Results 1 to 14 of 14
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,250, Level: 69
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 900
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,961
    Points
    50,250
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9

    Thumbs up Experience thread - FW v000.173.042.000 (173.42) - for 7x08 Series - 2013

    Hi,

    The new FW is live. For technical feedback (pos. and neg. points) please post here:
    http://goo.gl/smQNm8

    This thread is more for details and discussions.
    This FW is applicable to EU models only.

    IMPORTANT: After upgrading your TV, it is necessary to perform a "cold start". This means that, after the TV is running again (after the update), shut down the TV, wait 1 minute (till all components are shut down), and unplug the TV from the mains (pull power cord) for 2 minutes before starting again.


    Changelog:

    QF2EU-0.173.42.0 (Date published: 2013-11-20)
    ∑ Solution for Take Away Display(TAD) when there are 3 or more TVís in the network using IOS7.
    ∑ Solution for 3D not available on Youtube.
    ∑ Solution for Skype - Handling of Microsoft ID.
    ∑ Solution for Ambilight flicker in 24Hz Videos (to be verified)
    ∑ Solution for TV crashin while Using Ambilight+Hue App

    QF2EU-0.171.56.0 (Date published: 2013-09-05)


    • Improvements in quick startup implementation.
    • Solution for screen edges reset.


    QF2EU-0.171.51.0 (Date published: 2013-07-11)


    • Solution to use Netflix.
    • Solution regarding installation issue in Switzerland.
    • Solution regarding MHP application.


    QF2EU_0.171.49.0 (Date published: 2013-07-05)


    • Enabling DTS for 7000/8000/9000
    • Wifi smart screen for Android devices (requires Philips MyRemote app)
    • New application Multi Room TV watching.
    • New version of YouTubeLeanBack.
    • Improvement of the MyRemote App at the level of the TV-guide and control on Smart Phones.
    • Improvement about installation Czech UPC cable.
    • Improvement about BBC i-player movies not working.
    • Improvement to have the favourite channels on top via IP-EPG.
    • Improvement for the Social TV app.
    • Improvement about the crackling/loud plopping noise when switching on HDMI equipment.
    • Improvement for the remote control pairing in virgin mode.
    • Improvement to avoid to have only vertical lines but to have picture at startup.
    • Improvement to avoid reboots when playing 3D via Blu-ray or Astra 3D.
    • Improvement to get positive DVB-S Unicable installation with Technisat equipment.


    QF2EU_0.68.18.0 (Date published: 2013-04-12)


    • Solution about consistent behaviour of the EXIT key.
    • Home screen adaptation for Germany. (Kabel/Antennen Fernsehen)
    • Hebrew text disabled in Now en Next + 8 days EPG. (Mainly solved for Israel market)
    • Improvement stability behaviour when starting up from HDMI source.
    • Live TXT subtitles from broadcast no longer shown during playback of a recording without
    • BBC iPlayer, video and radio program is functioning again.
    • Solution about sometimes no connection to Philips Smart TV portal during virgin installation.


    Toengel@Alex
    Last edited by Philips - Ina; 12-05-2013 at 08:55 AM. Reason: added changelog

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Toengel For This Useful Post:

    gstw (11-26-2013)

  3. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 517, Level: 5
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 33
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    33
    Points
    517
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    After I have used Smart TV / Netflix and coming back to source TV, I get flickering horizontal lines at the bottom edge of the screen. To remove these disturbance I need to choose another source e.g. usb or network and then change back to TV. It is like the TV resets the image then. I tried to use source HDMI to reset, but then the entire screen shows disturbances in green/blue/red colour a second before the HDMI source turns on. When changing back to TV still the disturbances. So only source USB or Network seems to reset it. So far only Netflix app causing this issue.

    Had same issue on the previous SW version. Any fix to this?

  4. #3
    New Member
    Points: 32, Level: 1
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 18
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1
    Points
    32
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Toengel,
    first of all please update changelog for new version QF2EU-0.173.42.0 and correct model year in topic starter!
    Best regards
    Udo61

  5. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,250, Level: 69
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 900
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,961
    Points
    50,250
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    1) I don't have a changelog
    2) I can't change thread titles

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #5
    New Member
    Points: 218, Level: 2
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 32
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    4
    Points
    218
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Please developers to improve the speed of the firmware.
    Best regards

  7. #6
    New Member
    Points: 216, Level: 2
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!100 Experience Points3 months registered

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    216
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    I've got problem with DTS 2.0 + Digital Out on my 42PFL7008K. According to the manual and FW changelog this TV should decode DTS 5.1 to 2.0 sound and pass it through digital out as multichannel (for external decoder). Event when I set "Multichannel" as sound output format in the menu, it doesn't work with DTS. Devices (BD Players, PS3) recognize this TV as unable to decode DTS and send 2.0 stereo sound over HDMI. If I force PS3 (which allows to do that) to send DTS over HDMI anyway, there is nothing but silence in the TV speakers and extremely distorted sound is passed through the digital out.
    The very same configuration works flawlessly with Dolby Digital.
    Am I doing something wrong or is it a bug in the TV firmware? If this is a bug - please fix it soon since loosing DTS because of a TV seems like a serious flaw.
    Last edited by mrluck; 11-29-2013 at 07:15 PM.

  8. #7
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,250, Level: 69
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 900
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,961
    Points
    50,250
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    DTS is currently only supported via USB source or DLNA. Not via HDMI input.

    Toengel@Alex

  9. #8
    New Member
    Points: 216, Level: 2
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!100 Experience Points3 months registered

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    5
    Points
    216
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    I've checked DTS over DLNA and it really works (haven't checked passthrough). However I'm looking forward to see full DTS support over HDMI. Is Philips going to introduce this feature in one of the upcoming FW updates? This information is quite important for me to plan my home theater upgrades...

    Best regards,

    Lucas

  10. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,250, Level: 69
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 900
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,961
    Points
    50,250
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    nobody at Philips is willing to answer that question, if DTS will be supported via HDMI input. You don't know, how long I asked for that answer...

    Toengel@Alex

  11. #10
    Points: 17, Level: 1
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 33
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    17
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    I've just bought 55PFL7008K. TV is really nice, and quite an upgrade from the previous one, but unfortunately there are issues with PC/Game mode. As stated in this topic title: picture moves around 5 pixel (is hard to tell exactly) right when in PC/Game mode and as a result picture is clipped on the right and there is black bar on the left. With PC/Game mode turned off everything is fine (except for lag).

    Picture is unscaled, so I cannot shift it. Signal source can be PC (1920x1080p 60Hz) or PS3, it doesn't matter. Overscan in PC is turned off. TV Software version is QF2EU-0.173.42.0 (newest at the moment).
    I should add that the same setup (TV begin the only difference) with my previous TV (46PFL5605H) worked flawlessly.

    Quick Google turned up some interesting results. It seems that the same issue bugged last year TV series, but was fixed with software update: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...00-Series-2012

    Changelog:
    ...
    . Solution for picture moves 5 pixel right when in PC/Game mode.
    ...

    Has someone encountered this issue before? Are there any workarounds (except turning off Game mode )? Can someone suggest next curse of action, where can i report that bug (I have already contacted my local Philips support, and waiting for answer)?

  12. #11
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    hi there i have a big Problem with the new Firmware:


    in some Scenes i see ghostings, stripes. i use the internal sat tunner. it Looks like i see sd material. it is in every hd tv Station. if i look sd tv.. ver very poor. it Comes with the new fw.. can some one provide me with a solution......

  13. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 517, Level: 5
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 33
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    33
    Points
    517
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The TV can randomly just shut off, does anyone know what this can be?

  14. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 830, Level: 7
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 120
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    12
    Points
    830
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by qlaz View Post
    The TV can randomly just shut off, does anyone know what this can be?
    I have the same problem since firmware 173.42; random shut offs and sometimes even random turn ons.
    Driving me nuts; reflashed the firmware, reset of all settings, factory restore; problem persists...

  15. #14
    Moderator
    Points: 15,986, Level: 38
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 464
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,928
    Points
    15,986
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 97 Times in 81 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Lightbulb The new FW is now live

    This thread is now closed.
    For feedback on the new FW please use the following threads:

    Experience thread:
    http://philips.to/1kz4dC5

    Technical Feedback thread:
    http://philips.to/1bx4xQ1
    Forum Mod

Similar Topics

  1. Experience thread - FW v000.173.042.000 (173.42) - for 8xx8 Series - 2013
    By Toengel in forum TV: Software for the 8xx8 series
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 12-11-2013, 12:05 PM
  2. Experience thread - FW v000.171.049.000 (171.49) - for 8xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips - Ina in forum TV: Software for the 8xx8 series
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-12-2013, 04:13 PM
  3. Experience thread - FW v000.064.015.000 (64.15) - for 8xx8 series - 2013
    By Philips in forum TV: Software for the 8xx8 series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2013, 08:41 AM
  4. Experience thread - FW v000.064.015.000 (64.15) - for 7xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips in forum TV: Software for the 7xx8 series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2013, 08:37 AM
  5. Experience thread - FW v000.064.015.000 (64.15) - for 6xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips in forum TV: Software for the 6xx8 series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2013, 08:14 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •