Results 1 to 4 of 4
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,242, Level: 9
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 108
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience PointsTagger Second Class

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    BELGIUM
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,242
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    bitrate setting mkv with mp4 (h264 avc codec)

    Hello, my tv is a PFL9606.

    Ik can play mp4-files in a mkv container, but sometimes the tv hangs... this happens both while playing the file via usb or served via serviio (dlna server on PC).

    Now I experimented with lower bitrate settings and experienced that a too high bitrate will strangle the built in decoder of the TV.

    The files are encoded whith variable bitrate 2-pass encoding...

    Does anybody know what is the maximum bitrate this model tv can handle? So in the future I can use it as a standard profile rendering my own movies...

    Here is a screenshot (media-info) of a working file...
    The difference between the mean-bitrate (9 710 Kbps) and the Maximale bitrate (10 000 Kbps) is because it concerns a movie whith stills (foto's) whith few action....

    Algemeen
    Volledige naam : D:\Users\beheerder\Videos\film.mp4
    Formaat : MPEG-4
    Formaatprofiel : Base Media
    Codec-ID : isom
    Bestandsgrootte : 240 MiB
    Duur : 3mn 24s
    Totale bitratemodus : Variabel
    Totale bitrate : 9 870 Kbps
    Datum codering : UTC 2013-08-02 09:05:27
    Tagdatum : UTC 2013-08-02 09:05:27

    Video
    ID : 1
    Formaat : AVC
    Formaat/Info : Advanced Video Codec
    Formaatprofiel : High@L4.0
    Formaatinstellingen, CABAC : Ja
    Formaatinstellingen, ReFrames : 3 frames
    Format_Settings_GOP : M=3, N=18
    Codec-ID : avc1
    Codec-ID/Info : Advanced Video Coding
    Duur : 3mn 24s
    Bitrate-modus : Variabel
    Bitrate : 9 710 Kbps
    Maximale bitrate : 10 000 Kbps
    Breedte : 1 920 pixels
    Hoogte : 1 080 pixels
    Beeldverhouding : 16:9
    Frameratemodus : Constant
    Framerate : 25,000 fps
    Standaard : PAL
    ColorSpace : YUV
    ChromaSubsampling : 4:2:0
    BitDepth/String : 8 bits
    Scansoort : Progressief
    Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.187
    Stroomgrootte : 236 MiB (98%)
    Titel : Ő 
    Taal : Engels
    Datum codering : UTC 2013-08-02 09:05:27
    Tagdatum : UTC 2013-08-02 09:05:27
    mdhd_Duration : 204000
    colour_primaries : BT.709
    transfer_characteristics : BT.709
    matrix_coefficients : BT.709

    Audio
    ID : 2
    Formaat : AAC
    Formaat/Info : Advanced Audio Codec
    Formaatprofiel : LC
    Codec-ID : 40
    Duur : 3mn 24s
    Bitrate-modus : Variabel
    Bitrate : 157 Kbps
    Kanaal(en) : 2 kanalen
    Kanaalposities : Front: L R
    Samplerate : 48,0 KHz
    Stroomgrootte : 3,83 MiB (2%)
    Titel : Ő 
    Taal : Engels
    Datum codering : UTC 2013-08-02 09:05:27
    Tagdatum : UTC 2013-08-02 09:05:27
    mdhd_Duration : 204000

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 1,242, Level: 9
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 108
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience PointsTagger Second Class

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    BELGIUM
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,242
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    bitrate setting mkv with mp4 (h264 avc codec)

    Hello,

    I'm a hobbyist who makes movies with still images (mostly), mixed with some filmmaterial...

    The encoder I use is H264 AVC in a mp4 file.

    variable bitrate, 2 pass encoding...

    Afterwards I pack the mp4 in a mkv container, because my tv (PFL9606) has problems with mp4-files, Matroska files are accepted with no problems.

    Sometimes the tv stutters or hangs with these files: I lowered down the bitrate and that seems to help.

    Now I encode with target bitrate of 5000 kbps, max bitrate of 12000 kbps.

    What is the advised bitrate??? for this model TV? for the best quality?

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Points: 17,383, Level: 40
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 667
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,040
    Points
    17,383
    Level
    40
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 102 Times in 86 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi PFLBDP,

    I have merged your 2 threads for overview purposes.

    Could you please confirm your TVs full model number?

    You can find this on the label on the back of the TV or through the CSM menu:

    While tuned into a channel enter the following number sequence on your remote:
    1 2 3 6 5 4. The TV will enter the CSM.

    On page 1 you will find the Set type, which is the full TV model number.

    To exit press the Return or Home button.

    Best regards,
    Ina

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 1,242, Level: 9
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 108
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience PointsTagger Second Class

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    BELGIUM
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,242
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    Hi PFLBDP,

    I have merged your 2 threads for overview purposes.

    Could you please confirm your TVs full model number?

    You can find this on the label on the back of the TV or through the CSM menu:

    While tuned into a channel enter the following number sequence on your remote:
    1 2 3 6 5 4. The TV will enter the CSM.

    On page 1 you will find the Set type, which is the full TV model number.

    To exit press the Return or Home button.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Hello Ina,

    Sorry for replying so late, but I was not at home the last week...

    The complete modelnumber for my TV is 37PFL9606H/12....

Similar Topics

  1. Bitrate not reported
    By apperloo in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-06-2013, 01:12 PM
  2. My HTS5530 codec support not in sync with Codec details philips shared
    By kkc.balaji in forum Sound: Home Cinema Sound
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-12-2013, 09:07 AM
  3. Max bitrate?
    By dff in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-08-2012, 04:05 AM
  4. wish: add codec H264 MPEG-4 AVC (part 10) (avc1) to BDP7500 Firmware
    By 4logon in forum Blu-ray: Share Your Wish List and Insights
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-14-2011, 06:02 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •