Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 42
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3

    BDP5600 freezes on start-up

    Frequently (somewhere close to 50% of the time) the player freezes on start-up.

    It will boot, the display shows the start-up "hello" and then it goes straight to display "home" but displays a dark blue screen.

    Buttons on player and remote will not respond. The only solution is unplug from wall and reboot.

    Anyone with similar experience?

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 730, Level: 6
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 55.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    131
    Points
    730
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Hi,

    Have you updated the software, new version out! You find it and can download at philips.com/support

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by MrBarton View Post
    Hi,

    Have you updated the software, new version out! You find it and can download at philips.com/support
    Thanks.

    Last time I checked (2 days ago) there was still no firmware available for this player.

    I guess (and really hope) that at least some of the issues I've posted in this forum will be fixed.

    The release notes only mention "Update SmartTV Version"....

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 730, Level: 6
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 55.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    131
    Points
    730
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    I just checked and there was a new release of software 17th of July for the /12 player… If it will help is another story!

    http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...&slg=en&scy=DK

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by MrBarton View Post
    I just checked and there was a new release of software 17th of July for the /12 player… If it will help is another story!

    http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...&slg=en&scy=DK
    Yeah, thanks. I saw it yesterday too.

    By the way, the player cannot find the update (when choosing network update). I had to download it and update via USB.

    There is no sticky on the forum mentioning the update either.

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Hmm.... haven't had start-up freezes since the update.

    BUT there are still random freezes at unexpected times - such as:

    • When trying toggle external subtitles.

    • When watching pictures, thumbnails stay frozen on the screen no matter if I exiting the menu, switching media etc.

    • While browsing external usb hdd.

    • When inserting a DVD and the player says no disc inserted (won't eject OR play)

    • When trying to connect to media server and no media server found -> freeeze.

    • When browsing usb flash drives.


    I'm really not happy with the number of times I have to unplug the machine to reset it and be able to use it again.
    Last edited by MidnightManiac; 11-21-2013 at 02:07 PM. Reason: Additional info.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 824, Level: 7
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 126
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!500 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Bucharest /Romania
    Posts
    5
    Points
    824
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MidnightManiac View Post
    Frequently (somewhere close to 50% of the time) the player freezes on start-up.

    It will boot, the display shows the start-up "hello" and then it goes straight to display "home" but displays a dark blue screen.

    Buttons on player and remote will not respond. The only solution is unplug from wall and reboot.

    Anyone with similar experience?
    Yes , I experience similar issues with my BDP5500. I have to unplug at least 40% of the time I use it ( mostly on start-up).
    Sometimes I"m about to crash it against the wall....really unhappy about that.

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Aurex View Post
    Yes , I experience similar issues with my BDP5500. I have to unplug at least 40% of the time I use it ( mostly on start-up).
    Sometimes I"m about to crash it against the wall....really unhappy about that.
    Makes me wonder if anything can/will be done firmware wise...

    Not having to unplug the device so often would be nice.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 9,554, Level: 29
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 396
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    9,554
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear both,

    I have passed the case to the team for investigation.
    Will let you know later if I hear back from the team.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - QK View Post
    Dear both,

    I have passed the case to the team for investigation.
    Will let you know later if I hear back from the team.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Thanks!

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 142, Level: 1
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 8
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    142
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Same issue with my BDP5500/98 here, in spite of the firmware upgrade (v3.71). Looking forward to seeing a permanent fix for that such a basic issue.

    Regards
    HBH

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 16, Level: 1
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    16
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I cannot even update BDP5500/12 anymore, it freezes on startup already. Really bad player from Philips. I especially bought a philips model, cause in the past I had good experiences with it. All fade away now

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 142, Level: 1
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 8
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    142
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Any update on this topic? I found that not only the player freezes on start up, it also has a hard time turning off (or simply going back to the player' s home page) when a movie is still playing.

    Truly an awfully frustrating device...

  14. #14
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 175 Times in 156 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    did you installed firmware 2.10 for BDP5600?

    Toengel@Alex

  15. #15
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    did you installed firmware 2.10 for BDP5600?

    Toengel@Alex
    Well, I have the latest firmware (2.10) and can confirm it does absolutely nothing to solve the freeze issues. E.g. I cannot load/switch an external subtitle file on or off without the device freezing.

    I have posted in a couple of threads about the persisting problem, but the posts have been deleted.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. No MP4 over DNLA (BDP5600)
    By MidnightManiac in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-16-2013, 07:19 AM
  2. BDP5600 buggy WiFi Access
    By MidnightManiac in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-19-2013, 01:26 PM
  3. Undocumented features (BDP5600)
    By MidnightManiac in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-15-2013, 07:31 AM
  4. Youtube freezes
    By scappa69 in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-15-2013, 11:42 AM
  5. NP3900/12 freezes at least by every second start
    By vkillian in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-23-2012, 11:22 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •