Results 1 to 7 of 7
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 403, Level: 4
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 47
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    12
    Points
    403
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    USB SSD not working

    42PFL7606H/12 is my TV.

    I am trying to get a SSD connected to record/time-shift.
    Now the tv says the writing on the disk is too slow, say what!?!?!?!

    It worked once, but after I had to reset the tv, it won't anymore.
    Why not?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 15,415, Level: 37
    Level completed: 71%, Points required for next Level: 235
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,879
    Points
    15,415
    Level
    37
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 91 Times in 75 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by strandloper View Post
    42PFL7606H/12 is my TV.

    I am trying to get a SSD connected to record/time-shift.
    Now the tv says the writing on the disk is too slow, say what!?!?!?!

    It worked once, but after I had to reset the tv, it won't anymore.
    Why not?

    Hi strandloper,

    Does the SSD have it's own power supply? If it requires more than 500mA (very likely) then the TV cannot supply enough power through USB alone, which could be the issue.

    You say you reset your TV. Do you mean that you reset the factory settings or that you reinstalled the TV? Did you need to re-format the SSD after the reset?

    Best regards,
    Ina

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 403, Level: 4
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 47
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    12
    Points
    403
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Ina.

    No, this SSD does not have it's own power supply, that's why I specifically wanted this. It requires less than 500mA, do not ask me exactly what then, but when I bought it I knew I had to watch for that. So it is definately LESS.

    I have reset my TV all ways you can, and did have to re-format the SSD numerous times. And every time it says the writing speed is too low... And it has worked, during a vast period, not just a day or so, no, over half a year.

    I had way more problems with this TV, e.g. the on-off switching by itself. Seems I solved this by taking out the CI+ module and switching to a HD-decoder for the signal. While one of the important reasons to buy this TV was the fact I didn't need extra equipment. So, am I happy with my TV? Yes and no. It gives me a lot of headaches.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 15,580, Level: 37
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 97.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,610
    Points
    15,580
    Level
    37
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi strandloper,

    can you tell me what type of SSD it is escactly?
    Model/Brand

    Thanks
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 403, Level: 4
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 47
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    12
    Points
    403
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi strandloper,

    can you tell me what type of SSD it is escactly?
    Model/Brand

    Thanks
    Thomas
    It is a Samsung 840 series SSD. 128Gb

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 15,580, Level: 37
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 97.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,610
    Points
    15,580
    Level
    37
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Okay,

    and which external Case?

    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  7. #7
    Diamond Member
    Points: 49,889, Level: 69
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 1,261
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,933
    Points
    49,889
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 159 Times in 141 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    one test you can do is: format the SSD on your PC with NTFS and then again on your TV - maybe this helps.

    Toengel@Alex

Similar Topics

  1. 40PFL8606 .avi NOT working on DLNA but working on USB
    By youplaboom in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 08-21-2012, 09:12 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •