Results 1 to 10 of 10
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,392, Level: 10
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 158
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    35
    Points
    1,392
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Remote feed voltage 5V 46PFL9705K

    Hello.

    Does anyone know if and perhaps how my TV is capable of supplying an active DVB-T antenna?

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,383, Level: 70
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 1,167
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,033
    Points
    51,383
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    very good question... I'd like also to know the answer...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,881, Level: 12
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 269
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    26
    Points
    1,881
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The TV doesn't support any active DVB-T antenna, it does support LNB supply for sattelite via the DVB-S tuner.

    With kind regards, Samson.

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,912, Level: 12
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 238
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    77
    Points
    1,912
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Ontracker View Post
    Hello.

    Does anyone know if and perhaps how my TV is capable of supplying an active DVB-T antenna?
    If you do not use the USB plug, you could take the power from there. Just take a USB cable and cut it in half. Between the red and black wire there is 5V DC. If you are not experienced in electronics, don't take the risk of damaging your TV, use an external power adaptor.

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,383, Level: 70
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 1,167
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,033
    Points
    51,383
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    some DVB-T antennas have a seperate USB connector for power supply (for PCs)...

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    158
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Something like this would solve your problem:

    http://www.sunelectronics.gr/index.p...roductID=22605

    Better than messing up with your TV.
    Last edited by carlosfm; 05-06-2011 at 04:36 PM.

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,392, Level: 10
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 158
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    35
    Points
    1,392
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I don't want to be to fussy but let me now conclude some things:

    1. Philips fucuses on DVB-T (and -C maybe) on this machine what is not very smart if you compare the quality of signal and display and EPG (other thread), but why not bring it to the top with DVB-T and add feed voltage?
    2. Everyones focussing, forced by law, to have low standy-by-power and i should use a permanently running or additionally switched (uncomfortable!) supply to have DVB-T????

    I'm an engineer but if i offer such an obviously half baked product at this level of price and offer no lifetime support and upgrade i won't sell anything

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    158
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    You're not supposed to have feed voltage on any TV, only on satellite receivers.
    Philips (and others) TVs in Brazil have internal DVB-S (satellite) tuners.
    There are devices that feed voltage to an antenna mounted amplifier but this is dedicated hardware for external antenna installations. The DC voltage doesn't get to your TV, there are coupling caps that eliminate it.
    It seems that you want to use a cheap active internal antenna that doesn't even have a DC input plug, correct me if I'm wrong?
    Last edited by carlosfm; 05-07-2011 at 06:22 PM.

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,392, Level: 10
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 158
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    35
    Points
    1,392
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    In my region i have to use an external antenna with high amplification due to a long wire to the tv and i'm not allowed do install the antenna on the roof. So it is difficult to install a second wire for the supply or find a plug near the antenna.

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    158
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Then the device on the link I've posted above is just what you need. It can be placed near the TV.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •