Results 1 to 11 of 11
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Diamond Member
    Points: 49,779, Level: 69
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 1,371
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,922
    Points
    49,779
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 158 Times in 140 Posts
    Rep Power
    9

    Question [Bug] Aspect Ratio is wrong for analog Channels

    Hi,

    my TV (58PFL9955) has firmware 140.34 installed and when watching analog channels I got aspect ratio problems.

    Problem

    Every analog channel, which is broadcasted in 16:9, has black bars on the top and bottom when I select 16:9 in the "view mode". I can only watch them if I set the view mode to "Auto Zoom". All other view modes are not useable due to the black bars...

    However, in the PIP in IP-EPG and Net TV I don't be able to set "Auto Zoom" - so I have there a wrong aspect ratio and black bars!

    Feedback

    Does anyone can confirm this behaviour?

    Toengel@Alex

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 49,779, Level: 69
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 1,371
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,922
    Points
    49,779
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 158 Times in 140 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    problem is also present with firmware 140.36

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,432, Level: 13
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 18
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Rome
    Posts
    75
    Points
    2,432
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi,

    I've the same problem with my TV (32pfl9705h/12) and latest firmware.
    But instead I use "Auto fill" picture format, it works best for Film & News.

    Adamo

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    In my 9705, there is no such problem. 16:9 analog channels are displayed as 16:9, with either auto fill, or 16:9 format.

    There are no black bars in any of the two settings.

    I assume that there is something wrong with the flags broadcasted by the channel, if they are not broadcasted as 4:3, containing a 16:9 material with black bars...

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 49,779, Level: 69
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 1,371
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,922
    Points
    49,779
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 158 Times in 140 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    as far as I remember, it worked with an pre 140.34 firmware flawlessly. And I don't think that all channels send a wrong AR flag...

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    This can be tested with a TV from another brand...

  7. #7
    Diamond Member
    Points: 49,779, Level: 69
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 1,371
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,922
    Points
    49,779
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 158 Times in 140 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    worked perfectly with my old 16:9 CRT... last year...

    Toengel@Alex

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    158
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    When is the analog switch-off in your country?
    The problem will then be solved.

  9. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 49,779, Level: 69
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 1,371
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,922
    Points
    49,779
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 158 Times in 140 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    analog SAT switch off is next april - but in the cable analog will live a while longer...



    Toengel@Alex

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    158
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    analog SAT switch off is next april - but in the cable analog will live a while longer...
    Same here, I also have analog channels on cable and it will last longer than the analog (aerial) switch-off.

  11. #11
    Diamond Member
    Points: 49,779, Level: 69
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 1,371
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,922
    Points
    49,779
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 158 Times in 140 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    I asked my provider - they are saying that the analog broadcasts are letterboxed... OK, well. No bug

    But a suggestion to Philips: Please, change the zoom settings in Net TV to "Auto Zoom"...

    Toengel@Alex

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •