Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 100
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Moderator
    Points: 19,060, Level: 42
    Level completed: 13%, Points required for next Level: 790
    Overall activity: 92.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,159
    Points
    19,060
    Level
    42
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 104 Times in 88 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Thumbs up Experience thread - FW v000.173.044.000 (173.44) - for 6xx8 Series - 2013

    Hi,

    The new FW is live. For technical feedback (pos. and neg. points) please post here:
    http://philips.to/1bx4xQ1

    This thread is more for details and discussions.
    This FW is applicable to EU models only.

    IMPORTANT: After upgrading your TV, it is necessary to perform a "cold start". This means that, after the TV is running again (after the update), shut down the TV, wait 1 minute (till all components are shut down), and unplug the TV from the mains (pull power cord) for 2 minutes before starting again.


    Changelog:

    QF2EU-0.173.44.0 (Date published: 2013-12-10)
    • Solution for half of the HD subtitles that are not displayed.
    • Unicable implementation shall support a user selected LO frequency.
    • Introduction of DVB-T profile full in case of Bulgaria.
    • Introduction Chinese language in Fusion and also (again ) on Android.
    • Solution for Telenet, during wintertime clock is still according summer time (+ 1 hour).
    • Solution about "You have connected a CAM" osd is seen coming up while navigating through TV Guide.
    • Improvement with Ambilight Hue set up configured.
    • Solution to avoid that during installation you gets failure for Romania country, when selecting "Other" as Operator.
    • Solution so that Sky Bundesliga SD and Sky Select SD services shall always be installed.



    QF2EU-0.173.42.0 (Date published: 2013-11-20)
    • Solution for Take Away Display (TAD) when there are 3 or more TVís in the network using IOS7.
    • Solution for 3D not available on YouTube.
    • Solution for Skype - Handling of Microsoft ID.
    • Solution for Ambilight flicker in 24Hz Videos (to be verified)
    • Solution for TV crashing while Using Ambilight+Hue App


    QF2EU-0.171.56.0 (Date published: 2013-09-05)
    • Improvements in quick startup implementation.
    • Solution for screen edges reset.


    QF2EU-0.171.51.0 (Date published: 2013-07-11)
    • Solution to use Netflix.
    • Solution regarding installation issue in Switzerland.
    • Solution regarding MHP application.


    QF2EU_0.171.49.0 (Date published: 2013-07-05)
    • Enabling DTS for 7000/8000/9000
    • Wifi smart screen for Android devices (requires Philips MyRemote app)
    • New application Multi Room TV watching.
    • New version of YouTubeLeanBack.
    • Improvement of the MyRemote App at the level of the TV-guide and control on Smart Phones.
    • Improvement about installation Czech UPC cable.
    • Improvement about BBC i-player movies not working.
    • Improvement to have the favourite channels on top via IP-EPG.
    • Improvement for the Social TV app.
    • Improvement about the crackling/loud plopping noise when switching on HDMI equipment.
    • Improvement for the remote control pairing in virgin mode.
    • Improvement to avoid to have only vertical lines but to have picture at startup.
    • Improvement to avoid reboots when playing 3D via Blu-ray or Astra 3D.
    • Improvement to get positive DVB-S Unicable installation with Technisat equipment.


    QF2EU_0.68.18.0 (Date published: 2013-04-12)
    • Solution about consistent behaviour of the EXIT key.
    • Home screen adaptation for Germany. (Kabel/Antennen Fernsehen)
    • Hebrew text disabled in Now en Next + 8 days EPG. (Mainly solved for Israel market)
    • Improvement stability behaviour when starting up from HDMI source.
    • Live TXT subtitles from broadcast no longer shown during playback of a recording without
    • BBC iPlayer, video and radio program is functioning again.
    • Solution about sometimes no connection to Philips Smart TV portal during virgin installation.


    Best regards,
    Ina
    Last edited by Philips - Ina; 12-11-2013 at 02:27 PM. Reason: added changelog
    Forum Mod

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,416, Level: 70
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 134
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    52,416
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,


    currently the downloaded ZIP files contains a UPG file, which needs to be renamed to "autorun.upg" if you want to install the update via USB stick.


    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,618, Level: 11
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 232
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    145
    Points
    1,618
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 25 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Model: 47PFL6008K/12

    Hello,

    I just installed the new firmware (173.44). Unfortunately the TV is still crashing with playing movies from the NAS server and with Smart-Tv funtions. Using this functions, sometimes the TV is turning off by itself.... and turning on again in the TV modus. I tried both: Wired connection and wireless (WIFI). My broadband connection is 40 mbps. so that should be more than enough.


    I am curious if another users have simular experiences like me with the PFL6008 series.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 657, Level: 6
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    18
    Points
    657
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    It happened to me too, I returned it to where I bought.

    Instead I'm having this bad bad BAD issue after the upgrade.

    My tv is a 47PFL6158S. I was upgrading from QF2EU-0.173.42.0 to the last version and while it was upgrading I got an error saying the firmware could not be upgraded, to turn the tv off and restart it.

    I did it. Well, I tried, because my tv now can't start anymore.

    The screen is totally off and after a few minutes in this state the red led, which is usually lit when the TV is switched off, starts to blink every 1-2 seconds.

    This is only the last of many many issues this tv has shown since last August, when I bought it (not to mention the one I returned after 5 days for the same issue of Jarnimo).

    Now, what I have to do?

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,618, Level: 11
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 232
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    145
    Points
    1,618
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 25 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    @ Berek;
    Sounds like an interupted upgrade... I think you have to contact your local Philips helpdek.
    Maybe they have a way to recover it. (in recovery modus or something...)
    Make sure that you have a USB stick with latest firmware before calling them.
    Maybe they can help you step by step.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 19,060, Level: 42
    Level completed: 13%, Points required for next Level: 790
    Overall activity: 92.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,159
    Points
    19,060
    Level
    42
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 104 Times in 88 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Berek View Post
    It happened to me too, I returned it to where I bought.

    Instead I'm having this bad bad BAD issue after the upgrade.

    My tv is a 47PFL6158S. I was upgrading from QF2EU-0.173.42.0 to the last version and while it was upgrading I got an error saying the firmware could not be upgraded, to turn the tv off and restart it.

    I did it. Well, I tried, because my tv now can't start anymore.

    The screen is totally off and after a few minutes in this state the red led, which is usually lit when the TV is switched off, starts to blink every 1-2 seconds.

    This is only the last of many many issues this tv has shown since last August, when I bought it (not to mention the one I returned after 5 days for the same issue of Jarnimo).

    Now, what I have to do?

    Hi Berek,

    Could you let us know if you were updating via USB or Network?

    At what point did the update stall? There are blue 3 bars during an update:
    Loading...
    Validating...
    Programming...
    Do you know at what point it stopped?

    Please do contact customer services if your TV isn't starting up. But try to leave it without power for an hour or two to see if the TV recovers, then try the update again.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 657, Level: 6
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    18
    Points
    657
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes, it was indeed an interrupted upgrade, but interrupted by the tv itself. No manual or electrical issues occurred while the tv was upgrading from USB key. It just stopped, saying the upgrade wasn't successful and to restart the tv.

    Anyway this morning I callled the local support phone number. They told me to plug the power cord in the power socket while pressing the ON/OFF button on the tv for about 15 seconds. They say this will completely reset my tv.

    I will try this when I'll come back home tonight, but I'm doubtful, I have a bad feeling about this (also because yesterday my old 37PFL9632 got a beautiful vertical purple line across the screen)... damn I hate this...

    EDIT: @Ina The update was made via a USB stick. It stopped in the middle of the last part (the programming one). I already tried to let the tv unplugged for several hours (actually the whole night) but nothing changed...
    Last edited by Berek; 12-12-2013 at 02:15 PM.

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,618, Level: 11
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 232
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    145
    Points
    1,618
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 25 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Dear Ina,

    Is philips going to solve the network related problems with a firmware update. I see so many people having problems with it. TV's crashing and hanging.... I suppose Philips technisians know about these issues. My Tv crashes often when i enter my NAS and sometimes with the SmartTv functions.

    With Kind Regards, Jarno.
    Last edited by Jarnimo; 12-12-2013 at 03:10 PM.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 19,060, Level: 42
    Level completed: 13%, Points required for next Level: 790
    Overall activity: 92.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,159
    Points
    19,060
    Level
    42
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 104 Times in 88 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Berek View Post
    EDIT: @Ina The update was made via a USB stick. It stopped in the middle of the last part (the programming one). I already tried to let the tv unplugged for several hours (actually the whole night) but nothing changed...

    Hi Berek,

    If you haven't contacted customer support yet, please try the following to see if you can recover the old firmware:

    1. Unplug from power mains
    2. Wait 30 seconds
    3. Plug back into power mains
    4. Wait 1 minute

    Repeat this 2 more times.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Forum Mod

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Points: 19,060, Level: 42
    Level completed: 13%, Points required for next Level: 790
    Overall activity: 92.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3,159
    Points
    19,060
    Level
    42
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 104 Times in 88 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Jarnimo View Post
    Dear Ina,

    Is philips going to solve the network related problems with a firmware update. I see so many people having problems with it. TV's crashing and hanging.... I suppose Philips technisians know about these issues. My Tv crashes often when i enter my NAS and sometimes with the SmartTv functions.

    With Kind Regards, Jarno.

    Hi Jarno,

    We are always working on improving the stability of our TVs. As to what is being improved when, I am unfortuantely not at liberty to divulge, even if I knew.

    We appreciate all feedback about the software and all feedback is taken seriously.

    [Edit: question removed, already answered]

    Best regards,
    Ina
    Last edited by Philips - Ina; 12-13-2013 at 01:48 PM. Reason: Removed superfluous question
    Forum Mod

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Philips - Ina For This Useful Post:

    Jarnimo (12-13-2013)

  12. #11
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,618, Level: 11
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 232
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    145
    Points
    1,618
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 25 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    @ Ina,

    Thanks for your reply. I see that the software have improved when i compare it with months ago.
    It became more fast and better to use.

    The unique wish that i have now is that the TV works better with my NAS and other internet related services (smarttv).

    Sometimes my TV is crashing and restarting without a reason. This often happens when i am entering my NAS and sometimes with Smart Tv functions. I have a new router with a 40 Mbps connection so that should be fast enough.

    Best Regards,
    Jarno.

  13. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 657, Level: 6
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    18
    Points
    657
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Ina View Post
    Hi Berek,

    If you haven't contacted customer support yet, please try the following to see if you can recover the old firmware:

    1. Unplug from power mains
    2. Wait 30 seconds
    3. Plug back into power mains
    4. Wait 1 minute

    Repeat this 2 more times.

    Best regards,
    Ina
    I've tried it but nothing has changed. I just had a phone call with the local user support. They'll come to get the tv...

  14. #13
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,618, Level: 11
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 232
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    145
    Points
    1,618
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 25 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Berek,

    That's bad news! Maybe they dont have to take your Tv, Maybe they can fix it at your home!

    Goodluck,

  15. #14
    New Member
    Points: 461, Level: 5
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 89
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    9
    Points
    461
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    New firmware brought nothing new
    very slow menus and smart tv :-(

  16. #15
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,618, Level: 11
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 232
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    145
    Points
    1,618
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 25 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Hi Kris,

    I dont see the menu's so slowly anymore. The Smarttv i agree, this is very slowww..... This really have to be improved in future!!!

    What model Tv do you own? I have a 6008 series.

    Best Regards,
    Jarno

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Experience thread - FW v000.173.042.000 (173.42) - for 6xx8 Series - 2013
    By Toengel in forum TV: Software for the 6xx8 series
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 12-11-2013, 12:05 PM
  2. Experience thread - FW v000.171.056.000 (171.56) - for 6xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips - Ina in forum TV: Software for the 6xx8 series
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-23-2013, 09:03 AM
  3. Experience thread - FW v000.171.051.000 (171.51) - for 6xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips - Ina in forum TV: Software for the 6xx8 series
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 10-18-2013, 10:59 AM
  4. Experience thread - FW v000.171.049.000 (171.49) - for 6xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips - Ina in forum TV: Software for the 6xx8 series
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-12-2013, 04:22 PM
  5. Experience thread - FW v000.064.015.000 (64.15) - for 6xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips in forum TV: Software for the 6xx8 series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2013, 08:14 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •