting typo

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 523, Level: 5
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    20
    Points
    523
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    3D clips via Youtube is not working for me!

    Anyone else have same issue?

  14. #14
    Moderator
    Points: 81,123, Level: 88
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 827
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    819
    Points
    81,123
    Level
    88
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by jea View Post
    3D clips via Youtube is not working for me!

    Anyone else have same issue?
    Hi Jea,

    This "YouTube not showing 3D" issue is acknowledged, and will be addressed in a future SW version.

    Regards,
    JuAn
    Forum Mod

  15. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Philips For This Useful Post:

    stefanox (08-07-2013),Toengel (08-02-2013)

  16. #15
    Bronze Member
    Points: 925, Level: 7
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 25
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!500 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    18
    Points
    925
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    After upgrading to 171.51, standby does not work properly anymore on my 55pfl8008. When I take the tv out of standby it does turn on but I do not get any picture. I have to pull the plug and do a hard reset now every time I want to watch tv.

    Also, another frustration (also present in earlier firmwares) is that PNM gets turned on every time after standby/restart even though it has been disabled earlier.

    And please Philips, improve the dynamic backlight best picture setting. At the moment it's completely useless as it dims the picture far too much at low luminosity levels.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Experience thread - FW v000.171.049.000 (171.49) - for 8xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips - Ina in forum TV: Software for the 8xx8 series
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-12-2013, 05:13 PM
  2. Experience thread - FW v000.064.018.000 (64.18) - for 6xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips - Benedickte in forum TV: Software for the 6xx8 series
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-05-2013, 09:29 AM
  3. Experience thread - FW v000.064.018.000 (64.18) - for 7xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips - Benedickte in forum TV: Software for the 7xx8 series
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-05-2013, 09:26 AM
  4. Experience thread - FW v000.064.018.000 (64.18) - for 8xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips - Benedickte in forum TV: Software for the 8xx8 series
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-05-2013, 09:22 AM
  5. Experience thread - FW v000.064.015.000 (64.15) - for 8xx8 series - 2013
    By Philips in forum TV: Software for the 8xx8 series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2013, 09:41 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •