Results 1 to 6 of 6
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 596, Level: 6
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    9
    Points
    596
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    MPEG4 Encoded HD channels on DVB-S does not work?

    Recently I bought a 37PFL6777K/12 and use it to watch satellite TV (DVB-S) with my CanalDigitaal subscription in the Netherlands. All worked well for the SD channels. Recently I upgraded my CanalDigitaal subscription for SD to HD channels.
    After reinstalling all channels on both Astra 1 and Astra 3 satellites the HD channels promised by CanalDigitaal are found and listed. Even the CanalDigitaal automated channel ordering seems to work fine. But when I select one of the new HD channels from the list the display remains black...
    All the MPEG4 encoded HD channels on Astra 3 seem to have this problem. SD channels on the same satellite seem to be OK. Non-MPEG4 HD channels on Astra 1 satellite are also OK.
    I am wondering: does the 37PFL6777K/12 really support MPEG4 coded HD channels as suggested by the specifications PDF of this TV?

    (see also attachment, which shows the status of one of these MPEG4 HD encoded channels - no sound for this channel?)

    Any other forum members experiencing this problem?

    Robbie
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20130720_190953usd.jpg 
Views:	103 
Size:	699.6 KB 
ID:	2096  

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,381, Level: 69
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 769
    Overall activity: 94.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,967
    Points
    50,381
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    is firmware 150.88 installed on your TV?

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 596, Level: 6
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    9
    Points
    596
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks again for your quick response, Toengel.

    I checked the latest official firmware for the 37PFL6777K/12 before I posted the topic; yesterday it was still at 150.87. (same today) According to your blog 150.88 was released on the 17th of July and it may take a few days to arrive on all servers... I'll check again the next few day...

    I may assume your question means to say CanalDigitaal HD channel decoding is a known issue and should have been solved in 150.88?

    Robbie

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 596, Level: 6
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    9
    Points
    596
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have 150.88 on my TV now. Re-installed all satellites, but the problem is still there...
    No display and no sound for MPEG4 encoded HD channels from CanalDigitaal. Is sees the channels and they are set up correctly (for as far as I can see...) but no sound and vision.

    I was wondering - may be my CI+ module firmware needs to be updated. I tried OTA update using menu option 'Options | CI module | Canaldigitaal | Nieuwe software'. But that does not seem to work. After a few minutes it reports a failure. I tried about 5 times...

    Any other suggestions?

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 596, Level: 6
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    9
    Points
    596
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi all,

    I found the solution for my problem. It appears that the CI module was too old. I bought a new one and that fixed the problem.
    The old one was about 5 years old and apparently could not handle MPEG4 data stream correctly.

    Robbie

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Robbie67 For This Useful Post:

    Toengel (08-01-2013)

  7. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 16,127, Level: 38
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 323
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,935
    Points
    16,127
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 98 Times in 82 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Robbie67 View Post
    Hi all,

    I found the solution for my problem. It appears that the CI module was too old. I bought a new one and that fixed the problem.
    The old one was about 5 years old and apparently could not handle MPEG4 data stream correctly.

    Robbie

    Hi Robbie,

    I'm glad to hear you have resolved the issue. And thank you for posting the solution here in the forum as well, as it might help other users experiencing similar issues.

    Best regards,
    Ina

Similar Topics

  1. CAM MPEG4-decoder for 32PFL9632D/10
    By aalex in forum TV: Installation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-03-2013, 04:34 PM
  2. 32PFL5522D/12 and MPEG4??
    By loukas21 in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-14-2012, 10:04 AM
  3. Encoded digital audio sound through HDMI with Philips DVD/Blu-ray
    By chuckles in forum TV: Software 2009 models (and older)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-11-2012, 02:37 PM
  4. Playback issue encoded videofiles no sound
    By Zjwast in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-07-2012, 03:40 PM
  5. 42PFL5603d/12 by MPEG4 Option killed
    By TwentySixer in forum TV: Software 2009 models (and older)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-11-2012, 12:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •