Results 1 to 11 of 11
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,105, Level: 69
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,026
    Points
    51,105
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    155
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Question [Bug] Aspect Ratio is wrong for analog Channels

    Hi,

    my TV (58PFL9955) has firmware 140.34 installed and when watching analog channels I got aspect ratio problems.

    Problem

    Every analog channel, which is broadcasted in 16:9, has black bars on the top and bottom when I select 16:9 in the "view mode". I can only watch them if I set the view mode to "Auto Zoom". All other view modes are not useable due to the black bars...

    However, in the PIP in IP-EPG and Net TV I don't be able to set "Auto Zoom" - so I have there a wrong aspect ratio and black bars!

    Feedback

    Does anyone can confirm this behaviour?

    Toengel@Alex

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,105, Level: 69
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,026
    Points
    51,105
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    155
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    problem is also present with firmware 140.36

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,432, Level: 13
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 18
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Rome
    Posts
    75
    Points
    2,432
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi,

    I've the same problem with my TV (32pfl9705h/12) and latest firmware.
    But instead I use "Auto fill" picture format, it works best for Film & News.

    Adamo

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    In my 9705, there is no such problem. 16:9 analog channels are displayed as 16:9, with either auto fill, or 16:9 format.

    There are no black bars in any of the two settings.

    I assume that there is something wrong with the flags broadcasted by the channel, if they are not broadcasted as 4:3, containing a 16:9 material with black bars...

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,105, Level: 69
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,026
    Points
    51,105
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    155
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    as far as I remember, it worked with an pre 140.34 firmware flawlessly. And I don't think that all channels send a wrong AR flag...

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    This can be tested with a TV from another brand...

  7. #7
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,105, Level: 69
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,026
    Points
    51,105
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    155
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    worked perfectly with my old 16:9 CRT... last year...

    Toengel@Alex

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    158
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    When is the analog switch-off in your country?
    The problem will then be solved.

  9. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,105, Level: 69
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,026
    Points
    51,105
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    155
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    analog SAT switch off is next april - but in the cable analog will live a while longer...



    Toengel@Alex

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    158
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    analog SAT switch off is next april - but in the cable analog will live a while longer...
    Same here, I also have analog channels on cable and it will last longer than the analog (aerial) switch-off.

  11. #11
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,105, Level: 69
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,026
    Points
    51,105
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    155
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    I asked my provider - they are saying that the analog broadcasts are letterboxed... OK, well. No bug

    But a suggestion to Philips: Please, change the zoom settings in Net TV to "Auto Zoom"...

    Toengel@Alex

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •