Results 1 to 15 of 15
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,528, Level: 10
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,528
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    silly question on usb

    I have a bdp5100
    I tried to play movies in a 4Gb usb, it works fine;In a 4Gb mp3, out of expectation it does load as well; But u know with 4Gb, you can only put 1 or 2 movies there and then i tried my toshiba external hard disk (which may include 20 sth movies there), it failed to read anything. is that normal?

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,193, Level: 69
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 957
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,960
    Points
    50,193
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    1st - there are no silly questions - only silly answers

    Do you see the content of your harddrive if you chose USB in the home menu? When not, it could be possible that the formatting of your harddrive isn't supported.

    If the listing is ok, but the movies don't start, you should take a look at the supported codecs and the codecs of your movies.

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,528, Level: 10
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,528
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    yep the content is not showing there
    so what actual format it supports?sorry i m not a techie but i thought mine is a common one.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,600, Level: 11
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 250
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    39
    Points
    1,600
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    i had problems with my HDD also but it was power related... i needed 2 USB ports to power up disk, else it wouldnt start spinning

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,193, Level: 69
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 957
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,960
    Points
    50,193
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    you should test your hard drive with external power supply...

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,528, Level: 10
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,528
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Lake292 View Post
    i had problems with my HDD also but it was power related... i needed 2 USB ports to power up disk, else it wouldnt start spinning
    am not quite understand how to use 2 usb ports to do so?

  7. #7
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,193, Level: 69
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 957
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,960
    Points
    50,193
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    sometime your harddrive needs more power to spin up than the USB port can provide. For this reason there exist a Y-cable where you can use the power of 2 USB ports to spin up your drive... However, your BDP needs 2 USB ports for this scenario...

    But you can use of course an external power supply for your HDD - than one usb is enough.

    Toengel@Alex

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,528, Level: 10
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,528
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    oh i see will have a try later today
    thanks so much Toengel@Alex

    have a nice day

    no first thing is to get a y cable. but can that be easily purchased? is there any y cable in philips?
    Last edited by Carin; 03-03-2011 at 03:09 PM.

  9. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,193, Level: 69
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 957
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,960
    Points
    50,193
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    just search for "usb y cable" in amazon...

    Toengel@Alex

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,042, Level: 12
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 108
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    50
    Points
    2,042
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    are you sure that just a y cable?
    the limit for a USB port is 300mA, a Y-cable halves the current 150mA per port

  11. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,528, Level: 10
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,528
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    turn out i tried the external power source and it does work

  12. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,600, Level: 11
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 250
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    39
    Points
    1,600
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    thought so good for you

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,528, Level: 10
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,528
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    thanks for your tips

  14. #14
    Moderator
    Points: 75,560, Level: 85
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 990
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    810
    Points
    75,560
    Level
    85
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Thanks for the discussion above. To benefit more Blu-ray users, we have consolidate the above suggestion to a FAQ http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...6115&faqview=1
    You can always refer to our support website for more product support information http://www.philips.com
    Last edited by Philips; 04-20-2011 at 01:02 PM.

  15. #15
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,193, Level: 69
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 957
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,960
    Points
    50,193
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Dear Philips,

    can you please extend your FAQ in correspondence if USB Hubs are supported...

    - how many ports
    - needed extra power or not

    Toengel@Alex

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •