Results 1 to 6 of 6
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,944, Level: 12
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 206
    Overall activity: 44.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    28
    Points
    1,944
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Detect DLNA Media Server

    Hello.

    I am no longer able to connect to my DLNA media server (standard twonky server) using my NP3700/12.
    It used to work fine and I really do not know what happened. (I have not used the device too much lately)

    The NP3700 simply does not detect the media server anymore.
    The Internet connection (playing Internet Radio with the same device) works fine.

    A NP3900/12 that is on the same network works just fine and finds the DLNA media server immediately.

    I have updated to the latest firmware (as of Dec 30th, 2013).
    I tried ethernet and wireless connection with static IP and DHCP.
    I have done a factory reset.
    I waited for ages.

    No luck. Does anybody have suggestions?

    Thanks a lot!

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,532, Level: 70
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 1,018
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,037
    Points
    51,532
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    maybe pulling power cord for 2-3 minutes is working.

    ToengelAlex

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,944, Level: 12
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 206
    Overall activity: 44.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    28
    Points
    1,944
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Unfortunately, it is not working. The device has been disconnected from power for several days and it did not help.

    What confuses me is that the NP3900 is working fine on the same wireless network or even the same network plug.

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,532, Level: 70
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 1,018
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,037
    Points
    51,532
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    can you "see" your NP in your router GUI?

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,944, Level: 12
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 206
    Overall activity: 44.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    28
    Points
    1,944
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,
    can you "see" your NP in your router GUI?
    Yes, I am using a FritzBox 7390 and the device shows up as "blackfin" with the given IP.

    As said, playing Internet Radio works fine from that device. It just simply does not detect the twonky media server.

    The server setup has not changed in ages. And as said, the NP3900/12 works just fine with the same twonky media server from the same network.

    Addtionally, I just checked and I can control the NP3700 via the Philips App just fine.

    So, everything is working great: except that the NP3700 does not detect the DLNA twonky media server... Which is essential. ARGH!

    Any other ideas?
    Last edited by joxn; 12-30-2013 at 05:57 PM. Reason: wrong fritzbox version

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,944, Level: 12
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 206
    Overall activity: 44.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    28
    Points
    1,944
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    [Solved] Device does not detect DLNA Media Server

    Wow. I finally found out what went wrong:

    The list of Media Receivers in my Twonky configuration was quite long (it is build up automatically over time)
    I clicked on "reset list" to delete all old / unused entries

    After some time, the NP3700 showed up as "Generic DLNA 1.0". However, this does not seem to work with the NP3700!
    When I changed the value to just "Generic Media Receiver" - this is the value that is used for the working NP3900 - also the NP3700 finds the twonky media server again.

    It seems that the Twonky Media Server has a wrong autoconfiguration for the NP3700.

Similar Topics

  1. Which DLNA Media Server?
    By MidnightManiac in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-08-2013, 06:02 PM
  2. Cannot detect media server
    By sofzaf in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-21-2012, 01:24 PM
  3. Twonky Media Server 5.1.9 - small photo on TV by DLNA
    By roberto75 in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-10-2011, 08:36 PM
  4. Howto Connect Philips 8605 to my Freenas DLNA Media Server
    By mrcoffee in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-29-2011, 09:57 AM
  5. photo not fullscreen in media server (dlna)
    By FJW in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-03-2010, 10:04 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •