Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,536, Level: 67
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 814
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,696
    Points
    47,536
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    maybe UPC is blocking some ports or IPs, which are needed for the NP devices...

    Toengel@Alex

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Toengel For This Useful Post:

    Matjaz (10-30-2013),Wilma (10-30-2013)

  3. #17
    New Member
    Points: 59, Level: 1
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 91
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    4
    Points
    59
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Thank you, I have informed UPC - because I´m a UPC customer too ...
    Cheers,
    Richard

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to NAVData For This Useful Post:

    Matjaz (10-30-2013),Philips - Rafal (10-31-2013)

  5. #18
    Bronze Member
    Points: 945, Level: 7
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 5
    Overall activity: 22.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Vienna/Austria
    Posts
    14
    Points
    945
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear NAVData

    many thanks. I also informed UPC (just mentioned that I have a problem with Streamium), and after restart I got all my presets and access to Online services...

    So, everything is working again… very happy…

    I would like to take an opportunity and to thanks to all contributors in this forum.

    Best,

    Matjaz

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Matjaz For This Useful Post:

    Philips - Rafal (10-31-2013)

  7. #19
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,536, Level: 67
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 814
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,696
    Points
    47,536
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    what did you "restart"?

    Toengel@Alex

  8. #20
    Bronze Member
    Points: 945, Level: 7
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 5
    Overall activity: 22.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Vienna/Austria
    Posts
    14
    Points
    945
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Alex, sorry for not be enough precise. After I told them (UPC) that I have a problem with Philips Streamium (and no problem with any other go my equipment which reach out to internet) and that Philips identified UPC that there may be a problem, I restarted modem/router and NP3700 and voila! somehow everything connected. Interesting, I did that countless times in last 5 days and nothing… and now, everything was OK… I really do not know what was a problem, but they solved it somehow…

    Best, Matjaz

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Matjaz For This Useful Post:

    Philips - Rafal (10-31-2013)

  10. #21
    New Member
    Points: 59, Level: 1
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 91
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    4
    Points
    59
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Just for info ... all ok now! Internet radio is back again ... Thanks again for the hint with UPC Austria!
    Greetings from a happy customer ;-)
    Richard

  11. #22
    Bronze Member
    Points: 945, Level: 7
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 5
    Overall activity: 22.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Vienna/Austria
    Posts
    14
    Points
    945
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Unfortunately, again " empty list". Somehow internet radio and online services are not very reliable here in Austria . Hope that it will be solves soon .
    Best,
    Matjaz

  12. #23
    Bronze Member
    Points: 945, Level: 7
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 5
    Overall activity: 22.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Vienna/Austria
    Posts
    14
    Points
    945
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear colleagues, the system is working again - online services and internet radio are ON-LINE and working…
    Kind regards,
    Matjaz

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Matjaz For This Useful Post:

    Philips - Rafal (11-13-2013)

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Topics

  1. monitor list empty!!
    By monikamansell in forum General Forum Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-20-2013, 08:36 PM
  2. WAS6050 - Internet Radio/Cannot connect to Internet Server
    By Fendel in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-15-2013, 03:09 PM
  3. Empty List on my Streamium NP3900
    By Kadri in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-09-2013, 07:20 AM
  4. <Empty List> Radio Issue
    By k1200rs in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 03-02-2012, 12:39 PM
  5. NP3900/12 won't play Radio/Online Services at all
    By Rohit in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-11-2012, 11:49 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •