Results 1 to 10 of 10
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,274, Level: 9
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 76
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,274
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    HTS5590/98 doesn't support Chinese subtitle

    HTS5590/98 doesn't support Chinese subtitle: subtitle can display but it's all

    unreadable codes. I tried ANSI and Unicode, all failed. Looks firmware doesn't

    support it. Please help. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,536, Level: 67
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 814
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,696
    Points
    47,536
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    what kind of subtitle did you test? From DVD or BD? Or an SRT file?

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,274, Level: 9
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 76
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,274
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    the subtitle types I tried are srt and ssa which were linked to mkv when playing.

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,536, Level: 67
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 814
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,696
    Points
    47,536
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    is your HTS up to date?

    What happens if you press the option button (during playing) and change the character set? If the option "character set" is not available, this is a bug (which is now being fixed in the BD player range).

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 1,274, Level: 9
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 76
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,274
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks Toengel. yes, the firmware is updated to the newest- 51.01. If press the option button, i can select the character named "1", and no Chinese character set, is this the bug you mean?
    Last edited by becks007; 05-02-2011 at 01:10 PM.

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,446, Level: 10
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 104
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,446
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,528, Level: 10
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,528
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    ummmm yes, as quoted from quapor, it seems that when playing mkv file, the subtitle cannot be played properly for most players. v1.56 software released few weeks before for those high end stand alone Blu-ray models and the issue is solved. Maybe this has to be cured by a new software for home theater system as well (?)

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 1,274, Level: 9
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 76
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,274
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Sounds good. It seems the simillar issue as Blue-Ray players.So may I know when will Philiips release a new firmware to solve this issue?

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 72,930, Level: 83
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 220
    Overall activity: 69.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    841
    Points
    72,930
    Level
    83
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear becks007,

    Please check your personal messages.

    Kind regards
    Forum Mod

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Points: 72,930, Level: 83
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 220
    Overall activity: 69.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    841
    Points
    72,930
    Level
    83
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear becks007,

    Please check your personal messages.

    Kind regards
    Forum Mod

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •