Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 46
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Moderator
    Points: 16,352, Level: 38
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 98
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive10000 Experience Points1 year registered
    Philips - Ina's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2,956
    Points
    16,352
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 98 Times in 82 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Thumbs up Experience thread - FW v000.173.044.000 (173.44) - for 8xx8 Series - 2013

    Hi,

    The new FW is live. For technical feedback (pos. and neg. points) please post here:
    http://philips.to/1bx4xQ1

    This thread is more for details and discussions.
    This FW is applicable to EU models only.

    IMPORTANT: After upgrading your TV, it is necessary to perform a "cold start". This means that, after the TV is running again (after the update), shut down the TV, wait 1 minute (till all components are shut down), and unplug the TV from the mains (pull power cord) for 2 minutes before starting again.


    Changelog:

    QF2EU-0.173.44.0 (Date published: 2013-12-10)
    • Solution for half of the HD subtitles that are not displayed.
    • Unicable implementation shall support a user selected LO frequency.
    • Introduction of DVB-T profile full in case of Bulgaria.
    • Introduction Chinese language in Fusion and also (again ) on Android.
    • Solution for Telenet, during wintertime clock is still according summer time (+ 1 hour).
    • Solution about "You have connected a CAM" osd is seen coming up while navigating through TV Guide.
    • Improvement with Ambilight Hue set up configured.
    • Solution to avoid that during installation you gets failure for Romania country, when selecting "Other" as Operator.
    • Solution so that Sky Bundesliga SD and Sky Select SD services shall always be installed.



    QF2EU-0.173.42.0 (Date published: 2013-11-20)
    • Solution for Take Away Display (TAD) when there are 3 or more TVís in the network using IOS7.
    • Solution for 3D not available on YouTube.
    • Solution for Skype - Handling of Microsoft ID.
    • Solution for Ambilight flicker in 24Hz Videos (to be verified)
    • Solution for TV crashing while Using Ambilight+Hue App


    QF2EU-0.171.56.0 (Date published: 2013-09-05)
    • Improvements in quick startup implementation.
    • Solution for screen edges reset.


    QF2EU-0.171.51.0 (Date published: 2013-07-11)
    • Solution to use Netflix.
    • Solution regarding installation issue in Switzerland.
    • Solution regarding MHP application.


    QF2EU_0.171.49.0 (Date published: 2013-07-05)
    • Enabling DTS for 7000/8000/9000
    • Wifi smart screen for Android devices (requires Philips MyRemote app)
    • New application Multi Room TV watching.
    • New version of YouTubeLeanBack.
    • Improvement of the MyRemote App at the level of the TV-guide and control on Smart Phones.
    • Improvement about installation Czech UPC cable.
    • Improvement about BBC i-player movies not working.
    • Improvement to have the favourite channels on top via IP-EPG.
    • Improvement for the Social TV app.
    • Improvement about the crackling/loud plopping noise when switching on HDMI equipment.
    • Improvement for the remote control pairing in virgin mode.
    • Improvement to avoid to have only vertical lines but to have picture at startup.
    • Improvement to avoid reboots when playing 3D via Blu-ray or Astra 3D.
    • Improvement to get positive DVB-S Unicable installation with Technisat equipment.


    QF2EU_0.68.18.0 (Date published: 2013-04-12)
    • Solution about consistent behaviour of the EXIT key.
    • Home screen adaptation for Germany. (Kabel/Antennen Fernsehen)
    • Hebrew text disabled in Now en Next + 8 days EPG. (Mainly solved for Israel market)
    • Improvement stability behaviour when starting up from HDMI source.
    • Live TXT subtitles from broadcast no longer shown during playback of a recording without
    • BBC iPlayer, video and radio program is functioning again.
    • Solution about sometimes no connection to Philips Smart TV portal during virgin installation.


    Best regards,
    Ina
    Last edited by Philips - Ina; 12-11-2013 at 02:27 PM. Reason: added changelog
    Forum Mod

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Philips - Ina For This Useful Post:

    Cristian (12-11-2013)

  3. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,498, Level: 69
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 652
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,978
    Points
    50,498
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 170 Times in 152 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    currently the downloaded ZIP files contains a UPG file, which needs to be renamed to "autorun.upg" if you want to install the update via USB stick.

    Toengel@Alex

  4. #3
    New Member
    Points: 885, Level: 7
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 14.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    7
    Points
    885
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi, I have tried to update the firmware on the tv ('essential update found' message) and after a few seconds into the update procedure I get a pop-up message saying that the update cannot be done! Took me like 10x switching the tv on and off before the tv would start up again...

    What's up with that?

  5. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,498, Level: 69
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 652
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,978
    Points
    50,498
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 170 Times in 152 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    please update manually:
    - download ZIP
    - extract ZIP
    - rename *.upg to "autorun.upg"
    - copy autorun.upg on an empty USB stick
    - insert stick into TV

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #5
    New Member
    Points: 885, Level: 7
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 14.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    7
    Points
    885
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes, this helped. Thanks Toengel!

  7. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 909, Level: 7
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 41
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!500 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    30
    Points
    909
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Am I the only person noticing since firmwares 000.173.xxx.xxx, in bright scenes, there are:

    - 1. a brighter horizontal "line" -- entire bottom screen edge (starting from metal frame, around 1 cm height)

    - 2. brighter screen corners (all 4) having a kind of ovoid form (0.5 - 1 cm radius)

    - 3. two slightly darker vertical "lines" -- left and right screen sides (starting from metal frame, around 1 cm wide)


    It really looks like as if my display panel has some backlight uniformity issues, but for points 1 and 2, I never noticed them with previous firmwares.

    However now in dark scenes, with latest firmware the corners light bleed (diagonal lines) has totally disappeared, as well as any clouding and none of the above issues are visible. Black is perfectly black
    Last edited by FredFBe; 12-12-2013 at 12:51 PM.

  8. #7
    New Member
    Points: 523, Level: 5
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    7
    Points
    523
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tysonselectah View Post
    Hi, I have tried to update the firmware on the tv ('essential update found' message) and after a few seconds into the update procedure I get a pop-up message saying that the update cannot be done! Took me like 10x switching the tv on and off before the tv would start up again...

    What's up with that?
    This! It still not works??

  9. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,198, Level: 9
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 152
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    42
    Points
    1,198
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by FredFBe View Post
    Am I the only person noticing since firmwares 000.173.xxx.xxx, in bright scenes, there are:

    - 1. a brighter horizontal "line" -- entire bottom screen edge (starting from metal frame, around 1 cm height)

    - 2. brighter screen corners (all 4) having a kind of ovoid form (0.5 - 1 cm radius)

    - 3. two slightly darker vertical "lines" -- left and right screen sides (starting from metal frame, around 1 cm wide)


    It really looks like as if my display panel has some backlight uniformity issues, but for points 1 and 2, I never noticed them with previous firmwares.

    However now in dark scenes, with latest firmware the corners light bleed (diagonal lines) has totally disappeared, as well as any clouding and none of the above issues are visible. Black is perfectly black
    Well new firmwares have done something with the Dynamic Contrast - Standard setting, making it very aggressive to change depending on what's displayed on the screen. On bright scenes backlight goes very bright and on dark scenes it tones drastically down. I'm almost sure that you have that setting enabled. You can check your backlight uniformity by disabling it and displaying screen that has only black in it or just white or grey.

    In my opinion it has gotten too aggressive. I liked it better before.

    Also, there's still the pixel shift issue on Game and PC modes. Here's a photo showing how image is aligned wrong.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	philips_bug.jpg 
Views:	188 
Size:	577.6 KB 
ID:	2302
    Last edited by antti-la; 12-17-2013 at 05:16 PM.

  10. #9
    New Member
    Points: 672, Level: 6
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 78
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    7
    Points
    672
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    After upgrading to this firmware I can no longer use my Denon avr-2113 remote control. It seems like the volume up/down buttons on my devon now are the same as "off" on the TV. Needless to say. The volume buttons are quite important on a hifi system.

  11. #10
    New Member
    Points: 672, Level: 6
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 78
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    7
    Points
    672
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Are there any workaround for this? can I downgrade my Philips 55pl8008 or change the "frequency" for the TVīs Off signs manually?

  12. #11
    New Member
    Points: 672, Level: 6
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 78
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    7
    Points
    672
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    After upgrading to this firmware I can no longer use my Denon avr-2113 remote control. It seems like the volume up/down buttons on my devon now have the same signal as the "off" signal on my 55pfl8008s. Needless to say. The volume buttons are quite important on a hifi system.. Can I change the IR frequency for the off button manually? Any other workarounds?
    Last edited by Philips - Ina; 12-24-2013 at 11:47 AM. Reason: Moved from Technical Thread

  13. #12
    New Member
    Points: 323, Level: 3
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3
    Points
    323
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi!

    I just bought my 55pfl8008s. All firmware updates installed. Soon to discover that my Bose SR1 remote control (infrared) will turn off my 8008 when I press any of the buttons on the remote. This is also the case with my Apple TV remote (infrared). Is it possible to get a quick fix for this problem? Maybe a firmware update where a function is to turn off the infrared sensor in the TV? Because as of now, my 8008 is useless with my Bose sound system and Apple TV.

    Best regards and happy holidays.

  14. #13
    New Member
    Points: 35, Level: 1
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 15
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3
    Points
    35
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I got the same problem on my 55pl8008s, with an Apple TV 2 remote. Pulling the power chord and wait a little while and then re-attached it seems to rectify the issue, at least temporarily. I haven't had the issue since, but that was just the other day so we'll see what happens.

    Video shows shutting off the TV with an Apple TV2 remote.

  15. #14
    New Member
    Points: 43, Level: 1
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2
    Points
    43
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,
    after upgrading my 46pfl8008 to this software I have problem with audio via hdmi arc, I can change volume on my receiver via tv remote control but there is no sound.
    And the second think is that I see a "SDM" text at the right top corner of tv, on every source I choose (tv, tv sattelite, hdmi).
    Can anyone tell me what this "SDM" mean?

    edit
    I forgot to write. I have problems with remote control too. Often when I push the buttons "list" or "options" tv changes the channel instead of openning the "list menu" or "options menu".
    And I`m quite sure that I pushed the correct button on remote control.
    Last edited by DaFFyBZ; 12-27-2013 at 07:14 PM.

  16. #15
    Bronze Member
    Points: 909, Level: 7
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 41
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!500 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    30
    Points
    909
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by antti-la View Post
    Well new firmwares have done something with the Dynamic Contrast - Standard setting, making it very aggressive to change depending on what's displayed on the screen. On bright scenes backlight goes very bright and on dark scenes it tones drastically down. I'm almost sure that you have that setting enabled. You can check your backlight uniformity by disabling it and displaying screen that has only black in it or just white or grey.

    In my opinion it has gotten too aggressive. I liked it better before.

    Also, there's still the pixel shift issue on Game and PC modes. Here's a photo showing how image is aligned wrong.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	philips_bug.jpg 
Views:	188 
Size:	577.6 KB 
ID:	2302
    Thanks for the answer.

    Seems indeed I encounter backlight uniformity issues which are much more visible with latest firmware because the backlight goes brighter in bright scenes...

    And I encounter the same pixel shift in game mode...

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Experience thread - FW v000.173.042.000 (173.42) - for 8xx8 Series - 2013
    By Toengel in forum TV: Software for the 8xx8 series
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 12-11-2013, 12:05 PM
  2. Experience thread - FW v000.171.056.000 (171.56) - for 8xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips - Ina in forum TV: Software for the 8xx8 series
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 11-23-2013, 09:04 AM
  3. Experience thread - FW v000.171.051.000 (171.51) - for 8xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips - Ina in forum TV: Software for the 8xx8 series
    Replies: 68
    Last Post: 10-18-2013, 10:59 AM
  4. Experience thread - FW v000.171.049.000 (171.49) - for 8xx8 Series - 2013
    By Philips - Ina in forum TV: Software for the 8xx8 series
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-12-2013, 04:13 PM
  5. Experience thread - FW v000.064.015.000 (64.15) - for 8xx8 series - 2013
    By Philips in forum TV: Software for the 8xx8 series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2013, 08:41 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •