Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 27 of 27
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    Bronze Member
    Points: 885, Level: 7
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    30
    Points
    885
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Things I have noticed with the new Firmware.
    + Ambilight flickering is fixed, or atleast haven't noticed it.
    + Pointer in youtube is nice
    - Dynamic contrast setting has gotten a lot more aggressive. Which makes it worse cause even on standard setting it's jumping too drasticly so that you notice it constantly when watching content.

    Also,
    There is still a pixel shift bug in Game and PC modes (this has been reported also by last years models and fixed with FW updates there).

    Image is not fully centered / scaled properly, causing there to be about 5 pixels more visible on the left side of the panel. Also vertically there's about 1 line of pixels more visible on the top of the panel. Aspect ratio from TV set to unscaled.

    This is easily viewable when some games request to align your image marigins.

    Here's an example from COD MW3 Demo on PS3.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pv1.jpg 
Views:	85 
Size:	80.0 KB 
ID:	2258

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ph1.jpg 
Views:	65 
Size:	86.9 KB 
ID:	2259

    Also, I feel like shouting to a empty forest with this one, but please for the love of god try to make input lag lower with future FW updates.

    Quote Originally Posted by TNG View Post
    Flickering of Ambilight seems gone, but i still have issues with internet connectivity. Is there anybody over here using this TV with a wired (UTP) connection?
    Yup, connected to Internet via cable (wired). Mine's working just fine, actually when I was connected wireless it was a lot more unstable when using network-loady features like Youtube.

  2. #17
    New Member
    Points: 42, Level: 1
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 8
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    1
    Points
    42
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    When i go to satellite view and change channel i get a black screen and the sound. when i switch off the tv and start it again i do get the picture and the sound. when i go through guide the same happens. i do get the blend in internet link right bottom for a couple of seconds. I have already put on the last fw

  3. #18
    Moderator
    Points: 13,966, Level: 35
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,485
    Points
    13,966
    Level
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    which TV do you use exactly?

    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  4. #19
    New Member
    Points: 18, Level: 1
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 32
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    18
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Using the 55PFL8008S

    1. The menues are so slow it takes up to 3 seconds to switch in the menues.
    2. Taking up the options menu takes 5 seconds.
    3. Worst is the slow volume control, as I use that a lot. As all normal human beings do. (I just switched to using the MUTE now as it actually works as its supposed to)
    4. I still have bleed through in the lower edge (but I guess thats normal?)
    5. Bleed through (gray) in the lower corners and 20 cm in towards the middle are now better after the upgrade, but still there.

    Sounding a bit negative here, but I rather have ugly menues than transparent so slow it gives me .......

    Samsung really got you by the .... here

  5. #20
    New Member
    Points: 230, Level: 2
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    230
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    After updating to this latest software the ambilight top right corner is fixed, which is great. Unfortunately i know have issue with lip sync...previous version never had this issue...anybody else experiencing this as well?

  6. #21
    Moderator
    Points: 13,966, Level: 35
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,485
    Points
    13,966
    Level
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Tom,

    do you use internal Speakers or a Home Cinema System?

    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  7. #22
    New Member
    Points: 230, Level: 2
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 20
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    230
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Have a bose 3-2-1 strange thing is that before the update i did not have a problem. Also still see some flickering of the screen now and then...was told by philips repair service this would be resolved with the new software...is this still in the planning for next release?

  8. #23
    New Member
    Points: 201, Level: 2
    Level completed: 51%, Points required for next Level: 49
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    6
    Points
    201
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I also sometimes have lip sync problems on the speakers of the TV!? Mostly it happens on Nederland 3 HD Channel, viewing by CI+.

    Regarding the UTP problem, it seems that this TV does not like it when there is a switch between the TV and the router. When i connect the TV straight to the router there is not any problem, but when i put the switch in between then i have constant drop outs. Is this known to the engineers? Rest of my equipment works fine on the switch.

  9. #24
    Bronze Member
    Points: 423, Level: 4
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    23
    Points
    423
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    All setting reset to standard

    all my settings reset to standard today.
    After i change it to personal, i saw that all setting also changed to the default before i made any changes so i had to change again all settings.
    Someone familiar with that problem?
    Of course i am using this latest firmware
    I have 8708 TV model.
    Last edited by amitgv1; 12-07-2013 at 11:56 AM.

  10. #25
    Bronze Member
    Points: 758, Level: 7
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 192
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    36
    Points
    758
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TomHieltjes View Post
    After updating to this latest software the ambilight top right corner is fixed, which is great. Unfortunately i know have issue with lip sync...previous version never had this issue...anybody else experiencing this as well?
    I have lip sync issues too. My TV provider is Ziggo in The Netherlands and I usually watch TV through my Humax 5050C decoder which is connected to HDMI 1. But I also have lip sync issues when watching digital TV through the TV itself using a CI+ module.

    I have noticed that the issue only occurs with Dolby Digital audio streams. Most of the main TV channels give me the option of switching to a PCM 2.0 stereo stream and when I do, the lip sync issue disappears.

    I'm pretty sure this issue started with this firmware, I never noticed it before.

    I'm using the internal speakers by the way.

  11. #26
    Bronze Member
    Points: 458, Level: 5
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 92
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!250 Experience Points3 months registered

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Bucharest
    Posts
    24
    Points
    458
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MauriceW View Post
    I have lip sync issues too. My TV provider is Ziggo in The Netherlands and I usually watch TV through my Humax 5050C decoder which is connected to HDMI 1. But I also have lip sync issues when watching digital TV through the TV itself using a CI+ module.

    I have noticed that the issue only occurs with Dolby Digital audio streams. Most of the main TV channels give me the option of switching to a PCM 2.0 stereo stream and when I do, the lip sync issue disappears.

    I'm pretty sure this issue started with this firmware, I never noticed it before.

    I'm using the internal speakers by the way.
    Hi,
    Same here, the lip sync issue wasn't there before, now it is.. I thought it was something I did in the settings, but if you guys are also experiencing it...
    Seems like Philips did it again.. fix one issue, introduce 3 more...
    Please test your SW, Philips! And release something good with lots of fixes, because they are much needed!!
    I have the 40PFL8008S/12

  12. #27
    Moderator
    Points: 10,819, Level: 31
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 431
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive3 months registered10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,399
    Points
    10,819
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 65 Times in 52 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Lightbulb The new FW is now live

    This thread is now closed.
    For feedback on the new FW please use the following threads:

    Experience thread:
    http://philips.to/1jN3aB2

    Technical Feedback thread:
    http://philips.to/1bx4xQ1
    Forum Mod

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Topics

  1. Experience thread - FW v000.171.056.000 (171.56) - for 8xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips - Ina in forum TV: Software for the 8xx8 series
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 11-23-2013, 09:04 AM
  2. Experience thread - FW v000.171.051.000 (171.51) - for 8xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips - Ina in forum TV: Software for the 8xx8 series
    Replies: 68
    Last Post: 10-18-2013, 10:59 AM
  3. Experience thread - FW v000.171.049.000 (171.49) - for 8xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips - Ina in forum TV: Software for the 8xx8 series
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-12-2013, 04:13 PM
  4. Experience thread - FW v000.064.018.000 (64.18) - for 8xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips - Benedickte in forum TV: Software for the 8xx8 series
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-05-2013, 08:22 AM
  5. Experience thread - FW v000.064.015.000 (64.15) - for 8xx8 series - 2013
    By Philips in forum TV: Software for the 8xx8 series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2013, 08:41 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •