Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 149
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #31
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    639
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    The sound drops through SPDIF are still there. I tried with black swan and I got more than 10 drops in 3 minutes.

  2. #32
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,433, Level: 10
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 117
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    54
    Points
    1,433
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Dear Philips,

    I can understand it's a complex matter those modern TV's. Therefor I'm patiently waiting for it to work, but is's getting hard. It would be nice when you could inform us about the basic problem. After several SW-updats since the problem occured, the problem of sounddrops is still there, that means not solved.

    My question to you Philips is, can you solve the problem? By now I'm getting the idea that you are trying to reduce the problem as much as possible and then say that it's solved. Remaining problems will be set aside as occasionally happening but not systemattical problems.

    But that is not solving the problem, Philips! That would be misleading costumers! You are not going to do that, aren't you?

    You have a repution that makes me believe you wonn't. Make it stand , that reputation.

  3. #33
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    639
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    In general, I didn't noticed any significant changes with this release.

    None of the missing features were added (still no DVB-T EPG, no next/now), the NetTV still uninteresting (with -1 application), and no bug fixes (the sound drops in ARC/SPDIF still there).

    The spelling mistakes are still in the menus, the off timer is still buried under tons of options, and in general the usability was not improved.

  4. #34
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    158
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Why do you create these threads in a forum that is "not reviewed by Philips!"???

    Anyway, Philips has a forum, how nice... but it's user-to-user, they don't care.
    As they don't seem to have a QA department for the TVs, we are testing the firmware releases.
    Other brands don't have a forum, but what they release usually works.
    Just pick your poison.

  5. #35
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    620
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    In general, I didn't noticed any significant changes with this release.

    None of the missing features were added (still no DVB-T EPG, no next/now), the NetTV still uninteresting (with -1 application), and no bug fixes (the sound drops in ARC/SPDIF still there).

    The spelling mistakes are still in the menus, the off timer is still buried under tons of options, and in general the usability was not improved.
    Have you found any release notes regarding this new firmware release? I've found nothing new regarding the 140.34, only till 140.29 !!!!!!!!.

    Dear Philips, in order to avoid consumer's waste of time, I would suggest:

    a) when a firmware release is published, an updated firmware release should be attached (if a particular issue is listed as "solved" i can invest my time downloading it. If it's not listed, I don't have to download it)

    b) if a firmware release is provided without updated release notes the impression given is of a "amatuers" R&D and Marketing dept. that is not able to drive the customer management/requests.

    "Let's try this one, hopefully it could work reading the customers' feedbacks".

    Sorry to say but this is the reality.

    regards
    Last edited by Nettle; 04-12-2011 at 02:33 PM.

  6. #36
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,363, Level: 72
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 1,187
    Overall activity: 96.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,145
    Points
    54,363
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 198 Times in 177 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    Q5551_0.140.34.0 (Date published: 2011-04-12)

    Intermittent sound lost while watching TV or a connected device via HDMI.

    Macro-blocks appear on digital (DVB-T) channels with HD content. (Only applicable to country, Spain)

    Q5551_0.140.32.0 (Date published: 2011-03-04)

    Slow in switching between digital cable (DVB-C) channels.

    Macro-blocks appear on digital (DVB-T) channels.

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #37
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,761, Level: 11
    Level completed: 71%, Points required for next Level: 89
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    49
    Points
    1,761
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Let me start by saying that Philips does read this forum (as one just replied to a 'simple' question which was posted in the unofficial section).
    Second, I think that this release is a 'test' release, we programmers call this a 'trial and error', try and if fail than we know it's somewhere else.
    It's a logical step in the sound problem issue from Philips.
    They probably have tested this hundreds of times there without any issues and therefor have to guess where the problem might be caused by.
    The only option is to let it try by the ones that have these problems and those are the customers.

    Strange enough I myself only have this problem very often when watching a HD channel. There is absolutly no sound problem when I watch through an external HDMI device. So I can understand Philips.

    They better set the sound problem a-side for a while and work on a 3D setup menu.

  8. #38
    New Member
    Points: 1,263, Level: 9
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Netherland/Geleen
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1,263
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Leonos View Post
    They better set the sound problem a-side for a while and work on a 3D setup menu.
    Or they (temp) stop with the development of the new series and help the customers of the current version

  9. #39
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,396, Level: 10
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,396
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Leonos View Post
    The only option is to let it try by the ones that have these problems and those are the customers.

    Strange enough I myself only have this problem very often when watching a HD channel. There is absolutly no sound problem when I watch through an external HDMI device. So I can understand Philips.

    They better set the sound problem a-side for a while and work on a 3D setup menu.
    the sound drop problem, it's main philips problem, it's happend here every couple of minutes, and TV unusable.

  10. #40
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    639
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by carlosfm View Post
    Why do you create these threads in a forum that is "not reviewed by Philips!"???

    Anyway, Philips has a forum, how nice... but it's user-to-user, they don't care.
    As they don't seem to have a QA department for the TVs, we are testing the firmware releases.
    Other brands don't have a forum, but what they release usually works.
    Just pick your poison.
    It doesn't matter if the forum is unofficial, I know they read us.
    To my view, Philips has lost its way in the TV section, and from a company with innovative TV products has become a company that chases the Korean brands, presenting features one year after the Korean brands do. They have concentrated on stuff they think are important, but the customers have a different opinion.
    This forum, is a good start for them to get in touch with the customers, and see why the customers are angry (well they are...). And get an idea on how should they start fixing things...

  11. #41
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    620
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    Q5551_0.140.34.0 (Date published: 2011-04-12)

    Intermittent sound lost while watching TV or a connected device via HDMI.

    Macro-blocks appear on digital (DVB-T) channels with HD content. (Only applicable to country, Spain)

    Q5551_0.140.32.0 (Date published: 2011-03-04)

    Slow in switching between digital cable (DVB-C) channels.

    Macro-blocks appear on digital (DVB-T) channels.

    Toengel@Alex
    Thanks Toengel, in the italian Support Page (37PFL 8650 M/08 series) is not reported at all!

    regards

  12. #42
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    158
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    I've tried to download this firmware, it is available for my TV (37PFL7605H/12)

    I get this error:
    "Forbidden

    You don't have permission to access /files/3/37pfl7605h_12/37pfl7605h_12_fus_eng.zip on this server.

    Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
    Apache Server at download.p4c.philips.com Port 80"

    The previous firmware there was a corrupted .zip file, now this...
    Last edited by carlosfm; 04-12-2011 at 07:06 PM.

  13. #43
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,438, Level: 10
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 112
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    27
    Points
    1,438
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    hello,

    sadly i can confirm the sounddrops over hdmi are not gone.


    philips 32pfl9705k/02
    hdmi1 - abcom ipbox 9000 hd +
    hdmi2 - philips bdp 3000

    markus

  14. #44
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,396, Level: 10
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,396
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mdiehl View Post
    hello,

    sadly i can confirm the sounddrops over hdmi are not gone.


    philips 32pfl9705k/02
    hdmi1 - abcom ipbox 9000 hd +
    hdmi2 - philips bdp 3000

    markus
    do you have sound drop issue with hdmi2 - philips bdp 3000?

  15. #45
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,438, Level: 10
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 112
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    27
    Points
    1,438
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    i have only tested with my sat receiver at the moment.
    if there is time i will test it at the weekend.
    with 140.32 i have sounddrops with the bdp 3000!

    markus

Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •