Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 92, Level: 1
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 58
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    6
    Points
    92
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Angry Missing character set menu on USB movies

    Hello,

    The device is working fine, but on some usb movies that I play I'm not able to change the subtitles' character set to Cyrillic, and I need that option. The menu is just missing when I press the Options button on my remote. With most of the files it's there and it works perfectly, but sometimes it's missing (I think for mp4 files mainly). This is just stupid for a working feature. I don't want to have feature that my device doesn't support. I just want to have access to the features that I'd paid for.

    Thanks,
    Ned

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 6,187, Level: 23
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 363
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!5000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Sarka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    560
    Points
    6,187
    Level
    23
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear NinjaS,

    Thank you for your post on the Forum. Can you please let me know the model number of your device and the media format you want to playback?

    Thank you.

    Kind regards,
    Sarka
    Philips Moderation Team

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 92, Level: 1
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 58
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    6
    Points
    92
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Sure, my bad. I forgot to mention the model. It's PHILIPS HTS-3583.

    About the media format.. The "character set" menu is missing for MP4 files. Actually for MP4 files the "subtitles shift" menu is also missing, but "subtitles language" menu is there, the subtitles are loaded property and displayed on the screen, but with wrong encoding. So I think it's not that the MP4 format can't reproduce subtitles. It can.

    I think this will be a matter of new firmware changes, which means that it will be probably never solved As a second question, do you have any information when there will be new firmware updates?

    Thanks,
    Ned

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,394, Level: 10
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 156
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    205
    Points
    1,394
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Hey NinjaS,

    there's also the list with the supported formats which might be helpful for you: http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/g...2models.pdf%22

    Btw, are you using the external subtitles? Have you tried different sources? It could be also affected by the type of the container and all the features....

    V.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 92, Level: 1
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 58
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    6
    Points
    92
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi, Vaga,

    Thanks for your reply. It's not about the video format. I play mp4 files without any problem, the subtitles are also loaded and displayed correctly if they are in latin, but if they are in cyrillic they are displayed as strange symbols. Usually I switch the character encoding from the menu to cyrillic and everything goes great, but that works for .avi, .mkv and others. For mp4 files this menu is missing in the options, which is strange.

    Regards,

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 6,187, Level: 23
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 363
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!5000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Sarka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    560
    Points
    6,187
    Level
    23
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear NinjaS,

    thank you for information provided.
    Can you please try to press the option menu during the playback? There should be the 'Character set option'. If this option is not available, could you please provide the screenshot of this menu?

    Thank you.

    Kind regards,
    Sarka

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 92, Level: 1
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 58
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    6
    Points
    92
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Sure


    On this first screenshot you can see me playing .avi file. The Character Set menu is there and i've changed the encoding to cyrillic. As you can see, the subtitles in the bottom are displayed correctly.


    On this second screenshot I'm playing .mp4 file. You can see the options menu - no Character Set menu visible here. Subtitle Shift menu is missing, too. But as you can see, the subtitles on the movie are loaded and displayed, but they are just not readable.

    Thank you.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Points: 6,187, Level: 23
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 363
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!5000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Sarka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    560
    Points
    6,187
    Level
    23
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Thank you very much for the screenshots. Our team is looking into this issue at the moment. I will let you know as soon as I hear from them.

    Thank you for understanding.

    Kind regards,
    Sarka

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Philips - Sarka For This Useful Post:

    NinjaS (12-16-2013)

  10. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 6,187, Level: 23
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 363
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!5000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Sarka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    560
    Points
    6,187
    Level
    23
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear NinjaS,

    The issue was checked with the team and the result is that HTS3583 does not support to select subtitles for MP4 files. The subtitles are directly compressed to MP4 files but the subtitles for AVI files or MKV files are added seperately. Therefore, we still can select the subtitles from AVI and MKV files.

    Sorry for any inconvenience this may case.

    Kind regards,
    Sarka

  11. #10
    New Member
    Points: 92, Level: 1
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 58
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    6
    Points
    92
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thank you so much, Sarka. However I still don't understand what you are trying to explain to me. What do you mean by "HTS3583 does not support to select subtitles for MP4 files"?! Yes, it supports. I can use any subtitles, I can change, select from several, etc.. The problem is in the encoding. And what is this "The subtitles are directly compressed to MP4 files". No, they are not. I have separate mp4 files and separate 2 language subtitles in separate files. The HTS3583 loads them. They are not compressed in the mp4 file. They works just like the AVI and MKV from external STR or SUB or TXT file, but when I switch to cyrillic subtitles the encoding goes wrong and the menu for switching is missing. Don't try to blur my eyes I perfectly know that this is a firmware problem. A simple update can fix this, because the functionally is there, just the stupid encoding menu is not. Anyway, thank you for your answers. The sad thing is that this is not written anywhrere in the manuals or in the specifications. There is nowhere described, that this model doesn't support cyrillic subtitles in mp4 files.. Too bad..

    Thank you once again and have a great winter holidays,
    Ned

  12. #11
    New Member
    Points: 16, Level: 1
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3
    Points
    16
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    I have the same problem with my BDP3250/12 Blue Ray DVD player. In mp4 it does not display the menu for character encoding for subtitles in order to switch them to Greek, and whatever I do (use one .srt file with the same name as the .mp4 file, save it in UTF8 encoding, verifying that it displays correctly in Notepad++), it displays the Greek subtitles in unreadable form. I updated the S/W with the latest available update bdp3250_12_fus_eng.zip but nothing changed. I believe it should be a matter of S/W fixing, I don't see any other way of solving it. Can somebody from Philips support or anyone who has solved this problem please provide help as it is really annoying?

  13. #12
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,532, Level: 70
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 1,018
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,037
    Points
    51,532
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    what's happening if you rename the MP4 into MKV?

    Toengel@Alex

  14. #13
    New Member
    Points: 16, Level: 1
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3
    Points
    16
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks Toengel,

    It doesn't work. BTW, I use the USB. Any other hint?

    Thanks again!

  15. #14
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,532, Level: 70
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 1,018
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,037
    Points
    51,532
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    goto www.xmedia-recode.de and download the tool. Load your MP4 (make stream copy for audio and video). Then you can import your SRT subtitle. This will embed your SRT into the MP4.

    Toengel@Alex

  16. #15
    New Member
    Points: 16, Level: 1
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3
    Points
    16
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks, I am running it but it needs a lot of time (3h+)... If there is a faster solution, I would be grateful.

    Thank you!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Subtitle character size.
    By marcveen in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-16-2013, 08:03 AM
  2. Change character on 40pfl5507k/12
    By slobadaca in forum TV: 3D
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-06-2013, 03:52 PM
  3. No character encoding with mp4?
    By mytbyte in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-18-2012, 08:35 AM
  4. BDP5100/12: "Character set" option for subs missing while playing mp4 videos
    By stoyan89 in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-28-2012, 03:04 PM
  5. BDP7600 remember Character set?
    By Klecko in forum Blu-ray: BDP7000 Series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-03-2012, 09:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •