Results 1 to 9 of 9
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3

    BDP5600 buggy WiFi Access

    Not sure if it's due to poor antenna or software but player loses WiFi frequently.

    Gives "cannot find access point" message, and can only connect after total reboot with wall outlet switch off.



    Also, on other occassions it will detect the AP/WiFi correctly, but only see the (useless password protected) SMB folders in the connected PCs. It completely ignores all mediaservers running! And again, it is necessary to reboot/outlet switch off to resolve the issue.
    Last edited by MidnightManiac; 07-15-2013 at 09:58 AM. Reason: Additional info.

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 485, Level: 5
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    69
    Points
    485
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Hi, how is your player and router positioned, anything or other wireless units that might interfere with signal?

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Teddy View Post
    Hi, how is your player and router positioned, anything or other wireless units that might interfere with signal?
    Player is positioned next door to router at a distance of approx. 6 meters.

    My laptop works fine from same distance, which makes me think it could be a question of a weaker antenna. Or a bug.

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    is there any difference if you put your player in your lap or on the table as your laptop ? :-)
    I was thinking if your player is standing on a big amp and a heavypowersuply can make distorsion or o swthed powersupply, also babyatches, phones etc can also be on the same channel. Try to switch channel and see if it works better, your laptop maybe got stronger antenna and is not affected ? just a wild guess.

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Stormen View Post
    is there any difference if you put your player in your lap or on the table as your laptop ? :-)
    I was thinking if your player is standing on a big amp and a heavypowersuply can make distorsion or o swthed powersupply, also babyatches, phones etc can also be on the same channel. Try to switch channel and see if it works better, your laptop maybe got stronger antenna and is not affected ? just a wild guess.
    Thanks.

    Well, it's sitting on the table next to the TV, which is the only thing in between the player and the router... There are no phones or other devices.

    And, as mentioned already, the player DOES detect the AP/router fine, but only about 50% of the time. That's what I find really strange.

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    not even if you stand on one leg, holding it upside down ?

    Your right, the signal, or recieving is to low. Can you se signalstrenght. I use an App in my phone, serach for Wifi-signal. Its probably something in the player but its only nice to now how good cover the router gives you.

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    There's an on-screen icon for wifi, not sure if it actually measures strength. I doubt it.

    EDIT:
    In "wireless settings" there is an icon showing the strength of the signal. It is at 3 out of 5.
    Last edited by MidnightManiac; 07-19-2013 at 05:24 PM. Reason: Additional info

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,440, Level: 13
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Stormen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    SWE
    Posts
    99
    Points
    2,440
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Stormen For This Useful Post:

    MidnightManiac (07-19-2013)

  10. #9
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Thanks. I'll try to make some measurements this weekend.

Similar Topics

  1. Buggy TV Guide after update - 47PFL6907H
    By Windyo in forum Smart TV: Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-03-2013, 08:40 PM
  2. BDP7700 firmware 3.53 - still buggy
    By gitarzysta in forum Blu-ray: BDP7000 Series
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-09-2013, 11:54 AM
  3. Ipad and Iphone app really buggy with aw9000
    By jermal123 in forum Apps: Audio Apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-14-2012, 01:09 AM
  4. BDP5200, Unable to access NetTV but able to access Wif-Fi
    By sandeep sukhavasi in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-23-2012, 08:34 AM
  5. Buggy interface and missing auto login
    By anders in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-08-2011, 07:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •