Results 1 to 10 of 10
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,220, Level: 13
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 230
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    32
    Points
    2,220
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Problem turning tv on with remote controller

    Hello everyone:

    I have just bought a Philips 46pfl8008s/12 and I have a problem trying to switch it on using the remote controller. My firmware version is 000.173.042.000.

    I turn off the tv using the on/off button in the remote controller. When I push the button again to turn it on, the tv does not turn on. The red led doesn’t even twink. I tried pressing red and blue to link the controller with the tv but it doesn´t work. Also I tried with different settings: quick start on, quick start off… but in the end I have to stand up, turn off the tv with the button behind the panel, and turn in on with the same button.

    Have anyone experienced/solved the same problem? Can anyone help me or at least tell me which Quick Start settings do I need in my tv?

    Thank you very much.

    Kind regards,
    HopelessHC

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,220, Level: 13
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 230
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    32
    Points
    2,220
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Any help to re-install the factory firmware? I don't want to send the tv to technical support. third Philips tv and third tv that has bugs... I don't want it to be the third tv that goes to technical support for such a small problem

    Can any administrator give any advice?

    thank you very much

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Points: 17,361, Level: 40
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 689
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,750
    Points
    17,361
    Level
    40
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    So,

    you have tried lots of thing you wrote.
    That is good, but, where you able to power the TV on with any of that tests?
    If so, with which one?

    Regards
    Thomas

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,220, Level: 13
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 230
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    32
    Points
    2,220
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Tests

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    So,

    you have tried lots of thing you wrote.
    That is good, but, where you able to power the TV on with any of that tests?
    If so, with which one?

    Regards
    Thomas
    Hello Thomas,

    It worked with one of the tests, but just the first try. I don't remember which one was succesful so I'll repeat the tests at night and I'll post the data.

    What I can tell you is that now I have 'quick start' OFF and 'disconnection timer' = 0 and it doesn't power the tv on.
    (Sorry if 'quick start' and 'disconnection timer' are not the real names of the settings in the menu, i'm translating from spanish). If you need to know about other additional settings, please let me know.

    Thank you very much for your time.

    Kind regards,
    HopelessHC

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,220, Level: 13
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 230
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    32
    Points
    2,220
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Tests results

    Good morning,

    Here are the results of the different settings:
    1- Timer=0, Quick start off --> Failed
    2- Timer=0, Quick start auto --> Ok, on the first try, failed all the next tries
    3- Timer=0, Quick start manual, waiting time off, current time IN one of the three intervals defined --> Failed
    4- Timer=0, Quick start manual, waiting time off, current time NOT IN any of the intervals defined --> Failed
    5- Timer=0, Quick start auto, disconnection time=240 --> Failed
    For the first 4 tests: Disconnection timer OFF.
    For all the failed tests: when I press on/off, home, ok, ch+ or ch- the red doesn't even blink. The led did it just on the successful test.

    Any idea of different values for the settings? I wouldn't like to have Quick Start on, so I think that the solution should go in a way close to test 1.

    I made a factory reset and a settings reset, but the firmware version was still the last I installed.

    Thank you very much for your help,
    HopelessHC

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,220, Level: 13
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 230
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    32
    Points
    2,220
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    The problem again

    Hello Thomas,

    Three days ago the remote controller began powering on the tv without problem, but yesterday it stopped working once again.

    I watched a mkv movie from a hdd and later I watched photographs from PS3 through hdmi port. I think that the problem could return because of playing PS3 because the last time happened the same.

    Now I can't power it off and sometimes the number/volumen/Smart tv buttons doesn't work.

    Does anybody have any suggestion?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 17,247, Level: 39
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 3
    Overall activity: 94.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,037
    Points
    17,247
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 102 Times in 86 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by hopelesshc View Post
    Now I can't power it off and sometimes the number/volumen/Smart tv buttons doesn't work.

    Does anybody have any suggestion?

    Thanks

    Hi hopelesshc,

    I would sugguest you try to un-pair, reset and re-pair your remote control the following way:

    1. Press FORMAT + Mute + 0 simultaneously for more than 2 seconds.

    2. Press HOME button once to check if the remote is successfully unpaired (- menu should not appear nor disappear).

    3. Without pressing any other buttons, remove the batteries and place the remote keyboard side up on a flat surface. Press down firmly but carefully so all buttons are depressed for 4-5 seconds.

    4. Reinsert the batteries and try to pair the remote with Red and Blue button as previous.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,220, Level: 13
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 230
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    32
    Points
    2,220
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Sorry for the delay, but I have been working abroad.

    I tried this solution and just worked the first time. Next time I tried to power on it didn't work. I have returned the tv and bought a new one from another brand.

    Thanks everybody for the support,
    regards

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 168, Level: 2
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    8
    Points
    168
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hopelesshc View Post
    Sorry for the delay, but I have been working abroad.

    I tried this solution and just worked the first time. Next time I tried to power on it didn't work. I have returned the tv and bought a new one from another brand.

    Thanks everybody for the support,
    regards
    I have exactly same problem but with 42PFL6008 model with newest software 173.45 and I am thinking to return it too if no one from support stuff cant help me.

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Points: 17,247, Level: 39
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 3
    Overall activity: 94.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,037
    Points
    17,247
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 102 Times in 86 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by BorisMarku Markus View Post
    I have exactly same problem but with 42PFL6008 model with newest software 173.45 and I am thinking to return it too if no one from support stuff cant help me.

    Hi,

    Have you tried the above mentioned sugguestions?

    Please also report this in teh software threads if yes.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

Similar Topics

  1. PicoPix 2480 : How to turn it off from remote controller
    By nullix in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-28-2013, 05:42 PM
  2. Turning tv from AV channel to TV without remote
    By Lizf1 in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-08-2013, 07:47 PM
  3. Problem with BDP9600 when turning on
    By mayama in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-21-2011, 09:28 PM
  4. Remote controller's symbol for DCM378/12
    By nowakka in forum Sound: Mini/Micro Audio System Product Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-30-2011, 06:48 AM
  5. Remote controller's symbol for DCM378/12
    By nowakka in forum Sound: Audio Systems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-30-2011, 06:48 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •