Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 117, Level: 1
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 33
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registeredNew Achievement!100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    117
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Error when starting Smart TV

    Since today i`ve got this message when starting Smart TV. whats going on?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1098471_10200838910072560_585766763_n.jpg 
Views:	175 
Size:	6.8 KB 
ID:	2132

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,319, Level: 72
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 1,231
    Overall activity: 71.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,140
    Points
    54,319
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 196 Times in 175 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    do you have a 5xx8? Try to delete Internet memory and/or press option button and chose "reload"...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 15, Level: 1
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    15
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    I bought my TV today (32pfl3208t).
    Connected (via cable) Downloaded the new software.
    And when I tried to start SmartTV I got exactly the same error you have
    on your picture. I still have the same error.

    Did you solve your problem? If so....how?
    /J

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 98, Level: 1
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registeredNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1
    Points
    98
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    same problem

    Quote Originally Posted by morfeo11 View Post
    Since today i`ve got this message when starting Smart TV. whats going on?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1098471_10200838910072560_585766763_n.jpg 
Views:	175 
Size:	6.8 KB 
ID:	2132
    I got same messeage and i got the 6907 smart tv.

    Everytime i use the Smart tv butto it comes what it says on that picture....

    what to do?

    I have reset everything with network but still dont work....

    Help came out of nowwhere

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 14, Level: 1
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    14
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yea i got the same error:/

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 117, Level: 1
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 33
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registeredNew Achievement!100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    117
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    ok. i solve the problem. just need to clear internet memory (there is an option to do this in menu). work to me. smart is working now.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 14, Level: 1
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    14
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    i did clear the internet memory and restart the tv but it didn't work. later this morning it work fine

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Points: 82,899, Level: 89
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 851
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    825
    Points
    82,899
    Level
    89
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear All,

    We are currently investigating this "XML parsing failed" error and hope to resolve it soon. Thanks for reporting!

    Regards,
    JuAn


    Update 2/8/2013 15:10 hr.: Just received the message that the issue has been solved . Maybe good to restart your TV first, then check again, and please give feedback if not okay.
    Last edited by Philips; 08-02-2013 at 02:18 PM. Reason: Update: Issue solved.
    Forum Mod

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Philips For This Useful Post:

    Toengel (08-02-2013)

  10. #9
    New Member
    Points: 15, Level: 1
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    15
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    Dear All,

    We are currently investigating this "XML parsing failed" error and hope to resolve it soon. Thanks for reporting!

    Regards,
    JuAn


    Update 2/8/2013 15:10 hr.: Just received the message that the issue has been solved . Maybe good to restart your TV first, then check again, and please give feedback if not okay.
    Hi,

    Ok for me last night, then had the issue today again, but now Ok (for now).

    Can you maybe explain what the problem was, and if I should expect to get this in the future?

    Rgs J

Similar Topics

  1. error - router not confirmed but was already working (smart tv)
    By debbie4 in forum Smart TV: Error Messages
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-20-2013, 06:38 PM
  2. Starting never stops
    By zappi_s in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 05-20-2013, 06:53 AM
  3. Error message when playing movie via smart app
    By JackNijssen in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-20-2013, 11:14 AM
  4. BDP7500BL not starting up
    By mgrick in forum Blu-ray: BDP7000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-01-2013, 11:17 AM
  5. wac 3500 not starting up,help
    By tartan in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-11-2012, 12:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •