Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 42
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,966, Level: 15
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    126
    Points
    2,966
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3

    BDP5600 freezes on start-up

    Frequently (somewhere close to 50% of the time) the player freezes on start-up.

    It will boot, the display shows the start-up "hello" and then it goes straight to display "home" but displays a dark blue screen.

    Buttons on player and remote will not respond. The only solution is unplug from wall and reboot.

    Anyone with similar experience?

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 730, Level: 6
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 55.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    131
    Points
    730
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Hi,

    Have you updated the software, new version out! You find it and can download at philips.com/support

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,966, Level: 15
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    126
    Points
    2,966
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by MrBarton View Post
    Hi,

    Have you updated the software, new version out! You find it and can download at philips.com/support
    Thanks.

    Last time I checked (2 days ago) there was still no firmware available for this player.

    I guess (and really hope) that at least some of the issues I've posted in this forum will be fixed.

    The release notes only mention "Update SmartTV Version"....

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 730, Level: 6
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 55.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    131
    Points
    730
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    I just checked and there was a new release of software 17th of July for the /12 player… If it will help is another story!

    http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...&slg=en&scy=DK

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,966, Level: 15
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    126
    Points
    2,966
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by MrBarton View Post
    I just checked and there was a new release of software 17th of July for the /12 player… If it will help is another story!

    http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...&slg=en&scy=DK
    Yeah, thanks. I saw it yesterday too.

    By the way, the player cannot find the update (when choosing network update). I had to download it and update via USB.

    There is no sticky on the forum mentioning the update either.

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,966, Level: 15
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    126
    Points
    2,966
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Hmm.... haven't had start-up freezes since the update.

    BUT there are still random freezes at unexpected times - such as:

    • When trying toggle external subtitles.

    • When watching pictures, thumbnails stay frozen on the screen no matter if I exiting the menu, switching media etc.

    • While browsing external usb hdd.

    • When inserting a DVD and the player says no disc inserted (won't eject OR play)

    • When trying to connect to media server and no media server found -> freeeze.

    • When browsing usb flash drives.


    I'm really not happy with the number of times I have to unplug the machine to reset it and be able to use it again.
    Last edited by MidnightManiac; 11-21-2013 at 02:07 PM. Reason: Additional info.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 824, Level: 7
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 126
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!500 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Bucharest /Romania
    Posts
    5
    Points
    824
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MidnightManiac View Post
    Frequently (somewhere close to 50% of the time) the player freezes on start-up.

    It will boot, the display shows the start-up "hello" and then it goes straight to display "home" but displays a dark blue screen.

    Buttons on player and remote will not respond. The only solution is unplug from wall and reboot.

    Anyone with similar experience?
    Yes , I experience similar issues with my BDP5500. I have to unplug at least 40% of the time I use it ( mostly on start-up).
    Sometimes I"m about to crash it against the wall....really unhappy about that.

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,966, Level: 15
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    126
    Points
    2,966
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Aurex View Post
    Yes , I experience similar issues with my BDP5500. I have to unplug at least 40% of the time I use it ( mostly on start-up).
    Sometimes I"m about to crash it against the wall....really unhappy about that.
    Makes me wonder if anything can/will be done firmware wise...

    Not having to unplug the device so often would be nice.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 9,011, Level: 28
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 339
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    883
    Points
    9,011
    Level
    28
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear both,

    I have passed the case to the team for investigation.
    Will let you know later if I hear back from the team.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,966, Level: 15
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    126
    Points
    2,966
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - QK View Post
    Dear both,

    I have passed the case to the team for investigation.
    Will let you know later if I hear back from the team.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Thanks!

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 142, Level: 1
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 8
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    142
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Same issue with my BDP5500/98 here, in spite of the firmware upgrade (v3.71). Looking forward to seeing a permanent fix for that such a basic issue.

    Regards
    HBH

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 16, Level: 1
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    16
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I cannot even update BDP5500/12 anymore, it freezes on startup already. Really bad player from Philips. I especially bought a philips model, cause in the past I had good experiences with it. All fade away now

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 142, Level: 1
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 8
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    142
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Any update on this topic? I found that not only the player freezes on start up, it also has a hard time turning off (or simply going back to the player' s home page) when a movie is still playing.

    Truly an awfully frustrating device...

  14. #14
    Diamond Member
    Points: 49,889, Level: 69
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 1,261
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,933
    Points
    49,889
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 159 Times in 141 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    did you installed firmware 2.10 for BDP5600?

    Toengel@Alex

  15. #15
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,966, Level: 15
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    126
    Points
    2,966
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    did you installed firmware 2.10 for BDP5600?

    Toengel@Alex
    Well, I have the latest firmware (2.10) and can confirm it does absolutely nothing to solve the freeze issues. E.g. I cannot load/switch an external subtitle file on or off without the device freezing.

    I have posted in a couple of threads about the persisting problem, but the posts have been deleted.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. No MP4 over DNLA (BDP5600)
    By MidnightManiac in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-16-2013, 07:19 AM
  2. BDP5600 buggy WiFi Access
    By MidnightManiac in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-19-2013, 01:26 PM
  3. Undocumented features (BDP5600)
    By MidnightManiac in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-15-2013, 07:31 AM
  4. Youtube freezes
    By scappa69 in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-15-2013, 11:42 AM
  5. NP3900/12 freezes at least by every second start
    By vkillian in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-23-2012, 11:22 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •