Results 1 to 8 of 8
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 772, Level: 7
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 178
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    28
    Points
    772
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    8708 shuts down, black screen

    Hello
    I got my 8708 4 days ago and very satisfied.
    1 annoying problem that was posted in the past.
    I have from time to time a connectivity issue with HDMI port.
    From time to time the screen become black with sound on and after about 10 second the picture get back ( some times it happened twice in a row ). Also, i am not sure but sometimes also the sound is not working.
    The problem is that only the screen is off. The complete set is still on.
    I saw this similar threads from the past months.

    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...ll=1#post60672

    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...x8-series-2013

    Do you familiar with this issue?
    Is it software issue or it could be hardware problem?

    Regards,
    Amit

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 18,320, Level: 41
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 630
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,111
    Points
    18,320
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 104 Times in 88 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by amitgv1 View Post
    Hello
    I got my 8708 4 days ago and very satisfied.
    1 annoying problem that was posted in the past.
    I have from time to time a connectivity issue with HDMI port.
    From time to time the screen become black with sound on and after about 10 second the picture get back ( some times it happened twice in a row ). Also, i am not sure but sometimes also the sound is not working.
    The problem is that only the screen is off. The complete set is still on.
    I saw this similar threads from the past months.

    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...ll=1#post60672

    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...x8-series-2013

    Do you familiar with this issue?
    Is it software issue or it could be hardware problem?

    Regards,
    Amit

    Hi Amit,

    Please confirm the current software installed on the TV.

    HOME > [Setup] > [Software settings] > [Current software info]

    Best regards,
    Ina

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 772, Level: 7
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 178
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    28
    Points
    772
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    Hi Amit,

    Please confirm the current software installed on the TV.

    HOME > [Setup] > [Software settings] > [Current software info]

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Hi Ina
    Thanks for your reply.

    I upgraded to the last one - 171.056, but i understood i had to make reboot and unplug from power source.
    I made it yesterday.
    Let me check it for several days and i will update you

    Best regards,
    Amit

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 772, Level: 7
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 178
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    28
    Points
    772
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Ina
    After checking the TV a lot of time for the past weak, i can approve that its switch off when the hue light connected to the TV using Philips application on the IOS iPad. The application is " ambilight + hue".
    When this application is connected, from time to time the TV switch off for 20 seconds, then switch off again for about 20 seconds and then switch on automatically.

    Do you familiar with this problem ?

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 17,624, Level: 40
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,765
    Points
    17,624
    Level
    40
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Amit,

    i have forwarded your Feedback to our App Development Team to connect with the Hardware and check where the Issue comes from.

    Lets see what they can find out.

    Thanks and Regards
    Thomas

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 772, Level: 7
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 178
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    28
    Points
    772
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi Amit,

    i have forwarded your Feedback to our App Development Team to connect with the Hardware and check where the Issue comes from.

    Lets see what they can find out.

    Thanks and Regards
    Thomas
    Thanks a lot
    Looking forward for their finding

    Regards,
    Amit

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 18,320, Level: 41
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 630
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,111
    Points
    18,320
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 104 Times in 88 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by amitgv1 View Post
    Thanks a lot
    Looking forward for their finding

    Regards,
    Amit

    Hi amitgv1,

    Please try to update to SW version 173.44 and let us know if you are still experiencing this issue.

    Thank you!

    Ina
    Forum Mod

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 772, Level: 7
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 178
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    28
    Points
    772
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    Hi amitgv1,

    Please try to update to SW version 173.44 and let us know if you are still experiencing this issue.

    Thank you!

    Ina
    Thanks. It was solved in the new version

Similar Topics

  1. 42/pfl7008 shuts down, black screen
    By daan079 in forum TV: Software for the 7xx8 series
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-21-2013, 09:42 AM
  2. Black Screen.
    By Zemtex in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-18-2013, 11:12 AM
  3. Philips 42" tv screen shuts off at random intervals
    By asifkazimov in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-03-2013, 03:23 AM
  4. Black screen
    By Robbie86 in forum TV: Software 2012 models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-17-2012, 03:59 PM
  5. Black Screen
    By ginaharding in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-14-2011, 10:40 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •